Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena Information
Field Information Field Description Edit
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena
2220 East Ovid Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50313

Phone: (515) 282-9089
Heated indoor paintball field located in Des Moines, Iowa
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Reviews: 33
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  18%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  76%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena Reviews
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena if it weren't for the slick floor and bunkers that consistently lose air. Just a couple of the bunkers need repaired/replaced. Its a very fun place to play and there is great people around to help...
Report this review to a moderator   #43409
jfender04
 
jfender04's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: clarion iowa
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: good atmosphere
Cons: slick floor and some popped bunkers
if it weren't for the slick floor and bunkers that consistently lose air. Just a couple of the bunkers need repaired/replaced. Its a very fun place to play and there is great people around to help the new player out.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena Great place but very dirty, but I still play there 24/7
Report this review to a moderator   #68441
Jmersch4
Jmersch4's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: iowa
Jmersch4 is playing at Living Legends VIII
Jmersch4 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Jmersch4 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: very nice people, great competition there
Cons: nasty dirty, don't clean it, and expensive!!!
Great place but very dirty, but I still play there 24/7
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena Currently deployed so it's been some time I've played at ICU but before I left it was still the sawdust/hard floor. Not bad, really. Apparently while I've been over here they have installed some...
Report this review to a moderator   #36783
KurtPB
iLurk
KurtPB's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Iowa
KurtPB has been a member for 10 years
KurtPB is playing at Living Legends VI
KurtPB is playing at Living Legends VII
KurtPB is playing at Living Legends IX
KurtPB is playing at Living Legends X
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great Service and Atmosphere
Cons: One field/size
Currently deployed so it's been some time I've played at ICU but before I left it was still the sawdust/hard floor. Not bad, really. Apparently while I've been over here they have installed some turf so the above comment is outdated. Great owners/operators that are willing to help you out the best they can and earn your repeat business. You won't regret taking your business here, especially during the winter months.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena So far I don't have anything negative to say about this place other than the lighting. The filed is great, a little on the small side but it's enough to have your fun. My only real complaint is that...
Report this review to a moderator   #41552
McGridDLe
Blackbeard's Delight
McGridDLe's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Altoona, Iowa
McGridDLe owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
McGridDLe has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
McGridDLe has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
McGridDLe supports Empire
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Indoor, Controled Environment
Cons: Lighting
So far I don't have anything negative to say about this place other than the lighting. The filed is great, a little on the small side but it's enough to have your fun. My only real complaint is that the lighting is a little dim. If you typically wear smoked/mirror lenses for outdoor play you should consider swapping to your stock clear lense before playing here because it is darker than it should be on the field.

Staff was awesome, I have never seen anyone be mistreated by them. And some are also very knowlegable about paintball guns. I've seen a few of them helping out the younger players that know nothing about the new speedball guns they just bought.

Can't say enough good things about Todd the owner. Went in to have my gun looked at because I haven't played with it in 5+ years. It was leaking everywhere and I decided I would much rather take it in than waste hours rebuilding it myself. Had a good conversation with him, and I like the way he does business. He will get you anything you could want and he will price match so don't think you're doing yourself a favor by buying the cheapest stuff you can find on the internet. He will also warranty his stuff. He really took the time to just sit and BS with me about paintball. He doesn't act like he has a million other things to do, he will interact and figure out what is best for you and get you what you need rather than trying to sell you on $1300 guns. Also his prices for working on guns is EXTREMELY fair. I didn't know what to expect going into it but the price he gave me was much much much lower than I had expected.

5 stars for these guys. Can't wait to go back!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena Anyone in Iowa will attest to there being a lack of fields, so with that in mind they are probably the best indoor place around Des Moines to go. Unfortunately, I'm from Chicago and am used to...
Report this review to a moderator   #39498
mvonlehe
 
mvonlehe's avatar
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Palatine, IL
mvonlehe is an NCPA player
mvonlehe plays in the APPA D4 division
mvonlehe has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: nice bunkers, great staging area, location
Cons: slippery turf, cost
Anyone in Iowa will attest to there being a lack of fields, so with that in mind they are probably the best indoor place around Des Moines to go. Unfortunately, I'm from Chicago and am used to Badlandz, Chicagoland, Fox, etc, so my ratings are a little tough. They are also taking into account all fields, not just other indoor fields. Kinda comparing apples & oranges, but I tried to be fair.

Customer service: Big plus, very helpful guys, not a whole lot to elaborate on.

Quality of Fields: The bunkers are great, everything physical there is in wonderful condition. But with a lot of indoor fields, the turf is like playing on an ice rink. Not the worst I've played on, but I have seen other indoor fields that do a better job. I really don't know if there are reasonable ways to fight this, but compared to an outdoor field, there is no comparison.

