Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - Geo CS1 Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: [email protected]
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
The CS1 signals the dawn of a new era for the Eclipse Geo line. Not just a facelift of a previous generation but a complete rework of the platform. Every facet scrutinized. Every aspect deliberated. From the ergonomics to the electronics, reliability to maintenance, and performance to aesthetics, the engineers at Planet Eclipse have left no stone unturned in that elusive quest for perfection. The result? A radical departure from what came before. SL5 INLINE REGULATOR IN GRIP FRAME QUICK-DISCONNECT ELECTRICAL BODY TO FRAME INTERFACE POCKETED AND CAPTURED AIR TRANSFER SEALS INTERCHANGEABLE TIGGER PROFILES 120PSI OPERATING PRESSURE SLIMLINE POPS BONNET ULTRA LOW POWER SOLENOID PILOT VALVE IN-HOUSE MANAFACTURED USER-SERVICABLE ISCIS3 VALVE MICRO USB PROGRAMMING PORT EPORTAL 3 COMPATIBLE 1-PIECE SHAFT5 BARREL BACK SHAFT PRO BARREL TIP
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2015
 MSRP: $1,500.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 26
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  65%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  23%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  12%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - Geo CS1 Reviews
Planet Eclipse Geo CS1 Visual and Tactile Impressions: When I first saw the CS1 I had the same reaction as others; I thought it was an ugly marker. In person though there is a subtle simplicity and beauty to its milling....
Report this review to a moderator   #75129
Big Papa Pink
High-end Aficionado
Big Papa Pink's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: ATL
Big Papa Pink is BST Legit
Big Papa Pink owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,595.00
Pros: Efficient, Stretched out feel,Reliable and easy to
Cons: Front Grip can be bent, input pressure sensitive
Visual and Tactile Impressions:
When I first saw the CS1 I had the same reaction as others; I thought it was an ugly marker. In person though there is a subtle simplicity and beauty to its milling. The milling quality and workmanship that we have come to expect from PE is here. Excellent gaps, no leaks out of the box and excellent quality. Despite the quality of the materials and fit and finish of the marker, I am watching reported issues closely.
The grip material feels hard, but still grippy and seem like they should last some time. The grip size is interesting as it fills my hands quite well, and does feel natural to me as I prefer .45 hand guns like the H&K SOCOM and XDs. What I mean by that is the thin grips of the M2 I would equate to a 9mm frame, where as the CS1 is much closer to a .45 frame; it fills your hands. Some will no doubt find it too big, and others will prefer it. The front grip too feels thick, but comfortable and my thumb found a natural spot to rest just behind the eye cover. The trigger guard is about the perfect size for me as I do not hit it when walking the trigger and I can still rest my fingers on it when they are off the trigger.
Overall the CS1 feels great in my hands; not my favorite though. The trigger is light and responsive so I left it alone other than to change the board to use the micro switch as that is what I prefer. I would give it a 9/10 for this area which puts it right in line with the Victory in my assessments. That should tell you how much the CS1 impresses me here.


Electronics:
This is one area that the CS1 shines as it shares many of the features of the LV1 and Geo3.x. As with the other two, the Board is really well laid out however the CS1 takes it one step further with a wireless connection that helps separate the grip frame from the main body of the marker when necessary. The CS1 uses two AA batteries in the forward grip in place of the nine volt in the gri. The CS1 has a great LCD screen built into the back strap of the marker that can display a wide range of information. Unlike the M2 and Clone 5, the layout is easy to read at a glance as you are playing. Like the LV1, The CS1 features a shot gauge that counts down as you are playing that will tell you when you are ready for your next full pod of paint. Really neat, kind of a gimmick, but easy to use and I have gotten a lot more use out of it than I thought I would; it is a great visual aid. Programming is among the easiest on the list using the three buttons on the back on the grip frame. Settings are very easy to read and are displayed on a scale so you know where you are in relation to the minimum and maximum settings for each of the areas you can program. Another neat feature is being able to use an optical sensor or mechanical micro switch to detect each trigger pull. The only thing you would need to open the grips to do is to turn on and off the tourney lock; which is the same for every marker out. It is a super simple board to use and program. Overall the CS1 gets a 9.5/10.

