Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
SLY LLC - SLY Dual-Carbon Barrel System - "CLASSIC" Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
SLY LLC
3305 E. Miraloma Avenue
Suite 179
Anaheim, CA 92806

Fax: (714) 398-8159
Email: [email protected]
Website: http://www.slyequipment.com
The gold-standard of the carbon fiber barrel kit, and the one that started it all--the "Classic" Dual-Carbon Barrel Kit. Offered in a variety of styles, colors, and accents, this kit comes with 4 barrel backs (.683,.686,.689,.692) and a dual-carbon tip.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $164.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 47
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  36%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  53%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Photos
There are 1 photos of this product, click on a thumbnail to browse the gallery.
SLY LLC - SLY Dual-Carbon Barrel System - "CLASSIC" Reviews
SLY LLC SLY Dual-Carbon Barrel System - "CLASSIC" Seemed to be the best barrel ever shot at first and then about four months later seemed to start failing with the paint rubbing off on the outside and the paint wasn't as accurat after. Can't use...
Report this review to a moderator   #16805
anjordan77
All Paintball Supplies
anjordan77's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
anjordan77 has been a member for 10 years
anjordan77 plays in the USPL
anjordan77 donated to help Peyton Trent
anjordan77 helped look for balloons
anjordan77 is playing at Living Legends III
anjordan77 is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $170.00
Pros: Sexy light bag bores
Cons: Not durable
Seemed to be the best barrel ever shot at first and then about four months later seemed to start failing with the paint rubbing off on the outside and the paint wasn't as accurat after. Can't use cloth squeegee with this either!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
SLY LLC SLY Dual-Carbon Barrel System - "CLASSIC" I typically use this as a back up for my planet eclipse shaft kit or loaner for friends.
Report this review to a moderator   #18120
deano 177
jax warriors
deano 177's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: 9OH!4
deano 177 plays in the MiLP
deano 177 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
deano 177 posts videos on PbNation
deano 177 plays in the APPA D4 division
deano 177 is Legendary
deano 177 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: cf barrel, mutiple backs
Cons: no fluffy swabs
I typically use this as a back up for my planet eclipse shaft kit or loaner for friends.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
SLY LLC SLY Dual-Carbon Barrel System - "CLASSIC" I love this kit. It's very light weight. Shoots through breaks very well. I also like the bag it comes with as opposed to bulky cases like their competitors.
Report this review to a moderator   #27449
MoYo562
Just for Today!
MoYo562's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern California
MoYo562 has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Looks good. Shoots through breaks well. Light.
Cons: None.
I love this kit. It's very light weight. Shoots through breaks very well. I also like the bag it comes with as opposed to bulky cases like their competitors.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
SLY LLC SLY Dual-Carbon Barrel System - "CLASSIC" barrel didnt last to long compared to stiffi
Report this review to a moderator   #82562
Muhcaulk
Muhcaulk
Muhcaulk's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: norcal
Muhcaulk is a top reviewer
Muhcaulk is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $110.00
Pros: light accurate
Cons: mine chipped alot
barrel didnt last to long compared to stiffi
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
SLY LLC SLY Dual-Carbon Barrel System - "CLASSIC" I used this on a couple of my pumps guns and 'cockers when I first started. Looks: The looks of this barrel kit are pretty cool, pretty sleek and can even come with a design on the outside....
Report this review to a moderator   #17950
Zepulkinator
Epic Purple Dude
Zepulkinator's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The 'Dookie, IL
Zepulkinator has been a member for 10 years
Zepulkinator is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Zepulkinator is Boss
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Light, Accurate, Bag for the Barrel
Cons: Get's stuck in 'Cockers, Bore could be longer
I used this on a couple of my pumps guns and 'cockers when I first started.

Looks:
The looks of this barrel kit are pretty cool, pretty sleek and can even come with a design on the outside.

Reliability:
I'm not sure how I did it but I pulled the barrel front out of the bag, and noticed a slight chip on the end of it. It didn't affect performance, but it didn't instill that I could be rough with it either. Also, the small control bores on the back would get stick in my gun half the time. Then you have to use an allen wrench to get them undone, which could scratch the backs up and lessen the resale value.

