Community Focus
Community Focus

Old 11-01-2011, 12:08 AM #1
D:< @ DYNASTY
so pitted.

has been a member for 10 years
D:< @ DYNASTY posts videos on PbNation
A Greg Boris thread.

Howdy, I figured I would make a thread to post work, projects, conversations and other things based around cinematography, photography and "the image".

You can view my photos on my flickr.

You can view my videos on either vimeo or youtube.

Bio - Where I'm coming from.
Firstly, I am Greg Boris. I am currently studying cinematography at Columbia College Chicago. I started making paintball videos in 2004 and loved the process of getting interesting images and editing them to music. The decision to go to Columbia came from knowing that I could only see myself doing something along the lines of film or video. The program seemed very hands on and it was in a large city, which was very attracting to me.

I came to Columbia as a kid who made paintball videos and without much knowledge of actual cinema, but it didn't take me long to begin understanding and falling in love with all the work that goes into film. In my aesthetics of filmmaking class freshman year I saw In the Mood for Love. The motion, composition and lighting struck me in a way that no other movie had - I knew I had to focus on cinematography. I went home that summer with the bug. While working at home I gave myself the assignment of watching all of the IMDB's top 50 movies, among others suggested to me from other students and teachers. I watched 58 movies that summer. Good ones.

Upon returning to school I bought myself a Nikon FE-2 with a Nikkor 50mm f/1.4 and started my photography. Since then I've picked up a few more cameras in other formats and continue exploring image making. I use photography as a way to relax and learn. It helps keep my mind and eye sharp, hopefully helping me to become a better cinematographer.

Enough words for now.

01' Billy Wing Ironmen + 02' Mark Knop Avalanche jerseys.
2004 Prototype JT Team pants.