Regs ASAs and Internals:
The CS1 has the same best in class ASA as the GEO 3.x and LV1. Very easy to turn on, purges very well, and very easy to clean. The regulator is now in the grip frame, and I have some concerns. The CS1 was very inconsistent over the crono, both the Clone 5 and M2 were much more consistant using the same barrel and paint. I have re-lubed the reg so we'll see if that helps and maybe give it a few more cases and then re-check it. Before you go off saying it was my tank reg, it tested at 445 psi output and I saw the same behavior over several tanks. I would also like to see a shim stack in place of the spring. My expirence with sprigs has been hit and miss in the past, but the shim stack Bob uses in his HPRs are simply fantastic. One area I am watching is the CS1 seems to be touchy about input pressure from the tank reg. PE has released a new reg piston to combat issues some have seen. I'll update this post when I have a chance to test the new reg piston.
Internals are also rather simple and the engine breaks down into three pieces. Out of all the spool valve markers on the list, it has the second most simple design after the Insight/ Onslaught, but is super simple to maintain. There are just a few dynamic o-rings to take a look at and replace when necessary. Normal maintenance takes all of 2 minutes. Take the engine out, take the can off the prop shaft, push the bolt out of the can, wipe down the surfaces, relube the o-rings, slap it back together Ö you are done. Really there isnít a lot to say because the engine is so simple to maintain. It is as bulletproof as any spool will be. The Detent system is really simple and consists of the standard PE flexible rubber fingers. They work well, no need for anything fancier.
Overall 9.25/10.

Performance:
I have to say I'm quite impressed with the CS1. Mine is smoother then the two previous I have shot with the BSC turned down almost all the way. It truly shocked me a touch; I though I was shooting low, but it was spot on, around 285 +/- 10 at the Crono. I like a little bit of tactile feedback from a marker and the CS1 gives almost the perfect amount of feedback. It is as others have said close to Luxe smooth; simply shocking for a GEO if you ask me. While I have poppets that are as smooth or smoother, I'm quite happy with that.
Efficiency was not as good as the GEO 3.5 but it wasn't far off. While I did not do a full efficiency test, my calculations would lead me to expect around 1450 ish shots off a 68/45. Not bad, but there is better out there. I'm seeing about the same efficiency with a slightly smoother shot out of the M2, but they are quite close.
One area that I had some issues with is how it points for me. The CS1 does not point as natural for me as the Geo 3.5 and prior versions. All of my shots were going high, so I had to make adjustments; my snap shooting was off due to this. The Dye M2 and Clone 5 point much more naturally for me which leads to more single shot eliminations and more effective snap shooting. It will take some getting use to.
Efficiency: 9/10; Shot Quality: also 9/10 much better than previous generations.