Shooting:
Just like anytime you underbore/match/overbore just right if you have at least decent paint then it's going to shoot accurately. This is nice to have on your gun though, since it lightens the front end of it up.

Barrel Breaks:
I can honestly say I never experienced any barrel breaks with this barrel kit. I guess since the smallest bore as .681 that I couldn't underbore enough to make the paint break, or I was just using paint that wasn't brittle.

Final Word:
It's an ok barrel kit. A barrel kit is better than no barrel kit. This one is light and can look camo on the end of it, so those are pluses. Just don't pay more than $60 for it, because you can get a deadlywind for that much.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
SLY LLC SLY Dual-Carbon Barrel System - "CLASSIC" Decided to drop the hefty cash on a Sly kit for no good reason, really. Only used one other full-blown kit, Freak, and some barrels that could be considered part of kits (CP 2-piece, Equation & Lucky...
Report this review to a moderator   #2345
nerdcore
Radical!
nerdcore's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Crashville
nerdcore has been a member for 10 years
nerdcore is playing at Living Legends VII
nerdcore is a top reviewer
nerdcore is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $160.00
Pros: Light, accurate, high quality.
Cons: Price, depening on comparable kit.
Decided to drop the hefty cash on a Sly kit for no good reason, really. Only used one other full-blown kit, Freak, and some barrels that could be considered part of kits (CP 2-piece, Equation & Lucky Un1tech).

First Impressions
Ordered a cocker-threaded Stealth kit through a local shop. Stealth is pretty much the basic all-black Sly kit. Came in 2 equal-sized packages, one with the 4 backs & one with the front & a soft case. On a side note, they could've packed the backs in something smaller, but it probably saves them money having just the one package size made.

Everything is well made. Backs & front have a clean & polished anno, although the jewels on the front could be smaller - they stick out like small tumors. Back bores are straight-up shiny while the front bore doesn't appear polished but it is (must be the raw carbon fiber under the glaze). Threads are milled nice & smooth and the front has an o-ring to keep it from unscrewing off the back on its own.

And the barrel is light as air, obviously.

On the Gun
So far, i've only put the Sly on a 2k5 Timmy & a Mini. Fits like it should. Backs fit like they're super-glued on, though. Great because they won't come off for anything but trying to remove them by hand is near impossible. Luckily, Sly had the forethought to drill holes in the back so you can use an allen key for leverage (no damage to the anno yet but i could imagine over time it'll be noticeable).

Performance
Able to match up the 2 smaller bores with the paint i use most (Karnage, either Bite or Tear) and works great. If i'm in a hurry or travelling, i can just bring the largest bore.

Accuracy is similar to my Equation, Freak & Un1techs, which is really good. Reason why i didn't stick with the previous barrels is Equation (the company) went belly up before i could invest in more inserts, i don't prefer inserts anyway (so Freak was out also), and Lucky USA also went under (fave barrel of all time). Dilemmas, dilemmas. Stiffi Switch kit would've cost me more & UL barrels are way more for a similar kit (4 backs, 1 front).

If you're unfamiliar with the Sly advertisements, they claim to clear breaks very well, like in 3 shots. Well, i haven't had a barrel break yet, but my Mini chopped a couple times one day. While the breech itself stayed pretty messy, the Sly remained relatively clean, even with paint still coming out of the breech. Clean enough, in fact, that i didn't bother cleaning the breech or the barrel the rest of the day and still had decent accuracy. A ball would curve here & there but that Sly really tried it's hardest to stay clean. I'm confident that if a break were to occur, the Sly would perform true to the company's boast.

