Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - Geo CS2 Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: [email protected]
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
The Planet Eclipse Geo CS2 Paintball Gun is loaded with all new features and an appearance that changes the game. Extensive milling changes to the body and frame make the CS2 lighter and more compact than ever before. By incorporating a new frame and shaving material to provide a sleek streamlined look, the CS2 is able to save 24g when compared to its predecessor, the CS1.5.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2018
 MSRP: $1,499.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 2.2/5 stars.
 Reviews: 3
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  33%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  67%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - Geo CS2 Reviews
Planet Eclipse Geo CS2 Visual and Tactile Impressions: The CS2 is yet another example of the impeccable fit and finish we have come to expect from Planet Eclipse. The milling is simple and well done, with a through back...
Report this review to a moderator   #89985
Big Papa Pink
High-end Aficionado
Big Papa Pink's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: ATL
Big Papa Pink is BST Legit
Big Papa Pink owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Big Papa Pink supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,499.00
Pros: Efficient, Stretched out feel,Reliable and easy to
Cons: None really ...
Visual and Tactile Impressions:
The CS2 is yet another example of the impeccable fit and finish we have come to expect from Planet Eclipse. The milling is simple and well done, with a through back to their past with the milling in the back half of the body through the back cap. The back of the marker looks like it is thicker than the front tube giving it a rather interesting full trunk look. The fit of the frame and body, the eye covers and feedneck are examples of the craftsmanship we expect; PE Delivers. Unlike the issues we saw in the CS1 launch models, we have seen nothing in the way of concerns in the design or materials as of this writing.
The grip material feels hard, but still grippy and seems like it should last some time. The grip size is smaller than the CS1, and is more sculpted. While smaller, it is still just a touch larger then I prefer even with my large hands. It is comfortable and helps make the CS2 easy to control. The foregrip too feels thick, but comfortable and my thumb found a natural spot to rest just behind the eye cover. The upper part of the foregrip is interesting as it sweeps down and away from the barrel making an interesting area that some will find weird, it almost feels like a slanted foregrip in a way as I like to place my finer right under the barrel. I would prefer a straighter grip like on the CS1 or Geo 3.5. The trigger guard is about the perfect size for me as I do not hit it when walking the trigger and I can still rest my fingers on it when they are off the trigger. The toolless eye covers are small, and well designed using the same retention system from the CS1. One of the nicest touches that I like on the CS2 is PE put an adjustable rake trigger on the CS2. This is AWESOME and a feature I really appreciate on the Dye DM and newer M series. It allows the user to rake the trigger back or out to fit their preferences. In a high end world where more and more markers are separated by how they feel in the hands and how they point, this gives the CS2 a leg up. While I am not a fan of the blade trigger, the rake adjustment makes it a lot better for me.
Overall the CS2 feels really nice in my hands; not my favorite though. The trigger is light and responsive, so I left it alone other than to rake it out a little for a better personal fit for me. I hope to see more adjustable features in the future I would give it a 9.25/10 for this area.


Electronics:
This is super cool. All of the electronics of the CS2 including the eyes are in the grip frame yeah, in the grip frame; just like the Etha2. When I first realized this and saw the eyes were on hard soldered posts on the board, I was very worried. My previous experience with such eyes were with the BT line of markers from Empire. Those eyes were hard to clean, easy to bend and sometimes break if you were not careful resulting in either needing to reattach the eye or pickup a new board. There are fewer things to worry about here, and I had no issues of any kind to this point. The eyes on the CS2 point outward making them easy to clean when removing the eye covers. They use a prism/ mirror light pipes to bounce the laser across the breach on both sides of the marker. This system worked well, and really helped keep the eyes clean when I broke paint. So any concerns I had around that gone. The CS2 keeps the easy to navigate screens and settings making it easy to setup the marker the way you want. Easy to use, easy to program and user friendly. The screen is the same screen PE has used on its highend markers for a while, but it easier to read due to a magnified window in the toolless grips. Like the CS1, The CS2 features a shot gauge that counts down as you are playing that will tell you when you are ready for your next full pod of paint. Really neat, kind of a gimmick, but easy to use and I have gotten a lot more use out of it than I thought I would; it is a great visual aid. The CS2 has a USB port under the foregrip for software updates and access to programing through the E-portal. Like the CS1, the CS2 uses two AA batteries in the forward grip in place of the nine volt in the grip frame. The CS1 has a great LCD screen built into the back strap of the marker that can display a wide range of information. Unlike the M2 and Clone 5, the layout is easy to read at a glance as you are playing. The only thing you would need to open the grips to do is to turn on and off the tourney lock; which is the same for every marker out. It is a super simple board to use and program. Overall the CS2 gets a 9.5/10.

