Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Pinokio hoppers - Pinokio Speed Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Pinokio hoppers
7901 hill park ct.
lorton, VA 22079

Email: [email protected]
Website: http://pinokiohoppers.com
Smaller, lighter, faster and PERFECTLY balanced, the Pinokio SPEED is the next step in the evolution of Pinokio high-speed, lightweight, ultra-reliable and simple hoppers!
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2013
 MSRP: $149.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 9
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  33%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  56%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  11%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Pinokio hoppers - Pinokio Speed Reviews
Pinokio hoppers Pinokio Speed Okay so first off, I am a major pinokio fan. Just the fact that they don't ever act up at all is a testament to the idea of simplicity. I have shot countless cases through my original pinokio, so...
Report this review to a moderator   #46945
bag681
Howdy damnit!
bag681's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Austin, TX
bag681 has been published on the PbNation Youtube Channel
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: light, fast, low, durable
Cons: see review
Okay so first off, I am a major pinokio fan. Just the fact that they don't ever act up at all is a testament to the idea of simplicity. I have shot countless cases through my original pinokio, so when the speed came out, i immediately picked it up. I noticed it was even lighter, FAR more compact, and far more aesthetically pleasing. It sits a good 1.5 inches lower than the original, and has a much lower center of gravity, making it feel very light. It comes with the 18V P-board, and longtime pinokio users will notice a sharper, quicker sound when using. It holds 173 balls by my own personal count. I have thrashed this thing in the months since itís release, and now i feel comfortable reviewing it. It lives up to the legacy of itís older brother. The thing is freaking durable, and works in my sink. I dunk my pinokios in a warm soapy bath after every use, let them dry a couple of hours, and they always freakin work! These hoppers like Maha Powerís rechargeable 9.6V batteries. They just last forever on them. This hopper has a narrow profile when laning so no problems there. It sits and feeds forward, which counteracts any recoil you marker might have. I literally can't think of a better hopper for a front player. The pinokio system is the only feeding system that i haven't ever seen go down. Iím a ref so Iíve seen everyone else struggle with rotors blending, halos jamming, and spires coming apart/twitching. This hoppers can be cleaned in a matter of seconds. So the only thing I can think of is inherent to all low profile hoppers. As you flatten out a hopper, it acts less and less like a funnel, which means when youíre close to being out of paint and youíre simply standing perfectly still, you might get popcorning. If youíre moving around at all like a normal paintball player, this will not occur!

If you just want a hopper that you can slap onto any gun, in any condition, and not have to change settings, torque, or any other BS, buy this hopper. Itís light, low, unobtrusive, recoil cancelling, durable, battery efficient, and sexy! Hope this helps your purchase.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Pinokio hoppers Pinokio Speed The Pinokio Speed hopper is the best hopper on the marker. It drop tests almost as fast as a Dye Rotor, never jams, and never breaks paint. It is a little different looking, but it is a very...
Report this review to a moderator   #47201
paintball_fanatic123
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
paintball_fanatic123 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Reliable, Light, Fast
Cons: None!
The Pinokio Speed hopper is the best hopper on the marker. It drop tests almost as fast as a Dye Rotor, never jams, and never breaks paint. It is a little different looking, but it is a very interesting design. The mechanism that drives the hopper is so simple that it works. The paddles are soft to avoid breaks and the shell is made of out very durable plastic. It is also very easy to take apart to clean. All you need to do is remove the nose cover and you have an all access key to the paddles! Even if you do need to take the loader apart to get to the engine (highly highly unlikely) it is very easy to do. Just take the screws out of the shell and you have access to everything. I would definitely recommend picking one of these up if you appreciate an extremely light, reliable, durable, inexpensive, and fast feeding loader. Also, the HK speed feed is very good and will improve your experience. BUY THIS LOADER!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Pinokio hoppers Pinokio Speed This is an amazing loader for the money and I would recommend to anyone, hell, I even sod my rotor and my spire because this thing is amazing.
Report this review to a moderator   #52705
hungryfatcats
Why not?
hungryfatcats's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Livermore, CA
hungryfatcats owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
hungryfatcats has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
hungryfatcats has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
hungryfatcats supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $149.99
Pros: Very Good, Doesnt Chop Paint
Cons: Very Frontal Profile, Kinda Loud
This is an amazing loader for the money and I would recommend to anyone, hell, I even sod my rotor and my spire because this thing is amazing.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Pinokio hoppers Pinokio Speed The Pinokio Speed is one of the most reliable and no-nonsense loaders. A loader's first job is to feed paint quickly and reliably; it does a great job of that. The feeding mechanism is inherently...
Report this review to a moderator   #87642
DanielBeaver
 
DanielBeaver's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Jam-proof, lightweight, bulletproof reliability
Cons: Can only partially field-strip without tools
The Pinokio Speed is one of the most reliable and no-nonsense loaders. A loader's first job is to feed paint quickly and reliably; it does a great job of that. The feeding mechanism is inherently jam-proof, and I never had a jam for the entire season that I used this, even when occasionally using very bad paint. It feeds 18bps without interruptions, and seems capable of faster if you have a marker who's settings will go higher than that (or a really quick trigger finger on uncapped semi).

