Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
HK Army - KLR Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
HK Army
1448 W. 178th St.
Gardena, CA 90247

Phone: (310) 660-7490
Email: [email protected]
Website: http://www.hkarmy.com
Composed of a robust blend of thermoplastic elastomer, the design of the KLR facemask protects critical areas of the user, while still promoting supreme breathability and freedom of movement. Featuring three co-molded HDPE inserts, the KLR goggle system can be customized to fit any customer's aesthetic desires.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2014
 MSRP: $124.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
 Reviews: 30
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  17%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  53%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  13%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  13%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
HK Army - KLR Reviews
HK Army KLR I used these mainly for recording play. In just over a month I went through lenses because the thermal layer separated. I also took one single shot to the nose and it broke. Not shattered but I...
Report this review to a moderator   #76089
cjm555
Some Say...
cjm555's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Dakota
cjm555 has been a member for 10 years
cjm555 is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Looks
Cons: Quality
I used these mainly for recording play. In just over a month I went through lenses because the thermal layer separated. I also took one single shot to the nose and it broke. Not shattered but I they cannot be used anymore.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
HK Army KLR Light weight mask, easy to remove lenses for a quick replacement or cleaning between games.
Report this review to a moderator   #87474
Claudio
Small is beautifull
Claudio's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Switzerland
Claudio has been a member for 10 years
Claudio supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: light, big lenses
Cons: price
Light weight mask, easy to remove lenses for a quick replacement or cleaning between games.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
HK Army KLR Recently picked up a KLR, and I love it. It fits great and looks awesome in my opinion. I have the smoke lens and even indoors it is great.
Report this review to a moderator   #83218
facemower14
THAT guy
facemower14's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wisconsin
facemower14 has been a member for 10 years
facemower14 plays in the PSP
facemower14 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
facemower14 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: fit, style, vision
Cons: hard plastic on front
Recently picked up a KLR, and I love it. It fits great and looks awesome in my opinion. I have the smoke lens and even indoors it is great.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
HK Army KLR The foam was a issue but HK services helps out and gave the new upgrade for free. I own 2 pairs and doesn't fog and no other problems.
Report this review to a moderator   #62761
marquez prime
 
marquez prime's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2014
marquez prime owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Style, light, and protected
Cons: Foam piece
The foam was a issue but HK services helps out and gave the new upgrade for free. I own 2 pairs and doesn't fog and no other problems.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
HK Army KLR Overall, I love the way this mask looks and feels. It is really comfortable and fits nice and snug so there's no fear of it coming off while playing. The lens is huge and I like that, but while I'm...
Report this review to a moderator   #86361
Melanson
 
Melanson's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Melanson owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Melanson owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Melanson has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Melanson has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Exposed
Overall, I love the way this mask looks and feels. It is really comfortable and fits nice and snug so there's no fear of it coming off while playing. The lens is huge and I like that, but while I'm wearing it I can't really notice how much bigger it is than other masks I've had. My field of vision hasn't really increased as much as I would have expected. Just like the Dye masks, the chin and neck can become very exposed with this mask, which can be a concern for some people. The way you can customize this mask though is awesome. There are many different colors available for the ears and the border of the lens, HK also has a ton of different straps and lens colors to choose from which is nice. For their first mask I love it, I'm excited to see where they go with it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
HK Army KLR My first impressions with this mask were very good. It looks and feels great. Very light weight and peripheral visability is excellent. However after the first time using it, problems emerged....
Report this review to a moderator   #81553
Moore92
The Beard is Strong
Moore92's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Toledo, Oh
Moore92 plays in the NXL
Moore92 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $135.00
Pros: Looks fantastic, very comfortable.
Cons: Poor performance
My first impressions with this mask were very good. It looks and feels great. Very light weight and peripheral visability is excellent. However after the first time using it, problems emerged.

First, the fog. Its horrible and totally inexcusable for this mask. I cant figure out if its lens design or poor ventilation. But ive tried 3 different lenses and they all fog.

I played on a rainy day and water got inbetween the duel pains on one lens, ruining it. I havent had that unique issue with any other mask.

I took a single shot in the soft ear and it shattered a brand new lens.

First day of play I lost both hk jewels on the sides.

The chin strap fell off between taking it out of the box and putting it in my gear bag.

I honestly wouldn't trust my safety to this mask. I have talked to others to see if I maybe got a dud, but with the exception of water inbetween the lenses, these are all common issues.

One common issue I didnt experience was the foam falling out. My foam was very soft and well secured.