Regs ASAs and Internals:
The CS2 has the same best in class ASA as the Cs1, GEO 3.x and LV1. Very easy to turn on, purges very well, and very easy to clean. The regulator is in the grip frame; however, I have none of the concerns I had with the CS1. The CS2 was quite consistent over the crono and equal to both the M3 and Luxe ICE. We have also seen less issues with tanks of different PSI outputs than we did with the CS1 as you would expect with a second generation system. Im a fan of captive shimstacks in the place of springs, but everyone is using springs these days they seem to work well over a long period of time. The Reg is simple to maintain, simple to get to and I like the small touch of the direction arrows milled into the POPS ASA for velocity adjustments.
BIG change between the CS1 and CS2 is the engine. Gone is the IV Core we grew to love, and in its place is quite possibly the best all around spool engine available today; the Gama Pro Core. Internals are also rather simple and the engine breaks down into three pieces. Out of all the spool valve markers on the list, it has the second most simple design after the Insight/ Onslaught, but is super simple to maintain. There are just a few dynamic o-rings to take a look at and replace when necessary. Normal maintenance takes all of 2 minutes. Take the engine out, take the can off the valve, push the bolt out of the can, wipe down the surfaces, relube the o-rings, slap it back together you are done. Really there isnt a lot to say because the engine is so simple to maintain. It is as bulletproof as any spool could be. The Detent system is really simple and consists of the standard PE flexible rubber fingers. They work well, no need for anything fancier.
Overall 9.25/10.

Performance:
Lets discuss the gorilla in the room the CS2 took a step back in my opinion in the smoothness of the shot from the CS1. The CS2 feels a lot like the other Gama Core markers in my arsenal. Not the smoothest high-end out there, but it will just keep going when other spools fail PE made the right call. Brand new I was seeing 280 +/- 3 over the chrono, and with 10K on the counter now, that is fallen to +/- 2. When playing you will not notice the maker moving slightly more in your hands than other high-ends More important is how it points. I find that the CS2 points really well. Unlike the CS1, I am on point and able to put paint where I wanted it with the CS2. Snap shooting was also good. I prefer the Dye Boomies, so I will likely not use the stock barrel much. With the CF Boomie, the CS2 was quiet; to the point people lost me on the woods fields allowing me to get the drop on several folks.
Efficiency was excellent, not as good as I am seeing with my Gmeks or 170r, but better than most players will need. While I did not do a full efficiency test, my calculations would lead me to expect around 1650 ish shots off a 68/45.
Efficiency: 9.5/10; Shot Quality: also 8.5/10.

I am lucky enough to be able to shoot any marker on the market. But I also like to be different from the pack, so I tend to use markers that others may overlook There are A LOT of PE markers at my field, so I have tended to look away from their markers as my primary markers. That is beginning to change. The Gama Core is phenomenal. It is simple to maintain, proven reliability, very efficient, and fun to shoot. PE has made a brilliant decision to put reliability and ease of maintenance over the top performance, or smoothest/quietest shot. Because of this I would suspect they continue to increase their market saturation. I will say PE markers are making up more and more of my arsenal and Im quite comfortable with that. PE is winning me over, something I did not expect.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Geo CS2 Absolute killer of a marker when you look at it on paper, efficient and reliable. Easy to take apart as well as very easy to switch the trigger on the go. The trigger changed from previous models...
Report this review to a moderator   #90169
hubertcumberdale08
My Paintball Life
hubertcumberdale08's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Los Angeles
hubertcumberdale08 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
hubertcumberdale08 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
hubertcumberdale08 owns a Planet Eclipse CSR
hubertcumberdale08 has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,499.00
Pros: Bullet proof, reliable, Its planet eclipse!!
Cons: Trigger feel is awful, sound sig is nasty
Absolute killer of a marker when you look at it on paper, efficient and reliable. Easy to take apart as well as very easy to switch the trigger on the go.

The trigger changed from previous models from having a switch and opto option to just having a really bad feeling trigger. Cannot adjust the point of actuation just the curvature of the trigger itself which was tedious to get right and even when you did it didnt feel good.

Sound signature went downhill from the IV core to this. Different engine but not a High end engine in my opinion. Amazing for mid end but in a PE high end I need that SFR and swooshy buttery quiet shot.

Didn't mean to complain too much but everything else is perfect, amazing tech, New eye system is fantastic as well as the Ergonomics!! SO happy they made this marker with an IV Core (GEO 4) as I have one on the way as I type this.

Did a review here as well as an efficiency test.





ps. thanks for bringing back the stars pbnation!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Geo CS2 Overall very beautiful fun to handle. Feels great great in the hands. One like the over all length feels like Im too expose wen playing certain positions. Great marker over all tho Pro heavily over...
Report this review to a moderator   #89967
VikingBST
Fat chicks like shiny gun
VikingBST's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Westchester, NY
VikingBST is playing at Living Legends XI
 is playing at Living Legends Dreaded
VikingBST owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
VikingBST owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
VikingBST has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
VikingBST has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,200.00
Pros: Lightweight, slim design, versatility
Cons: Length
Overall very beautiful fun to handle. Feels great great in the hands. One like the over all length feels like Im too expose wen playing certain positions. Great marker over all tho Pro heavily over way cons in my opinion.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review