Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Virtue Paintball - Spire Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Virtue Paintball
40-14 Oser Avenue
Hauppauge, NY 11788

Fax: (631) 617-5349
Email: [email protected]
Website: http://www.virtuepaintball.com
The Virtue Spire is the next generation in loader technology with a shot activated sensor, jam-proof feeding system and a tool-less design that can be taken apart and reassembled in seconds. Not only is the Spire an aggressive, lightweight, and compact design, but it also holds more paint than the leading competitors.
 Manual: Download the manual for Virtue Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2012
 MSRP: $185.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 180
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  59%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  36%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Virtue Paintball - Spire Reviews
Virtue Paintball Spire Love this loader! Reliable, easy to use and maintain!
Report this review to a moderator   #90395
djoapplejuice
Oddball
djoapplejuice's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arkansas
djoapplejuice plays in the MiLP
djoapplejuice owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
djoapplejuice plays in the APPA D5 division
djoapplejuice has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Reliable
Cons: None that I know of
Love this loader! Reliable, easy to use and maintain!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire ive only used my spire like twice, but so far so good. disassembly is extremely easy for cleaning and putting speed feeds in. Ive been shooting extremely brittle paint through it and no jams or...
Report this review to a moderator   #32675
DLeonetti55
 
DLeonetti55's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NJ
DLeonetti55 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
DLeonetti55 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
DLeonetti55 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $170.00
Pros: looks, disassembly, profile, anti-jam
Cons: could have been cheaper
ive only used my spire like twice, but so far so good. disassembly is extremely easy for cleaning and putting speed feeds in. Ive been shooting extremely brittle paint through it and no jams or breaks. and its alot quieter than the rotor.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire ***THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE SPIRE III*** Having used my spire 260 for the good portion of two years or so, it was time for an upgrade. Having switch to a lead position now, I needed to switch to a...
Report this review to a moderator   #89458
dmk
How do I turn this on?
dmk's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NY
dmk has been a member for 10 years
dmk has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $175.00
Pros: Excellent tool less design
Cons: Price of hopper, and speed feed. On button issues.
***THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE SPIRE III***

Having used my spire 260 for the good portion of two years or so, it was time for an upgrade. Having switch to a lead position now, I needed to switch to a smaller hopper.

After going through all the choices out today, and having used the spire 260 I decided on the Spire III. Man am I happy with that decision.

Pros:

Despite holding 30 less paintballs than the 260, the weight and profile of the Spire III more than makes up for it. Either way you're most likely podding at the point where 30 paintballs don't make a difference.

The design of the shell is great. No need to worry about clips or screws when you have to field strip the hopper. The hinge part itself is also very well made. It's very sturdy and I've taken my fair share of hits directly to it and nothing seems to faze it. Virtue got rid of the back shell part which was made out of plastic that was not as strong as the shell itself. The Spire III top shell is now made of mostly that durable plastic and now only has two windows built into the shell. The result is a very durable upper that can take close range hits.

The loading tray keeps a similar design to the spire before it but maybe it's new but this thing feeds much better than the old spire. While the old spire tray was good, this one feels much more improved. The feeding cone is also held in by a magnet which makes removing it easier than the old one. I was concerned that maybe the cone would get lose and won't feed after a hard dive but after playing and practicing with it I'm glad that is not an issue.

A cool feature I like is the app you can get for the hopper. The app may come off as a gimmick to some but the ability to change settings without having to remember blinks is amazing. It also future proofs the hopper since it can update the firmware via bluetooth.

Another thing I realized about this hopper is that if you're into mechanical play, or pump, you can just take the tray out of the Spire III and use it as a regular gravity feed hopper.

Cons:

One of the biggest issue I have with this hopper is the price. The entire hopper has a good amount of features and it is a great performer but with a starting price of $199.95 plus $39.95 for a speed feed (at the time of this writing) makes it a $240 purchase that would require more thought.

While this is not an issue for me, I should note that some of the older spire III had button issues. Sometimes the on button would not work, or sometimes the hopper would be on and you can't turn it off until you take the tray out and turn it off. I have heard that virtue does offer a free replacement button.

Another gripe I have with the hopper is the speed feed itself. As stated before the price is high compared to other speed feeds, but the other issue I have with it is the durability of the teeth of the speed feed. I took a direct shot to the the speed feed and I ended up losing one of the teeth. So now whenever I have my marker placed on its side I lose a few paintballs. I would prefer they make the speed feed a bit more durable, and also decrease the price.


With all said and done, the Spire III is a high end performing hopper with a price to match its performance. If you can stomach the price I would highly recommend it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire Lightweight. Never jams. Fairly easy to disassemble. Rather expensive with the ramp and speed feed. Better than the competition overall, but not worth the premium over a Rotor LTR.
Report this review to a moderator   #87153
dreadmuppet
Reeks of class
dreadmuppet's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dela-where?
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: never jams
Cons: expensive
Lightweight. Never jams. Fairly easy to disassemble. Rather expensive with the ramp and speed feed. Better than the competition overall, but not worth the premium over a Rotor LTR.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire great only had one problem for all the time i had it
Report this review to a moderator   #69657
drew47471
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: works great
Cons: one piece cracked
great only had one problem for all the time i had it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire I picked up my spire 200 and have been very impressed with it. It comes apart easy enough, which makes cleaning a breeze. It's very good on batteries, has a small profile, it has never jammed on me....
Report this review to a moderator   #65449
dubv187
Inglewood
dubv187's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
dubv187 has been a member for 10 years
dubv187 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
dubv187 is an NCPA player
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: fast, comes apart easily, small, light, reliable
Cons: $$$$$$$$
I picked up my spire 200 and have been very impressed with it. It comes apart easy enough, which makes cleaning a breeze. It's very good on batteries, has a small profile, it has never jammed on me. Only complaint I have is that it is very expensive, but I believe you get what you pay for. Best loader on the market.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire To start off, I think I have one of the defected spires. Pros: This thing will feed as fast as anyone can shoot With its sleek design, it is very easy to see around, and even easier to clean off. A...
Report this review to a moderator   #43896
D_Boy_21
 
