Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - FR Barrel System Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: [email protected]
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
The Eclipse Shaft FR (“FreakTM Ready”) Barrel Back is compatible with “FreakTM” inserts* for optimised bore selection. The Shaft FR back assembles in a unique manner so that the ball is guided into the Insert via a tapered opening at the rear. The insert is held in place by the Joiner section which doubles as the interface to the Tip. The Shaft FR back has 3 windows to see insert size.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2016
 MSRP: $70.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 10
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  50%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  40%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  10%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - FR Barrel System Reviews
Planet Eclipse FR Barrel System Appearance: PE gives you plenty of options to match your marker. Performance: Works like a dream. Make sure you remember which way to screw it on and off, because some of it is reverse threaded. If...
Report this review to a moderator   #79018
pball68
Shooting people since '89
pball68's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
pball68 has been a member for 10 years
pball68 is playing at Living Legends IX
pball68 is playing at Living Legends XI
 is playing at Living Legends Dreaded
pball68 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
pball68 is a top reviewer
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $68.95
Pros: Fits both insert sets
Cons: Doesn't align both sets size in view port
Appearance: PE gives you plenty of options to match your marker.

Performance: Works like a dream. Make sure you remember which way to screw it on and off, because some of it is reverse threaded. If you don't, they put flat spots on some of the threads so you can put a wrench on if needed, thank you PE.

Reliability: I use Freak inserts and have had no issues. No stuck inserts, they come in and out without issue. Whole thing is pretty easy to clean if you run into any issues.

Value: The prices don't range much on these so it is what it is. The price you pay is well worth the paint matching and performance you get with this purchase. Highly recommend this purchase.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse FR Barrel System Makes the freak inserts even better with the machined end so no sharp edges of the insert are hitting the ball. Sometimes it can be tough to unscrew but it looks great and works great
Report this review to a moderator   #82234
warpedspeed05
Tuna On White No Crust..
warpedspeed05's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Out & about
warpedspeed05 has been a member for 10 years
warpedspeed05 plays in the NXL
warpedspeed05 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Makes using freak inserts even better
Cons: None at all
Makes the freak inserts even better with the machined end so no sharp edges of the insert are hitting the ball. Sometimes it can be tough to unscrew but it looks great and works great
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse FR Barrel System This is probably the best freak insert back if it werent so expensive. The collar holds the insert in place so if you take a core sample and have to remove your barrel tip mid game you are able to...
Report this review to a moderator   #80866
Turpid Porpoise
Original Join Date 8/2005
Turpid Porpoise's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Centreville
Turpid Porpoise owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Turpid Porpoise plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $65.00
Pros: Looks great, takes inserts, collar holds insert in
Cons: Price
This is probably the best freak insert back if it werent so expensive. The collar holds the insert in place so if you take a core sample and have to remove your barrel tip mid game you are able to shoot without worrying about shooting out the insert.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse FR Barrel System if you really want to keep the stock look of your gun, or if you are a huge fan of how the shaft works then this is the choice for you. eclipse quality and you still get the bore size you need. win...
Report this review to a moderator   #81810
seekandestroy78
still snoop and d.r.e.
seekandestroy78's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dulles airport.
seekandestroy78 has been a member for 10 years
seekandestroy78 plays in the NXL
seekandestroy78 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
seekandestroy78 plays in the APPA D4 division
seekandestroy78 has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $70.00
Pros: looks amazing
Cons: could just use a freak back
if you really want to keep the stock look of your gun, or if you are a huge fan of how the shaft works then this is the choice for you. eclipse quality and you still get the bore size you need. win win
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.7/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse FR Barrel System
Report this review to a moderator   #79754
Intimidatorpb41
MakePaintballGreatAgain
Intimidatorpb41's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Intimidatorpb41 has been a member for 10 years
Intimidatorpb41 plays in the NXL
Intimidatorpb41 plays in the APPA D4 division
Intimidatorpb41 has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $70.00
Pros: Works with stock tips,inserts
Cons: price
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse FR Barrel System
Report this review to a moderator   #78490
Pakistani
VCU Rams
Pakistani's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Richmond, VA
Pakistani has been a member for 10 years
Pakistani is a Paintball photographer
Pakistani plays in the NXL
Pakistani is an NCPA player
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: inserts are cheap!
Cons: the adapter ring is a PITA. gets stuck sometimes
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse FR Barrel System The inserts allow you to set the correct bore size for your barrel and it works beautifully. The only problem i had was the adapter joint unit got stuck to my stock barrel front but that wasn't a big...
Report this review to a moderator   #86433
EricN25
 
EricN25's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: California
EricN25 owns a Planet Eclipse Etha
EricN25 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
EricN25 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $65.00
Pros: Looks good
Cons: Adapter unit gets stuck
The inserts allow you to set the correct bore size for your barrel and it works beautifully. The only problem i had was the adapter joint unit got stuck to my stock barrel front but that wasn't a big deal breaker because i was still able to change out the inserts.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse FR Barrel System So I've had the FR back since they released all of the colored backs. I mainly purchased it for the color matching with my CCM S6. I also purchased the pro tip to match the colors on my marker as...
Report this review to a moderator   #85961
kuyajc2005
Kuya JC
kuyajc2005's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fremont, Ca
kuyajc2005 is playing at Living Legends VII
kuyajc2005 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
kuyajc2005 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $70.00
Pros: Looks, good anno, reverse threading
Cons: Pricing, reverse threading, method of insert
So I've had the FR back since they released all of the colored backs. I mainly purchased it for the color matching with my CCM S6. I also purchased the pro tip to match the colors on my marker as well.

So overall its a freak barrel and I'm happy with the solid construction and quality and I would recommend it for people that can afford it (as there are other options that are much cheaper).

With a pump marker the reverse threading is annoying and makes it difficult to remove the barrel if i need to change the insert during a day of play. Or if i just want to run a clean swab through it in between games or if I get a barrel break.

I have a deadly wind carbon barrel and a freak kit barrel for my Vanquish and I have to say that it certainly doesn't perform any better than other freak systems. I compared the barrels between each other and i prefer my deadly wind barrel on my pump and I use the FR barrel on my GEO 3.5 only. I have found that it performed best with a Planet Eclipse Marker but that just my experience.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse FR Barrel System Best way to fix something that doesnt need a lot of cash when it comes to a barrel upgrade. If you have a PE barrel jusrt buy this back and the few freak inserts you need and you are good to go.
Report this review to a moderator   #89871
pbackman125
Ξ✪Ξ
pbackman125's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jerzey/De/Md
pbackman125 has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: Cheap
Cons: none at all
Best way to fix something that doesnt need a lot of cash when it comes to a barrel upgrade. If you have a PE barrel jusrt buy this back and the few freak inserts you need and you are good to go.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse FR Barrel System The barrel back is great for people who would weather not buy a complete barrel and they want it to match there gun.
Report this review to a moderator   #83946
zombieninja9999
 
zombieninja9999's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago IL
zombieninja9999 is playing at Living Legends VI
zombieninja9999 is playing at Living Legends VII
zombieninja9999 is playing at Living Legends X
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Freak barrel
Cons: None!
The barrel back is great for people who would weather not buy a complete barrel and they want it to match there gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review