Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Bob Long Technologies - Protege Intimidator Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Bob Long Technologies
11669 Highway 26
Mokelumne Hill, CA 95245

Phone: (209) 293-4440
Fax: (209) 293-4420
Email: [email protected]
Website: http://www.boblongdirect.com
 Manual: Download the manual for Bob Long Technologies Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $549.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 52
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  33%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  60%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Bob Long Technologies - Protege Intimidator Reviews
Bob Long Technologies Protege Intimidator Bought as a backup to my Vice. It is not as sleek as the Vice but exact same platform. IMO pretty ugly but of the price a remarkable marker!
Report this review to a moderator   #37061
2pipes
Legend in my own MIND
2pipes's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston, TX
2pipes owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
2pipes supports Team VICIOUS
2pipes has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
2pipes supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Cheap reliable
Cons: Pretty ugly BLOCKY Vice
Bought as a backup to my Vice. It is not as sleek as the Vice but exact same platform. IMO pretty ugly but of the price a remarkable marker!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Protege Intimidator Packaging: The Protege comes with a nice looking box, a decent 12" barrel, no manual, no tools, no O-rings(mine didn't). I guess BL took away some of the money and put it into the gun, which I'm okay...
Report this review to a moderator   #8498
almst
T.Sloth
almst's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vacaville,Calibear
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: relatively light, fast, nice trigger, accurate
Cons: some people think its ugly, feedneck, asa
Packaging:
The Protege comes with a nice looking box, a decent 12" barrel, no manual, no tools, no O-rings(mine didn't). I guess BL took away some of the money and put it into the gun, which I'm okay with Some people might flip though that a $550 gun does't come with a manual, but then again most of Bob's guns don't

Performance
When it comes to performance the protege competes and holds it's own against high end guns like ego8, cyborg rx, etc. The gun has barely any kick as you would expect from a timmy and shoots really nicely. It has a nice trigger thats really easy to get on and start ripping. It has a decent board that uses dip switches and if you upgrade for $75 and get a ryujin board you will not be able to outshoot this gun. The gun's really accurate, but i recommend an aftermarket barrel like a cp 1-piece. The gun is crazy efficient, getting around 12 pods on a 68in with a 4000 fill. This gun is pretty quiet, around the same loudness as the alien 2010i. Its quieter than any ego. The feedneck is a WTF is this, if you have a $100+ loader then just spend $30 and get a clamping feedneck. The stock asa is also a WTF but if you like asa's withOUT an on/off you'll be in love.

Looks
People have mixed feelings on looks so just go find a photo and look at it

Overall
In my honest opinion this is one of the best deals out there. I like this gun more than the ego8(because of the trigger, kick, gripframe- the new BL's have the best gripframes other than the UL frame).
Heres my greater than equal to list(not going to compare to spoolies):
Protege>ego8(IMO)
Protege=Alien 2010 Independence
Protege<ego9 and up
Protege>etek3 am
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Protege Intimidator very well though out gun, The milling is simple yet functional, and feels great in my hands. The performacne on it was exactly what i thought for a bob long. Downsize was the gun felt too light, just...
Report this review to a moderator   #21780
bronze
copper alloy
bronze's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: MI
bronze has been a member for 10 years
bronze donated to help Peyton Trent
bronze is playing at Living Legends XI
 is playing at Living Legends Dreaded
bronze is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $325.00
Pros: Performance
Cons: Wieght-Too light
very well though out gun, The milling is simple yet functional, and feels great in my hands. The performacne on it was exactly what i thought for a bob long. Downsize was the gun felt too light, just didn't balance right for me
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Protege Intimidator Protege is a great marker for beginners trying to get into speedball, With it upped it can shoot as well as a vice and is good on air .
Report this review to a moderator   #25911
ccollins1966
Awaiting Email Confirmation
ccollins1966's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Abilene Tx
ccollins1966 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
ccollins1966 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
ccollins1966 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Good on air, Good begginer gun
Cons: Milling is alittle cheap
Protege is a great marker for beginners trying to get into speedball, With it upped it can shoot as well as a vice and is good on air .
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Protege Intimidator Looks bad imo, but shoots great. Mkae sure to get an LPR tester.
Report this review to a moderator   #23188
Dshooter89
Don't Die, Have Fun.
Dshooter89's avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Dshooter89 has been a member for 10 years
Dshooter89 plays in the NXL
Dshooter89 donated to help Peyton Trent
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $699.99
Pros: Great Shooting
Cons: Looks
Looks bad imo, but shoots great. Mkae sure to get an LPR tester.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Protege Intimidator I love bob long guns! I have owned upwards of 10 timmys, I love most of the milling and accuracy of these guns.
Report this review to a moderator   #34390
DYECOCKERFAN
Heart > Skill
DYECOCKERFAN's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Louisiana
DYECOCKERFAN has been a member for 10 years
DYECOCKERFAN has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Quiet, reliable
Cons: little more kick than timmies
I love bob long guns! I have owned upwards of 10 timmys, I love most of the milling and accuracy of these guns.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Protege Intimidator not a bad backup gun If you have ever shot anything from another major manufacturer you wont choose this gun first.
Report this review to a moderator   #21841
gbaby19_2
Making a comeback
gbaby19_2's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Norman
gbaby19_2 helped look for balloons
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: reliable
Cons: chunky
not a bad backup gun
If you have ever shot anything from another major manufacturer you wont choose this gun first.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Protege Intimidator Pretty good gun Ive been using it for a few months and havent had that many problems. Really good with air get a few games with each tank. Pretty reliable and not that hard to maintain
Report this review to a moderator   #13380
I need a username
Shark Bait - Rawrrz
I need a username's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Santa Rosa, California
I need a username supports Team VICIOUS
I need a username has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
I need a username has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
I need a username has perfected Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
I need a username supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Lightweight, Nice look
Cons: Feed neck
Pretty good gun Ive been using it for a few months and havent had that many problems. Really good with air get a few games with each tank. Pretty reliable and not that hard to maintain
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Protege Intimidator These guns perform like work horses. Never went down on me, that's why I kept it as long as I did. Shoots great with no kick. Very efficient. And quiet as can be. Just not too easy on the eyes.
Report this review to a moderator   #36347
ItalianPrideYo
 
ItalianPrideYo's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VA BEACH!!!
ItalianPrideYo owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
ItalianPrideYo owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
ItalianPrideYo posts videos on PbNation
ItalianPrideYo has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
ItalianPrideYo has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Efficient
Cons: Kind of ugly
These guns perform like work horses. Never went down on me, that's why I kept it as long as I did. Shoots great with no kick. Very efficient. And quiet as can be. Just not too easy on the eyes.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Protege Intimidator
Report this review to a moderator   #33010
jleffler56
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: shoots great
Cons: appearence
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review