D_Boy_21's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Utah
D_Boy_21 plays in the PSP
D_Boy_21 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
D_Boy_21 plays in the APPA beginner division
D_Boy_21 has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Sleek design, always a ball when I need it
Cons: Constantly pulses
To start off, I think I have one of the defected spires.

Pros:
This thing will feed as fast as anyone can shoot
With its sleek design, it is very easy to see around, and even easier to clean off. A simple wipe and you're good to go
Very easily field strippable. With the toolless design, you can pull it apart and clean out any mess made during a game.

Cons:
*Disclaimer* this may be due to a defect, but my spire is constantly agitating. It never stops trying to feed a ball. I play pump so this sound can sometimes ruin my ninja sneak attacks

Overall:
I am very happy with this loader and am completely satisfied with my purchase. If I had the choice, I would buy another one.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire other than the rotor, this is my only hopper. i prefer it to the rotor now and have more or less transitioned completely to the spire. i love the ability to swap lids and sf quickly. teardown is...
Report this review to a moderator   #88769
ekkthree
Covid - free
ekkthree's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Dirty Air
ekkthree owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
ekkthree plays in the APPA D5 division
ekkthree has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: it just works
Cons: stains
other than the rotor, this is my only hopper. i prefer it to the rotor now and have more or less transitioned completely to the spire.
i love the ability to swap lids and sf quickly. teardown is easy, albeit lame if you want to split the shell. color kits are aplenty, but the colored strip that goes around the perimeter is silly weak. it cracks very easily when wiping when off the body. white bodies will retain paint color and will require a good cleaning after a day of play.
this has some settings you can play with, but for the most part stock everything is the way to go.

the crown sf is the best out there. nothing compares, even the newer ones.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire So upon returning to the sport in 2013, I picked up a whole new gear setup and bought a Rotor because I've always liked Dye hardgoods (aside from their guns anyway). Despite never having a problem...
Report this review to a moderator   #66473
Erok
<-- BS 180 tail
Erok's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alaska
Erok has been a member for 10 years
Erok plays in the NXL
Erok owns a Planet Eclipse CSR
Erok has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Erok has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Erok has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Erok has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $175.00
Pros: Lightweight, low profile, never jams, peripherals
Cons: "Unbundled" peripherals upset some people
So upon returning to the sport in 2013, I picked up a whole new gear setup and bought a Rotor because I've always liked Dye hardgoods (aside from their guns anyway). Despite never having a problem with my Rotor, I decided to pick up a Spire towards the end of last season. I had really come to appreciate Virtue's business practices in releasing well thought out, high quality products with extreme focus on their consumer's wants. The Spire certainly didn't disappoint.

As far as loaders fundamental purpose of loading paintballs goes, I'd say the Spire and Rotor (or Rotor 2) are in the top of their class, and really quite comparable in that respect. But where I think the Spire really separates itself is in its peripherals. Virtue without a doubt engineered the best speedfeed on the market with the Crown SF. Not only are the spring loaded fins worlds better than any other speedfeed, the simple interchangeable housing that can be swapped back out for the standard rain lid is a really great design. Additionally, the spring ramp for the Spire is a nice add-on, and personally I like that Virtue kept their peripherals unbundled from the loader itself. That way they can keep the price down for those that don't want all the bells and whistles, but also have a nice offering of extras for those of us that want all the best tech. I could go on and on about the lightweight and low profile design, anti-jam features and so on but it's been said countless times.

The only real complaint I will make note of is that it is somewhat obnoxious to me coming from a Rotor to have a loader constantly "revving" when not completely full while you're on the field. The Rotor of course does spin endlessly when empty but I find the revving of the Spire to be more annoying.

The last thing I want to talk about is Virtue's customer service. Second to none. The only recurring design complaint I've seen about the Spire was the backplate that housed the power button, led light, and locking switch. It was brittle and had lots of individual pieces built into it. Virtue recently released a new, improved backplate that all Spire owners can obtain for free - just $8 flat rate for shipping. I've already installed mine and it is a well constructed and effective update.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Virtue Paintball Spire The spire has been a great hopper with a small profile. I have used it on the field several times and have used it during tournaments. The only problem I have had is that the accents have started to...
Report this review to a moderator   #44247
Evan15549
 
Evan15549's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: 54880
Evan15549 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $115.00
Pros: Great Build
Cons: Weak Accents
The spire has been a great hopper with a small profile. I have used it on the field several times and have used it during tournaments. The only problem I have had is that the accents have started to peel off. Would recommend this if it can be found for a low price.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review