It seems this mask follows a common HK trend, looks are more important than quality.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
HK Army KLR I got my KLR new at a discount (50%) from a major paintball retailer. As such, I did not have any predispositions regarding the quality of the mask when compared to money spent. The packaging for...
Report this review to a moderator   #86633
MotoMn121
Mr. Self Destruct
MotoMn121's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Savannah, GA
MotoMn121 has been a member for 10 years
MotoMn121 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: Looks great, good field of view
Cons: Foam feels cheap, fits loosely
I got my KLR new at a discount (50%) from a major paintball retailer. As such, I did not have any predispositions regarding the quality of the mask when compared to money spent.

The packaging for the KLR is fairly well put-together. The mask comes in a colorful, windowed, box that shows off not only the mask itself but HK's sense of style and focus on aesthetics. The box material wasn't a particularly thick cardstock, but was thicker and more rigid than a 3"x5" index card. The storage bag, chin strap, and manual were all loose inside the box, stuffed inside the middle of the mask - I would have liked to see these items separated from the mask by some kind of divider, or placed underneath the plastic 'stand' the mask sits on inside the box.

Once easily removed from the box without having to fight 1000 twist-ties, zip ties, etc., my first observation was just how darn good the mask looks up-close and in person. There are no obvious visible quality control issues regarding the molding of the mask, the lens, the strap, and so on. The black parts of the mask look black and not gray, and the colored accents are vibrant and all match each other as they should. My KLR came in the box with a smoked lens (a very nice touch) which showed no defects or optical distortion across the whole lens.

I had two concerns once I tried on the mask, one of which was a deal-breaker for me. My first concern was that so much of my own voice was reflected back to my ears inside the mask - more, it seemed, than was the case with the i4's that I had years ago. Compared to lower-end masks such as those you'd get at a big-box store or in a starter pack of some kind, I'm sure the KLR would show a huge improvement in acoustics.

My second concern was that the mask simply didn't fit me well. The contours of the mask, coupled by the small strip of what appeared to be very cheap foam, meant that I could not get the mask to sit properly on my face while simply standing still. Keeping my mask safely and comfortably on my face while playing a game would be impossible.

I think HK absolutely made the right aesthetic choices when designing the KLR - it's a mask that looks great and offers the user a wide variety of accent colors for customization. I WANT to love this mask, but unfortunately, without some changes to the contours of the mask where it meet the nose/cheekbones, and a serious upgrading of the foam, It'll have to be the mask I let all my friends use when they don't have their own.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
HK Army KLR I purchased my mask when they first came out. That first batch did have an issue with the foam falling off, which HK addressed and shipped me some new revised foam replacements. Besides that issue I...
Report this review to a moderator   #77385
NOBLE818
Pew! Pew!
NOBLE818's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: 818 California
NOBLE818 is playing at Living Legends VIII
NOBLE818 has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
NOBLE818 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $134.95
Pros: Looks, Color options
Cons: Foam comes unglued
I purchased my mask when they first came out. That first batch did have an issue with the foam falling off, which HK addressed and shipped me some new revised foam replacements. Besides that issue I have really enjoyed this mask. It fits my face perfectly. Its comfortable and I have had no issues with it fogging. I can hear good and people seem to have to problem hearing me.

Also theres tons of options for customization. Different colored ear pieces, straps, PVT locks and of course lenses.

If you have a big head, I guess this mask might not be the best choice, but it works for me!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
HK Army KLR I love the look of the Hk. Not proflex in my opinion but looks slick non the less. Very comfortable mask but I have to admit, it feels quite small to my face. My chin is hardly protected. I'll...
Report this review to a moderator   #86018
ShowMe482
The OG Godfather
ShowMe482's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Las Vegas
ShowMe482 is BST Trusted
ShowMe482 has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $140.00
Pros: Looks
Cons: Small Size
I love the look of the Hk. Not proflex in my opinion but looks slick non the less. Very comfortable mask but I have to admit, it feels quite small to my face. My chin is hardly protected. I'll continue to use it but may only use as a backup
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
HK Army KLR I picked up one of these masks because I really enjoyed the way they look. I should have tried it one before, but I bought it used on here. The vision is great, but I found the mask hard to breath in...
Report this review to a moderator   #78194
xPBxFREAKx
Pro Edge Army
xPBxFREAKx's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Houston
xPBxFREAKx has been a member for 10 years
xPBxFREAKx plays in the PSP
xPBxFREAKx supports Team VICIOUS
xPBxFREAKx is an NCPA player
xPBxFREAKx is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $70.00
Pros: Decent vision
Cons: Breathability
I picked up one of these masks because I really enjoyed the way they look. I should have tried it one before, but I bought it used on here. The vision is great, but I found the mask hard to breath in and noticed all of my communication echoed very badly. I'd stick with a V-Force mask personally.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review