Overall I have to say I'm impressed with the CS1. It will make it into my top 5 markers I own, but it will not take the top spot. There is also one Gen 5 marker out today that the CS1 will take a back seat to in my arsenal and that is the M2. For those of you wondering, the Clone 5 is also quite close to the CS1 but will rank third behind it and the M2. The Clone 5 is simply the most consistant maker When using the same paint and barrels on the same day as other markers that I own which is it's real strength. Its shot quality is better than the Geo 3.5 but not quite on the same lever as the CS1.
It is a great time to play the game as there are four gen 5 markers out that all have something to bring to the table. One will likely meet your needs very well, and I will say I'm happy with all of them for different reasons. The CS1 is a very strong contender and a lot of folks will be very happy with it.
Nice work PE!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Geo CS1 Ban me and donít unban me
Report this review to a moderator   #90281
bmenot
Guest
Join Date: Feb 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.00
Pros: Ban me
Cons: Donít unban me
Ban me and donít unban me
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Geo CS1 The CS1 feels stretched out, not cramped. The grips are chunky but don't feel too big at all. I have a tendency to shoot high and have heard that from other players regarding the natural pointing....
Report this review to a moderator   #76417
FLChuck
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,200.00
Pros: simple design
Cons: heavy
The CS1 feels stretched out, not cramped. The grips are chunky but don't feel too big at all. I have a tendency to shoot high and have heard that from other players regarding the natural pointing. Feels sturdy, durable and ready to work but also has a utilitarian look to it. Not real pretty. Solid marker overall.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Geo CS1 I am not overly fond of how big the grip is now. I feel like it got heavier than the previous model it shoots slightly smoother overall I give it an 8 out of 10
Report this review to a moderator   #75289
Gbash
Another day in paradise
Gbash's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Wyoming
Gbash owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Gbash is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,400.00
Pros: no macro lines
Cons: bigger heavier
I am not overly fond of how big the grip is now. I feel like it got heavier than the previous model it shoots slightly smoother overall I give it an 8 out of 10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Geo CS1 Just purchased a Dynasty CS1 Blue/White. Absolutely love the marker. People complain about "weight" being an issue. I say go hit the gym, cause it's not that heavy by any means. I wish it came with...
Report this review to a moderator   #79874
Gretzky
Gretzky
Gretzky's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New York
Gretzky is BST Trusted
Gretzky has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,500.00
Pros: reliable
Cons: one barrel back
Just purchased a Dynasty CS1 Blue/White. Absolutely love the marker. People complain about "weight" being an issue. I say go hit the gym, cause it's not that heavy by any means. I wish it came with another barrel back, maybe a .684. But other then that it shoots very smooth, easy to maintenance, easy to adjust, and just down right sexy. You cant go wrong with PE. They're the best in the business when it comes to markers.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Geo CS1 Right when it came out I picked one up with such crazy excitement. Took it out and had such a blast with how smooth it was and natural it was for me to point and shoot.The strangeness came with...
Report this review to a moderator   #85025
hubertcumberdale08
My Paintball Life
hubertcumberdale08's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Los Angeles
hubertcumberdale08 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
hubertcumberdale08 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
hubertcumberdale08 owns a Planet Eclipse CSR
hubertcumberdale08 has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,800.00
Pros: shot quality, feel, reliability, efficiency
Cons: the struggle to own just one
Right when it came out I picked one up with such crazy excitement. Took it out and had such a blast with how smooth it was and natural it was for me to point and shoot.The strangeness came with getting use to the grips and the length of it. Going from a 3.5 to a CS1 was a bit strange but once I got use to it its become my favorite marker.

From the easy maintenance to the reliability that has come from Planet Eclipse its really the only company I ever buy new from. Cant wait whats in store for the future.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Geo CS1 I've been playing paintball since 2001, in both national and local tournaments. I got out of paintball during my college years, and just got back into it a few months ago. I've always been a fan of...
Report this review to a moderator   #83978
jpp0213
252
jpp0213's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Bern, NC
jpp0213 plays in the APPA D4 division
jpp0213 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,795.00
Pros: Light, accurate, efficient
Cons: Price
I've been playing paintball since 2001, in both national and local tournaments. I got out of paintball during my college years, and just got back into it a few months ago. I've always been a fan of PE, and have been sponsored by them in the past so I decided to give a CSR a try. It is by far the best gun I've ever owned. Accurate, light, efficient (especially compared to the first generation spools I was familiar with), quiet, and good ergonomics.
The initial purchase price of PE guns is one of the highest, but they also retain their value much better than others percentage wise. I always wanted a PL/limited edition gun, so decided to pull the trigger on a CSR. I'm not sure it's worth the extra dollars compared to what you can actually buy a new CS1 for, but I couldn't be happier with it. I definitely recommend!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Geo CS1 From the GEO sub-forum: Quote: Originally Posted by miguelcont96
Report this review to a moderator   #80650
miguelcont96
MadMan Paintball
miguelcont96's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Santiago, Dom Rep
miguelcont96 owns a Planet Eclipse LVR
miguelcont96 has been published on the PbNation Youtube Channel
miguelcont96 plays in the APPA D4 division
miguelcont96 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,595.00
Pros: AA Batteries, idiot-proof, player choice
Cons: Launch was a little turbulent.
From the GEO sub-forum:

Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelcont96 View Post
As usual, I there's the video review right here and in text are the things I did not get to talk about in the video.