The flap sensor in the feedneck and impeller is a simple but robust design, with no user-defined settings. The loader is turned on and off with a simple press of a button on the back, which is easy to push with a gloved hand, and which will not get accidentally pressed during play. A red and green LED lets you know when the hopper is on, and when it is getting low on batteries. I found the battery life to be "okay", nothing that stands out. The shell is two halves screwed together side-by-side, and the plastic seems strong. A major problem with the previous Pinokio loader was brittle plastic that cracked with use. The Speed does not have this problem.

The electronic logic controlling the impeller is simple: when it stops sensing a ball against the flapper, it pulses the impeller. When your shooting continuously, the impeller just keeps spinning. It behaves itself when it runs out of paint: the impeller stops spinning, and when you dump in a pod it will pulse when it feels the first new ball coming down the feedneck. The motor is a little bit louder than I'd like.

It is lightweight: 432g with two 9V batteries, 342g without (quite similar to a Revvy). The center of mass when filled is directly above the feedneck, and the loader itself sits farther forward on your marker than most other loaders. It fills less of your vision than most (all?) other loaders, which feels good when you're playing. Paint capacity is about 180 balls, and is nearly identical to a Rotor - I was able to empty them into each other, and they both filled up the other one.

The feedneck accepts the halo-style universal feedgates, so you have lots of options. The lid cannot be swapped out without disassembling the loader, which is inconvenient if you occasionally play in the rain.

My major annoyance with this loader: it is not fully toolessly field-strip-able in the way that is common with other loaders. The front nose does come off easily, giving you some access, but it's difficult to clean off every surface in the loader. It's not very easy to clean on the field if a ball breaks inside your hopper.

In summary:

Pros:
  • Doesn't jam
  • Very lightweight
  • Feeds fast
  • Simple user controls
  • Universal feedgate

Cons:
  • Limited access to the inside of the loader, difficult to clean
  • Kind of loud

Your Mileage May Vary:
  • 180 ball capacity, very similar to a Rotor
  • Battery life is middle-of-the-road
  • 9V batteries are the same type your marker uses! ...but they're expensive.
  • Some people think it's ugly (I think it looks fine)
  • Universal feedgate does not fit the aesthetic of the rest of the hopper
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Pinokio hoppers Pinokio Speed One of the feed arms broke the first day. Pinokio was good enough to replace the part. The lid broke shortly after. Louder and holds less than a Rotor. When it ran, it ran fine, but overall meh....
Report this review to a moderator   #87161
dreadmuppet
Reeks of class
dreadmuppet's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dela-where?
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: light
Cons: falls apart
One of the feed arms broke the first day. Pinokio was good enough to replace the part. The lid broke shortly after. Louder and holds less than a Rotor.

When it ran, it ran fine, but overall meh. No reason to get this over a Revvy for agitated or used Rotor for force fed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Pinokio hoppers Pinokio Speed I have been using this on a few of my markers: Shocker, Axe, Multiple Geos, Autococker? First of the loader is very light, lighter than a spire and a lot lighter than a rotor. It feeds very well...
Report this review to a moderator   #76521
Jersey_Fresh
Grown in the Garden State
Jersey_Fresh's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Woodbridge
Jersey_Fresh owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $99.00
Pros: Light Weight, Doesnt jam
Cons: Thick neck
I have been using this on a few of my markers: Shocker, Axe, Multiple Geos, Autococker?

First of the loader is very light, lighter than a spire and a lot lighter than a rotor. It feeds very well until you get to the last dozen or so balls. I feel the capacity about the same as a rotor possibly a little less, I have yet to do a ball count.

The UFO like shape is not interfering when aiming

My only gripe is how fat the neck is, I had to sand it down in order to fit it to my shocker. But once it is on it is a super light set up when combined with the Ninja SL tank, I'd say less than 5 pounds for a loader, hopper, and tank.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Pinokio hoppers Pinokio Speed So I've had my Pinokio speed for a few months now and to sum up my review: I strongly believe that this is the best hopper you can get for the price. Pros: Hopper loads very fast (uncapped ramping...
Report this review to a moderator   #86193
Niagara_Factory_Team
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Ontario, CA
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $99.00
Pros: See below.
Cons: See below.
So I've had my Pinokio speed for a few months now and to sum up my review: I strongly believe that this is the best hopper you can get for the price.

