Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
JT Paintball - Headshield Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
JT Paintball
1201 S. E. 30th Street
Bentonville, AR 72712

Phone: (800) 755-5061
Fax: (760) 579-5901
Email: [email protected]
Website: http://www.JTPaintball.com
Uses elite lenses and covers your whole head.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $29.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 8
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  13%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  50%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  25%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  13%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
JT Paintball - Headshield Reviews
JT Paintball Headshield well since most the people who would buy this mask wont read this because they probably dont even know about sites like this, I wont go into detail. Overall this mask is good for a beginner but that...
Report this review to a moderator   #4413
EvilLuke
Guest
Join Date: Aug 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $35.00
Pros: full head protection
Cons: bulky, hot, unnecisairy
well since most the people who would buy this mask wont read this because they probably dont even know about sites like this, I wont go into detail.

Overall this mask is good for a beginner but that is it. an experienced player wont even think about this mask because it is way too bulky. I live and play in Colorado and this mask is even hot for me. I ended up drilling the pins out and removing the full head part to have only the normal sized mask. but it still was a littly big. this mask is only necisary for the inexperienced player who might get shot in the head from 360 degrees. this mask also looks extremely tacky and you FOV(field of view) is small.

If you are a beginner and you read this take my advise. DONT BUY THIS MASK!!! invest in a Dye i3 pro or something. this mask only weighs you down and is a burdon.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
JT Paintball Headshield It just sucks.
Report this review to a moderator   #6553
IronMen7830
Guest
Join Date: Aug 2009
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: None
Cons: Uncomfortable, pulls hair, hot, bulky, unessacary
It just sucks.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
JT Paintball Headshield The Headshield does exactly what you think. All those painful head shots will be reduced to light taps that you barely feel (sometimes even not at all) allowing you to feel more secure as you poke...
Report this review to a moderator   #2666
OneUp
 
OneUp's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
OneUp has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $35.00
Pros: Full head protection
Cons: Gets hot, no optional foams
The Headshield does exactly what you think. All those painful head shots will be reduced to light taps that you barely feel (sometimes even not at all) allowing you to feel more secure as you poke your head out. Needless to say, rags, headbands, "sandanas" and beanies don't come close to the protection of hard plastic.

The head protection is the same plastic used for the face. You can run full speed into a primary tree branch that grew at head height while you were looking down trying not to trip over rattlesnakes, and only feel like someone pushed your head back a little bit. Trust me on this: it happened to me on my first day

On the down side, this helmet gets hot. This was the first set of goggles I've worn for paintball so I thought the heat was normal. When I finally had the guts to use a face-only goggle system I was surprised at the difference. It is a decision you have to make: whether heat or pain scares you more. For me, the heat was not worth the protection. I live in sunny SoCal and summer games with this system is torture that nobody should give to himself. If you live in colder climate, then this is obviously not a problem for you.

With the heat that will come with this mask, I strongly recommend changing to a thermal lens to reduce the risk of fogging. You DO want to get the full visual experience of being in a game, right? The lens itself is tedious to change because it uses the old Elite lens system. However, practicing a few times with the stock lens will help you get faster at the process. Plus, Elite lenses have been in use for a long time so they are available in many places, so you can easily get replacements.

In the respect for heat, goggle fans would help too, but I don't find them effective enough to worth the money. I just toughed out the heat.

Another problem is its size. It is a large helmet to accommodate either gigantic heads or thick hair. If you have a head too small for it, it might droop down so that your eyes rest above the lens. They could have included extra foam for those of us with small heads: especially since most newcomers will be choosing this mask out of fear, and most newcomers are kids.

I simply cut up a beanie and stacked its fabric as padding. It fixed the problem nicely.

To be fair, this is better than the rest of the goggles, where they fall completely through your face. If you have problems with that, this helmet is one of the solutions.

As for weight: it may weigh more than your average goggle system, but it feels a lot lighter mainly because it is able to rest on the top of your head. Once you set it up right, it will not pull your face down like the rest of the systems.

If you don't mind the heat and you can do something to make the big helmet fit you, then go for it.

Appearance: it looks like a lightened motocross helmet.
Performance: I am taking away 1 star because of the heat. However, if you are looking for full head protection this is the one to get.
Reliability: the heat is its Achilles' Heel. Besides that, everything worked flawlessly. You can rely on it to protect you for sure.
Value: this mask was available in Walmart when I bought it. For $30 you simply can't complain.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
JT Paintball Headshield It does what is supposed to do. thats it nothing special.
Report this review to a moderator   #85473
LMN 07
God knows you wiped
LMN 07's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Canada
LMN 07 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: protects head and face
Cons: hot, fogs, hard to remove lenes
It does what is supposed to do. thats it nothing special.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
JT Paintball Headshield Bought this in April because it looked promising at a K-Mart. The mask gets hot in the summer days and from moving, the headshield has adequate venting but still retains a lot of heat. The lens also...
Report this review to a moderator   #16186
Rubbr Chickin
Professional Eye Poker
Rubbr Chickin's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 17042, Pennsylvania
Rubbr Chickin is playing at Living Legends VI
Rubbr Chickin is playing at Living Legends VII
Rubbr Chickin supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $32.00
Pros: Covers full head
Cons: Fogs, gets hot
Bought this in April because it looked promising at a K-Mart.

The mask gets hot in the summer days and from moving, the headshield has adequate venting but still retains a lot of heat. The lens also isnt thermal and will fog up fast once you get hot. You will definitely need a new lens.

Overall good if you are a beginner, but if you plan on going up in skill or play a lot, buy something better.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
JT Paintball Headshield so like, you can only see what is directly in front of you with these on, and they are very hot.... its a good thing its full coverage, because as big as these are, you are going to get dome rocked...
Report this review to a moderator   #20066
tex_mania
 
tex_mania's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ΠΚΑ
tex_mania has been a member for 10 years
tex_mania plays in the PSP
tex_mania owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
tex_mania supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $30.00
Pros: full head coverage
Cons: no periph and so hot
so like, you can only see what is directly in front of you with these on, and they are very hot.... its a good thing its full coverage, because as big as these are, you are going to get dome rocked ALOT.... these are only recommended for new players, like on thier first time out.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
JT Paintball Headshield I bought these early on, quite a few years ago At the time they were the only full head goggles I find them uncomfortable, I have a large head but also just feel enclosed They have been useful as...
Report this review to a moderator   #59977
tommikka
Tom
tommikka's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Salisbury, UK
tommikka has been a member for 10 years
tommikka owns a Planet Eclipse Etha
tommikka has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
tommikka has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: Full head cover
Cons: Enclosed
I bought these early on, quite a few years ago
At the time they were the only full head goggles

I find them uncomfortable, I have a large head but also just feel enclosed
They have been useful as load goggles for people and also give them reassurance not worrying about any headshots

They do get another use as a camera platform. A camera mount to the top makes them useful for a new angle of view
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
JT Paintball Headshield The only thing I don't like about this mask is 1. It's going to get really hot, and in that kind of temperature the thermal lens doesn't make much of a difference. 2. Lens removal. You literally...
Report this review to a moderator   #41266
Walurs
 
Walurs's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Canadialand
Walurs owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Walurs has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $74.00
Pros: Protective
Cons: Hot, hard to remove lense
The only thing I don't like about this mask is

1. It's going to get really hot, and in that kind of temperature the thermal lens doesn't make much of a difference.

2. Lens removal. You literally have to go through heaven and hell just to put the lens back in after you remove it. It took me about an hour.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review