Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Old 08-03-2011, 07:05 AM #1
Yervand

Barrel Swab vs Jerk Squeegee

I see how Jerk Squeegee is a must to have. Take a barrel down, jerk through it a couple of times to clean it. I would see how a Barrel Swab would be useful if done the same way, but a lot of time I see people just stick those swabs in the barrels with out even taking the barrel down.

Doesn't it just push all the dirt down the barrel? What difference does it make?

Is there a need to get both or I will be better of with a Jerk Squeegee? If not then what are purposes for both of the types?

Thanks...

"I am new to the sport and the forum. I've recently been posting topics with questions, asked for suggestions and opinions. People on this forum helped me a lot and keep helping me. This is very inspirational and gives a sense of friendliness and support in the sport. Thank you all very-very much."
Yervand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 08-03-2011, 07:55 AM #2
Castro #66
Not a Moderator*

Castro #66 is a Moderator
Castro #66 is a Supporting Member
Castro #66 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
Castro #66 is Legendary
If you can figure out a way to carry a pull-thru on the field and use it without removing the barrel (some guns will allow for this), it is absolutely ideal for overall cleanliness. Whenever possible, I use a pull-thru or "straight shot" style squeegee, then shove a barrel swab into the breech for good measure. I almost never simply use a barrel swab because of how much extra mess it can cause.

Of course, being a pump player, a truly clean barrel is particularly important.

Castro #66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 07:57 AM #3
ProMod
Gun Tech

has been a member for 10 years
ProMod owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
ProMod is an NCPA player
ProMod supports DLX Technology