This gun just makes sense. I don't know how else to say it. In reality, it's one of the reasons why I favor Eclipse above the other manufacturers, at the end of the day, they just work. Don't get me wrong, I love messing around with different manufacturers' guns too; it's a little like different cuisines or different beers (I've recently gotten into this). They're all guns/food/beer but there's so much to try, explore, and enjoy, bar the crappy stuff

Ergonomically it's my favorite gun I've ever held so far. I'm a fan of the long setup and really enjoyed the oversized palm-swell here. I like how it points a lot, very natural feel makes it easy to get and stay on target. I can't help but mention also, the frame looks like a colt single action army handle, especially with the way that the POPS appears to hook in and is perfectly flush with the frame.
https://i.ytimg.com/vi/ZbZQoe6QBKo/maxresdefault.jpg
http://www.thespecialistsltd.com/fil...a_SA_Arrmy.jpg

Speaking of the frame, the LCD is magnified and looks MASSIVE now, which is both a good thing and bad thing. It's a little eyeopening how well this interface has held up... I first started playing from 2008-2010 and remember everyone talking about "the huge screen on the new Ego" when the 10 came out. My parents weren't too big on me playing paintball and getting distracted from my schooling and my local field relocating forced break on me until I turned 18 two years ago and the local field moved to a location 5 minutes away from where I live, oh the things the Paintball Gods do for us . STOP GETTING DISTRACTED! LCD SCREEN, FOCUS. The good: The larger appearance of the screen is simply more pleasant and easier to read... going back to the Gtek OLED felt like going from an Abrams tank to a Beetle car. The bad: the resolution of the screen doesn't appear as sharp when magnified. My point is, maybe just maybe the next Eclipse gun should feature an LCD with just a teeeeeny tiny bit higher pixel density for the sake of the evolution of the platfor, since this is what this gun is all about.

THIS TRIGGER... HO LEE CAW I'm not a huge trigger guy believe it or not, despite being a semi auto elitist. To me a trigger is good enough if I can hit 15 bps on it and if it's accidental bump discharge proof (but this doesn't mean I can't recognize a great trigger when I feel one). This one does that great but my favorite part is the stop and return. Most guns, when you pull the trigger smack on the frame. The CS1's doesn't and that's my favorite part, it feels like a natural bounce back when I let go for another pull. It's hard to explain, but it's a little bit like the Luxe trigger stop with a responsive return. HUGE FAN Attention Jack Wood: Keep this trigger design forever, DO NOT change a thing!!!

The front grip design is truly ingenious, how the batteries are in the front, how they hold the eye covers, and the pleasant stable grip I get with the dual texture grips. I was used to them on the Etek 5 and Gtek, but here there's even more of it and quite frankly it's great with and without gloves. Back to the batteries... watch the video to fully understand how I feel about the use of AAs.

Now the shot, ooh yeah. I'm not very good with judging smoothness. After a certain level, I forget how smooth a gun is vs. another if there's a 30 second gap between alternating with one or the other. Is it the smoothest shot? It can really depend on how bedded in the gun is but still, as far as being the smoothest shot, probably not, but I think that it's as smooth as it'll get without sacrificing reliability. I think reliability is the most important thing to take into account and I really like how pretty much everything here was designed to be idiot proof. No tuning is ever required for the gun to work always and the body seals on this thing are massive. Eclipse's ability to preserve reliability and ease of service is something that deserves to be commended. As a matter of fact, I, as a part time tech at my local field, HATE most LPR-less balanced spools because they never seem to put reliability first and make visits to the repair station as often as regulars at a bar. Thankfully that is changing slowly but surely, as we've seen with the Luxe ICE, but more on that further ahead.