tl;dr
Sly barrel as good as the company says? - Yes.
Is it better than other kits? - About the same, overall.
Is it worth the money? - Depends on your preference. For me, yes.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
SLY LLC SLY Dual-Carbon Barrel System - "CLASSIC" i shoot this barrel on an ETEK i have found not only to be not only lighter, better looking than the stock, but very accurate. with my gun set at 280 fps it throws darts. when i push it faster it...
Report this review to a moderator   #2931
F.O.G.
Join Date: Mar 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $160.00
Pros: shoots very straight, extreamly light, looks tight
Cons: only use a squeegie
i shoot this barrel on an ETEK i have found not only to be not only lighter, better looking than the stock, but very accurate. with my gun set at 280 fps it throws darts. when i push it faster it will curve a few balls, but you cant play any faster than 280, so no worries. On my son's EGO it is also a very good shooter, he feels it is and upgrade over the barrel that was supplied with his 07. Everything is well made, and it does draw a bit of attention because of its good looks. i wont put a barrel wrap on this one.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
SLY LLC SLY Dual-Carbon Barrel System - "CLASSIC" Ive had this barrel on mine and my wifes gun since they first came out. Slick and consistant barrel for the price if ur only getting one back such as I. ive had many of breaks through these and Yes...
Report this review to a moderator   #2824
MasterNa8
 
MasterNa8's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
MasterNa8 has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Light, looks cool
Cons: couldnt find any as of yet
Ive had this barrel on mine and my wifes gun since they first came out. Slick and consistant barrel for the price if ur only getting one back such as I. ive had many of breaks through these and Yes they soot verry clean after about 2 to 3 shots. Plus i noticed a sound diffrence once installed making the shots Quieter. Its Very acurate on my PMR, able to pick of soda bottle at bout 50ft with one sometimes 2 shots. All and all. AWESOME BARREL!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
SLY LLC SLY Dual-Carbon Barrel System - "CLASSIC" Forward I have played with almost every kind of barrel and barrel kit out there. My favorites have been the stiffi, deathstix, freak, and sly. SLY is my favorite. There is a difference in...
Report this review to a moderator   #2338
Xareo
Xareo
Xareo's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bountiful, UT
Xareo has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $160.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Price
Forward
I have played with almost every kind of barrel and barrel kit out there. My favorites have been the stiffi, deathstix, freak, and sly. SLY is my favorite. There is a difference in accuracy by just the barrel itself (not much) , but the main amount of accuracy comes from paint match, yes good paint and regulation matters to but we are focusing on the barrel.

Pros:

Accuracy: with the different barrel backs you can match your paint almost exactly and this gives you killer accuracy. Also there is the after break accuracy. If you are playing with a freak kit, or ultra-lite or whatever and you break paint, you are in trouble, you pretty much need to swab. With the SLY's they clean out just by shooting them. You should swab if you have a chance, but if you are in the middle of a gun fight or someone is running on you can keep shooting with good accuracy.

Weight: one of the lightest out there, that simple.

Strong: A lot of people think that these carbon barrels will break, but they are strong, breaking is not issue.

Look: they looks awesome and more colors are coming, i think they have 9 now.

Cons

These are pretty expensive barrel kits. No doubt.

Sum

Accurate, light, self cleaning, barrel matching. Sounds good to me. The price is a bit steep but if you are serious about paintball these are the best barrels out there and they are worth the price.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
SLY LLC SLY Dual-Carbon Barrel System - "CLASSIC" I bought this barrel kit with the intention of never buying another barrel ever again. With that being said I sold it after a month of using it to buy another stiffi. The end of the barrel started...
Report this review to a moderator   #2469
Frug- Viking0o0
Mizery
Frug- Viking0o0's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orlando
Frug- Viking0o0 has been a member for 10 years
Frug- Viking0o0 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Light, nice looking
Cons: Not durable, LOUD
I bought this barrel kit with the intention of never buying another barrel ever again. With that being said I sold it after a month of using it to buy another stiffi.

The end of the barrel started to show heavy wear unlike any barrel Ive ever seen. It has a thin layer on the outside that started to peel fairly easily. The other thing I didnt like is how loud this barrel is. Most people will say that loudness doesnt matter in xball but when my ego sounds like a machine gun I know the other team knows exactly where Im gunning.

Other than that I cant say anything else negative. Sly has good customer service also. A teamate broke his barrel tip during a dive and they replaced it for free.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Add New Review