Pros: Hopper loads very fast (uncapped ramping on my ego got to 25 BPS) which is more than sufficient for regular play, light as hell given the 2 9V batteries it takes, and I got it for $99.

Cons: I put an exalt speed feed on it that raised the vertical profile by half an inch. I've been shot literally at that 1/2 inch, which was really frustrating. Maybe try a different speed feed or play better than I do. Also, don't use white box paint with this hopper. I've only had issues with jams when I've skimped out on paint, but with decent paint I've never had an issue.

8/10, would buy again. If you're on a budget, I would definitely recommend.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Pinokio hoppers Pinokio Speed Always loved the Pinokio hoppers and this one is low profile, light and reliable. Although I do wish it had slightly more ball capacity it still makes up for it with speed, lightness and reliability....
Report this review to a moderator   #90365
OminousBlue
 
OminousBlue's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2021
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Reliable, light, fast feed
Cons: a little hard to clean, frontal design, two 9volts
Always loved the Pinokio hoppers and this one is low profile, light and reliable. Although I do wish it had slightly more ball capacity it still makes up for it with speed, lightness and reliability. The only two things that bug me about it is two 9 volt batteries and the feed neck positioning. Sometimes when shooting you have to shake the hopper a bit because as the hopper gets less full the paintballs don't always go toward the feed neck, but that's a minor problem to me. Also I do wish it took cheaper and lighter batteries such as AA or AAA batteries. Overall great hopper for both tourney and scenario play.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Pinokio hoppers Pinokio Speed So this is a very decent hopper. I owned mine for about 6 months and used it on NUMEROUS current highends out on the market. These included the Dm14, GEO 3.1, Geo 3, Geo 3.5, Planet Eclipse LV1,...
Report this review to a moderator   #57897
Rockyboarder
17 Years and still going
Rockyboarder's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Rockyboarder has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $129.00
Pros: Light, fast, simple, balanced, reliable-ish.......
Cons: Battery door broke / replacement parts
So this is a very decent hopper. I owned mine for about 6 months and used it on NUMEROUS current highends out on the market. These included the Dm14, GEO 3.1, Geo 3, Geo 3.5, Planet Eclipse LV1, Luxe, Dye NT11, LV1 Twister, Ego 8, Ego 7 etc... None had any issues colliding with the shell structure or tab just in front of the feedneck.

Looks: Not the prettiest. It's kind of meh. But this thing is only available in flat black.

Weight: Extremely light. Two 9 volts in the back are a bit heavy but, the overall weight is light.

Cleaning: Extemely easy and basic. Ease of access to all the small nooks and crannies of the hopper.

On the Gun: I liked this hopper on all my guns. It sits very forward and though I don't think that it gave me any certain advantage for snapping or maneuvering, it did feel extremely natural to load a pod in the hopper with gun raised still laning but, the pod was out of my face. Hard to explain but, its not horrible.

Value: One of the average price hoppers. But for it's basicness, I would want it cheaper. The other hoppers $20 - $30 dollars more have far more to talk about.

Ease of use: Extremely, stupidly, absurdly easy. One button on and one button off. No tension settings, speed settings, pre load settings etc. etc. Just basic. This can be a downfall though. The hopper doesn't have an auto shutoff. If the button was last in the ON position, it will stay until you turn it off. I had my batteries drained once. No biggie.

Capacity: On the smallish side. You have to pretty much shoot the hopper dry before dropping a standard pod in (~130 - 140 rounds).

Speedfeed Options: They are out there. I used a universal Exalt Speedfeed it it held up amazing. No issues. I like it over the lid but, the lid has HUGE flip tabs so its hard to miss.

Reliability: The sensor is extremely reliable. I don't see that ever being an issue. The build quality is great as well. The plastic is tough and can take slams and dives. BUT, if you lose a part (I.E. battery door or nose cone...you are SOL.)

Product Support: There is none. It has a manual. Very basic. The website is down and THEY DON'T MAKE SPARE PARTS. At least none for this hopper that I am aware of...

Overall, right now mine is a paper weight. I lost the battery door to mine when I took a hard dive at a scenario. It didn't break off. It fell off (and was secured earlier in the day as I replaced batteries at the field first thing then played 3 games). I couldnt' find it. I had to come onto this forum to find contact info for smoeone to help me get spare parts for my hopper. The website for pinokio isn't up. They have a facebook. Noone can help. So I am selling this hopper and moving on.

I recommend the hopper. It's easy, light, fast, comfty and durable. Just tape the battery door and the nose cone line down before playing. I'm done with mine though.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review