Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Old 08-23-2020, 10:38 AM #1
Jambs

New Barrel Design

When I started playing paintball in 2001, none of the barrels could effectively put any spin on the ball. Now there’s the flatline, first strike, Carmatech and Armson, but I think I found a better method using a rifling technique from the 1850s. It’s called Lancaster rifling (I tried to post a link, but it didn’t work. It was called Colindian rifling or lancaster rifling, and a google search will pull up some good stuff), but the simple explanation is that the barrel doesn’t have any lands or grooves. Instead, its cross section is an oval where the major and the minor axis rotates as it travels through the barrel. The difference between the major and the minor axis is very small, so it actually appears to be a circle, and it does a good job sealing the gases. It accurately fired a round ball, but it fell out of favor because it was more expensive to produce. The rifle barrels that they developed had a difference of .006 inches between the major and minor axis, so that’s what I used (That’s about the thickness of two human hairs).

I thought it would be a perfect for paintball barrels, so I filed a patent on it (which is still pending), and started asking shops how much it would cost to make one. Most of them said they couldn’t do it, or ignored me, so I went to a vocational school, and learned how to work the machines myself. After a year of trial and lots of errors, I am able to make a oval barrel that rotates counter clockwise. The major axis is .686 and minor axis is .680.