Fun: I love paintball, hard not to have fun playing. But almost slipping and falling on your a$$ every time you try to run and stop hurts that a little.

Value: Again, I'm used to more competitive prices, entry is average but the vastly overpriced case of mid-grade paint you have to buy always bugs me.

Conclusion, if you live around Des Moines and it's raining, winter, or 90+ degrees, go here. No question. If it's a nice summer day, not even the best indoor field would compare to real grass
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena Always had a great time at the field, no complaints
Report this review to a moderator   #84530
NewSchoolBaller
 
NewSchoolBaller's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Burlington, Iowa
NewSchoolBaller plays in the APPA D4 division
NewSchoolBaller has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Good Field
Cons: nothing yet
Always had a great time at the field, no complaints
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena good field with good players. I really like the turf but the bunkers are usually flat
Report this review to a moderator   #40801
scrubstatus
 
scrubstatus's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2013
scrubstatus has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
scrubstatus has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: location
Cons: bunkers are flat
good field with good players. I really like the turf but the bunkers are usually flat
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena It's a great place to go out with your friends for a fun day of rec. only thing I dislike about the place is the turf is extremely slippery. Besides that, Great job Todd
Report this review to a moderator   #41752
tacopizzaninja
 
tacopizzaninja's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Iowa
tacopizzaninja is playing at Living Legends VII
tacopizzaninja owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
tacopizzaninja has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
tacopizzaninja has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Indoor. Heated and Cooled, Great Staff
Cons: Very slippery turf. Lazy with bunkers
It's a great place to go out with your friends for a fun day of rec. only thing I dislike about the place is the turf is extremely slippery. Besides that, Great job Todd
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena Over all this field a good field. There are a few things that need to be addressed. 1) Fills need to be up to 4500. I was shooting through a tank of air a game. I don't want to fill every...
Report this review to a moderator   #35633
ThisWontHurt
Official MidWest Streamer
ThisWontHurt's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Madison, NE
ThisWontHurt supports Team VICIOUS
ThisWontHurt supports Team VICIOUS
ThisWontHurt posts videos on PbNation
ThisWontHurt plays in the APPA beginner division
ThisWontHurt has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
ThisWontHurt has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great Staff, Good Refs, Indoor, Clean, Pro Shop
Cons: Won't fill past 2700,
Over all this field a good field. There are a few things that need to be addressed.

1) Fills need to be up to 4500. I was shooting through a tank of air a game. I don't want to fill every game.
2) Have to have field staff disassemble your gun. After 10 years in the sport I find this a very demeaning rule because I am perfectly capable of disassembling my own gun.
3) Not sure who the guy in the apron was but the way he was talking to the 11 year old kid was excessively negative. I've played at most of the Nebraska fields and a few in other states. I have had to remind renters about mask and barrel bags. But to spend almost 10 minutes lecturing an 11 year old for forgetting twice in my option is excessive and uncalled for. I know I have reminded people more that twice but never had to say more that remember your bag or mask.
4) The refs need to be more proactive in keeping bunkers inflated. Several staff member said that the owner has instructed them to let bunkers deflate and only inflate them on busy days when a player requests it. Bunkers should always be inflated.

Okay that's my two cents on what the field needs to change to earn a 4+ star rating lets talk about what they have going for them that is good.

First thing I noticed when I walked in the door is a very friendly staff (they later came out and talked more in depth with me). I only ran into one player in almost 6 hours who was actually what I would call a dick which speaks loads for the players who play there (the players a re good people.) The Pro Shop on site is a nice touch. The refs keep the games moving and do paint check players to make sure there is no cheating. The staging area is very clean which is nice.

Over all check the field out. It is a decent place to play on a cold winter day.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena Field is conveniently located in central Des Moines. Staff are friendly and helpful. Being indoors is nice, especially with Iowa winters, which allows for year round play. Great place for beginners...
Report this review to a moderator   #85858
twisted_58
Back in Action
twisted_58's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Burbs
twisted_58 has been a member for 10 years
twisted_58 plays in the NXL
twisted_58 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
twisted_58 plays in the APPA D4 division
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Indoor, good value, pro shop
Cons: Smaller field, a bit slimy
Field is conveniently located in central Des Moines. Staff are friendly and helpful. Being indoors is nice, especially with Iowa winters, which allows for year round play. Great place for beginners or others new to the sport. Also there is a fairly large gun owner/experienced player base for those looking to come and join a few pick up games.

Pro shop in the building has lots to offer. Gun/equipment repairs are available.

Field is a bit messy and lighting makes clear/light tinted lenses a must.

Overall a great place to play if you have a Saturday or Sunday to burn.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review