Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Rotor R2 Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: [email protected]
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
INTRODUCING THE NEXT EVOLUTION IN LOADER TECHNOLOGY The new patent pending Dye Rotor R2™ follows in the tradition of the most radical innovation in paintball loader technology. The R2™ fuses simplicity with mind-blowing feed rates, reliability and the industries first capacity flexibility. Through both professional player input and customer feedback, our engineering team meticulously reconfigured and reengineered the R2™, to pioneer the next advancement in loader technology. The Rotor R2™ includes a revolutionary patent pending highly innovative multi-capacity shell that allows the user to choose between 200 or 260 round capacity on the fly, without the need for additional shells, parts or tools. The Rapid Release patent pending lid is the fastest and most intuitive quick change lid system on the market, allowing for effortless changes between Dye Quickfeeds™ and Traditional polycarbonate lids. The R2's large mouth design opening, is 15% larger than its predecessor and ensures that your loading procedure is quick, efficient and effortless. The R2's new circuit board logic, provides an industry’s first patent pending Reload Alert System. In addition the new patent pending electronic Dynamic Force Control, insures that your R2 energy drive, spools up to provide initial consistent power regulated feeding, while also providing a gentle power control on paint when needed. Trusted quality and proven consistency have made the Dye Rotor platform the number one choice in loader technology among paintball players worldwide. The Rotor R2™ was created to make the next advancement in loader system technology, providing the competitive player, loader performance thats needed to win. The new Dye R2™ is THE CHOICE OF CHAMPIONS™ FEATURES: • ADJUSTABLE BALL CAPACITY 200/260 PAINTBALLS* • 15% LARGER LID OPENING AND RAPID RELEASE SAFEGUARD SYSTEM* • RELOAD ALERT SYSTEM* • LOW BATTERY INDICATOR • DYNAMIC FORCE CONTROL* • TOOL-LESS DISASSEMBLY* • SPRING LOADED INNER FLOOR* • IMPROVE FEED RELIABILITY • ADJUSTABLE DRIVE TENSION • POSITIVE FEED LIVE HINGE TRAY • POWER SUPPLY - 3AA BATTERIES • WEIGHT 1.1 LBS (WITHOUT BATTERIES) • PATENTED ROTOR FEED TECHNOLOGY *PATENT PENDING
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2015
 MSRP: $249.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
 Reviews: 16
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  25%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  63%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  6%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Rotor R2 Reviews
Dye Precision Rotor R2 I loved the original Rotor, and I could not help myself from buying the R2 in carbon-fiber/green. So - five stars for appearance. Performance - it.just.runs --- and as fast as I can rope. I...
Report this review to a moderator   #74393
h0wb0y
Soaking Up The Knowledge
h0wb0y's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Wichita, KS
h0wb0y has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
h0wb0y has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Runs Great Looks Great
Cons: Adjustable Size Can Be Disasterous
I loved the original Rotor, and I could not help myself from buying the R2 in carbon-fiber/green. So - five stars for appearance.

Performance - it.just.runs --- and as fast as I can rope. I haven't pushed it into full auto, so I don't really know where it would fail to keep up, but whatever that BPS is would be faster than I could ever walk in semi-auto.

Reliability. Well - the battery life is great. BUT - I absolutely hate the adjustable hopper. I know it locks - but I am just too rough on these things - and I kept having the whole hopper explode during dives. There goes the paint - and now I got broken paint in the hopper and all over the eyes and bolt of my marker. Quick field clean and balls are shooting in completely unpredictable directions. Very frustrating. I knocked it down to three stars SOLELY because of that fact. Now - I throw some tape around it and - no more issues. Not one. And, I am back to loving this hopper.

I also knocked the value down by one because of the previous flaw. I did not feel it was fair to knock reliability down to two stars, but, for the price, I feel it should have been better.

I do understand that the ability to engineer something for $250 that is adjustable and still solid enough to take a pounding is probably next to impossible. That mixed with needing to make it as simple as possible to take apart to replace batteries and to completely clean in the tent... I can't imagine what kind of a headache that presented - but - not my job and not my problem.

I love the hopper - but there is some room for improvement.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor R2 I wish the window was bigger to see amount of paint left, batteries are a ***** to remove, and the thin plastic window material seems like it would break
Report this review to a moderator   #79634
MU WISCOBALLER
 