Player choice is something that the CS1 does very well. The SFR is still one of the coolest and handiest tools to have available. I did mess around with it but I favored the 12 o'clock setting because I like my rounds to leave the barrel as soon as I pull the trigger, it can be the difference between being on target or not. Though the feel and sound signature changes noticeably, I would say that it doesn't change drastically. I did talk about the bolts in the video but I did educate myself more on the whole bolt faces and while I first felt most comfortable at first with the soft tip since I NEVER broke a ball in the breach with the Etek 5 (except for one instance where I intentionally loaded a ball halfway down the feedneck, also, a 2.1 with the soft face from the IV core didn't break paint in this experiment but the hard tip did) even after 50k+ shots through it. From what I've been reading and observing in what has been done and what different people say, in game, when actively feeding paint, the semi-cupped hard face a bit of a better job dealing with the ball stack than the soft tip.

Something to point out, if you want to shoot around or above 15 bps semi it would be a good idea to check out the dwell tuning guide Jack Wood made
I had to do drop the dwell a bit to get to fifteen.

I actually don't know what else to talk about now since I just had lunch and lost my train of thought. Sorry. In short, this gun is absolutely fantastic and is among my top 3 that I've listed in no particular order of preference since I would have to own all three to truly be able to rank them: CS1, M2, Luxe ICE.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Geo CS1 I've had my CS1's since around launch. They're rock solid dependable markers that feel great in the hands. The grips are spaced comfortably for me and they are big enough, but have a molded surface...
Report this review to a moderator   #81377
oldmanian
JLK 10/9/11
oldmanian's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Middletown NJ
oldmanian is a Supporting Member
oldmanian has been a member for 10 years
oldmanian donated to help Peyton Trent
oldmanian owns a Planet Eclipse CSR
oldmanian supports Bob Gurnsey
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,500.00
Pros: Reliability
Cons: None.
I've had my CS1's since around launch. They're rock solid dependable markers that feel great in the hands. The grips are spaced comfortably for me and they are big enough, but have a molded surface that aids greatly in holding, controlling and shooting the marker.

I had two M2's and the CS1's at the same time, and even when dialed in the M2's weren't as smooth to me as the CS1's. Having said that, the reality is that most modern high ends have relatively low barrel rise. At this point it really is more or less a wash. What does matter is how it feels to the user and in their hands. The CS1 is a heavier marker then the M2, but it's also got a larger stance and that helps it feel better in the hands.

I will also say that because of the new design of the HPR, the batteries in the foregrip etc, the marker feels as solid in the hands as even the vanquish (that has a single piece lower assembly with the frame and foregrip made from a single piece of metal. This really helps the marker settle in the hands well for me.

As is their calling card, the marker is more reliable then anyhting I've ever owned. It's really a great marker that will be in my bag for quite a while.

Shoot one.

Get one.... (or two).....
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Geo CS1 Let me start off by saying this marker is bigger and heavier than alot of others out there which being the taller,bigger guy I am is perfect and the ergonomics for me are unmatched to anything else...
Report this review to a moderator   #77441
XxJKATxX
Legit As They Come
XxJKATxX's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Richmond,VA
XxJKATxX plays in the NXL
XxJKATxX owns a Planet Eclipse LVR
XxJKATxX supports Team VICIOUS
XxJKATxX is an NCPA National Champion
XxJKATxX has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,150.00
Pros: Reliability, Smooth shooting,Ergonomics
Cons: None Personally
Let me start off by saying this marker is bigger and heavier than alot of others out there which being the taller,bigger guy I am is perfect and the ergonomics for me are unmatched to anything else on the market in my opinion.

Shot Quality: Quiet and smooth as expected and gets better and better the more i use it.

Reliability: People have had issues with this marker yes personally none for me It shot great out of the box and even more so when i updated the Regulator Piston which gave me much better shot to shot consistency. Also have the old frame and I am out there sliding around on a bi-weekly basis and have had no bending issues.

Efficiency: Just as you would expect from the platform at this point quite efficient will shoot more paint than you will ever need in one game with a 77/45 SL tank

Price: I personally would not recommend purchasing this for the retail price its not worth it in my opinion sure you get all these ascetic changes but shot quality is not far off the 3.5 which is alot cheaper and just as efficient and reliable.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Add New Review