MU WISCOBALLER's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Columbus
MU WISCOBALLER supports Team VICIOUS
MU WISCOBALLER is an NCPA player
MU WISCOBALLER plays in the APPA D5 division
MU WISCOBALLER has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: 200/260 flip is nice, always reliable
Cons: flimsy, small windows to see how much paint left
I wish the window was bigger to see amount of paint left, batteries are a ***** to remove, and the thin plastic window material seems like it would break
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor R2 I recently bought my r2 about a month ago and have played at multiple field s with it its a little expensive but it hasn't failed me yet it is just an all around good hopper!
Report this review to a moderator   #71473
swamp121
jonathan bryant
swamp121's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: lucedale
swamp121 plays in the NXL
swamp121 plays in the MiLP
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: everything
Cons: a little big
I recently bought my r2 about a month ago and have played at multiple field s with it its a little expensive but it hasn't failed me yet it is just an all around good hopper!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor R2
Report this review to a moderator   #76049
Urstin
Urstin
Urstin's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Florida
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Nice loader
Cons: Kinda Heavy
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor R2 The rotor is really a great hopper. Personally, mine hasn't jammed yet. I haven't used it a whole lot, but none the less no jams yet. I picked it up for $120 with a speedfeed and its a great hopper...
Report this review to a moderator   #83066
Muhcaulk
Muhcaulk
Muhcaulk's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: norcal
Muhcaulk is a top reviewer
Muhcaulk is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: feed rate
Cons: heavy and jams
The rotor is really a great hopper. Personally, mine hasn't jammed yet. I haven't used it a whole lot, but none the less no jams yet. I picked it up for $120 with a speedfeed and its a great hopper to have. They are very strong. I saw a video of a guy burning, submerging and dropping his rotor and it was still going strong. I think it feeds 30 bps, but on average you wont ever shoot over 20 so thats fine. I'll also add how easy it is to unjam, you just pull the "shark" lever. It runs on 3 AA batteries and I have been using the same 3 for a while now and they have not run out. The one thing about the rotor, is that it is heavy. However, you will get used to it. I would recommend it for all types of paintball players.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor R2 Got the new R2 in the Storm scheme (Grey and blue).. Looks dope af.. Better than the TFX.. From the looks and feels i wont be having any button problems to Turn on the loader.. i had problems with...
Report this review to a moderator   #86337
Davidkingz
 
Davidkingz's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2016
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $180.00
Pros: Better than TFX
Cons: Nothing
Got the new R2 in the Storm scheme (Grey and blue).. Looks dope af..
Better than the TFX.. From the looks and feels i wont be having any button problems to Turn on the loader.. i had problems with the TFX where the turn on button would some how jam make it seem that its on and when i start running it would shut off.. Well anyways; bye, bye TFX, hello R2!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor R2 Very disappointed with my R2 due to the 1/16" gap in the nose where the upper and lower halves meet. I've had a few jams since owning this (one during a tournament), and they were because broken...
Report this review to a moderator   #71761
GiantPinkMonkey
 
GiantPinkMonkey's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Denver, CO
GiantPinkMonkey has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Looks good
Cons: Gap in nose, expensive
Very disappointed with my R2 due to the 1/16" gap in the nose where the upper and lower halves meet. I've had a few jams since owning this (one during a tournament), and they were because broken paint made its way in the loader and gummed things up. I called Dye and was told it is a design flaw (flaw was not the exact words) so it can expand into the 260 capacity loader. Their recommendation was to tape the seam. In my opinion, a $250 loader should not have this flaw. Dye usually makes quality stuff, and while sturdy the R2 seems gimmicky and overpriced to me. Save yourself some money and buy any other high end loader, I will be playing with my original Rotor while I save up for a Spire.

*You do not need to see it in person to see the gap, look at any picture that shows the nose of the loader in the 200 ball capacity*
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor R2 This hopper has through and through treated me better than the competitors. The newer one does not have much more of a difference from the older ones, hence why I only give it a 4 star for value....
Report this review to a moderator   #77369
Attig11
PAP Factory #26
Attig11's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 717 PA
Attig11 has been a member for 10 years
Attig11 supports Pev's Paintball
Attig11 plays in the APPA D4 division
Attig11 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $214.99
Pros: Sweet colors options, reliable, light
Cons: Uglier shape than older rotors
This hopper has through and through treated me better than the competitors. The newer one does not have much more of a difference from the older ones, hence why I only give it a 4 star for value. Their expensive compared to older Rotors. The newer shape is ugly in my opinion, but takes nothing away from reliability!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor R2 Great reliable hopper. No complaints. Toolless design is a great idea. Looks good, functions properly, seems to be easy on batteries. What more can you ask for?
Report this review to a moderator   #79858
cloead
ewwww
cloead's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cleveland, OH
cloead has been a member for 10 years
cloead has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
cloead has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
cloead has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: Great value
Cons: None so far
Great reliable hopper. No complaints. Toolless design is a great idea. Looks good, functions properly, seems to be easy on batteries.

What more can you ask for?
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Rotor R2 I've played three weekends with my r2, and have had unpredictable jamming issues. Occasionally I'll be able to fire 1000+ shots with zero jams, then I'll have a jam every three shots. After...
Report this review to a moderator   #90127
Clunkycocker
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $160.00
Pros: Fast federate
Cons: Jams frequently
I've played three weekends with my r2, and have had unpredictable jamming issues. Occasionally I'll be able to fire 1000+ shots with zero jams, then I'll have a jam every three shots.

After researching, I discovered that my rotor came from the factory with a broken center arm resistor tab. With this being my first rotor, I didn't recognize that the small bit of black plastic in the center arm was supposed to be a larger complete piece. The upside is that ansgear carries these for $1.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review