Sim-5 and Sim-5N - PbNation
Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

 
Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 10-03-2004, 01:11 PM #1
Scion
 
 
Scion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ohio
 has been a member for 10 years
Question Sim-5 and Sim-5N

Hey, I was just wondering what the difference was between the Sim-5 and the Sim-5N. The only difference that I can tell is cosmetic. Also where is the ASA on these guns, I cant find any pictures that show Co2 or nitrogen tanks screwed in. Thanks
Scion is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 10-03-2004, 01:21 PM #2
Vlar
 
 
Vlar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
The only difference between the Sim-5 and the Sim-5n is the front hand grip. The Sim-5 has a larger grip with weaver rails on the left and right sides and also the bottom. The Sim-5n has a grip that slopsed up to the barrel.

The ASA is in front of the trigger on the trigger assembly. There is an opening on the bottom at the very front of the trigger assembly. Is allows a remote system to be screwed in or a tank vertically.

There are no bottom line adapters available for the Sim-5 currently because they are in development of a clip kit which will allow you to give your marker a more realistic loop and connect a remote line much lower on the marker. I hope this answers your questions. Feel free to ask more, we will answer everything we can.
Vlar is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 01:25 PM #3
Scion
 
 
Scion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ohio
 has been a member for 10 years
Thanks, I wasn't expecting something that quick.
Scion is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 01:33 PM #4
Vlar
 
 
Vlar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
You just caught me as I was checking up on my forums.

Are you looking into getting a Sim-5? I have one and I must say that it is one of the best markers I have ever used.

Like I said, feel free to ask any more questions, we will answer them to be best of our ability.
Vlar is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 06:31 PM #5
Scion
 
 
Scion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ohio
 has been a member for 10 years
Not really, I dont have anywhere near enough money. Just dreaming.
Scion is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 10:16 PM #6
Scion
 
 
Scion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ohio
 has been a member for 10 years
I just thought of a few questions:

Does the hopper sit in the normal place?
Is it vertical or power feed?
Do you need an elbow?
Is the setup comfortable (grips and stuff)?
How do you cock it?
Hows the gas efficiency?
Can you field strip it?
Is it easy to maintain?

Thanks

Last edited by Scion : 10-08-2004 at 10:22 PM.
Scion is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 10:51 PM #7
THE KAMKA
I need about Tree Fiddy
 
THE KAMKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Flawduh
 has been a member for 10 years
THE KAMKA has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
THE KAMKA has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
THE KAMKA has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
hopper is in front right where hand guards start...
power feed
elbow needed
from my understadin it is very comfty
it is cocked on the front top rail...there is a cocking knob there, and pull it back...just like the real mp5...
i dont know about gas efficiency
can be field stripped from my unerstanding
dont know about maintainances....
__________________
Sexy gloss black ninja mechmag and a ws66 m4
THE KAMKA is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 12:17 AM #8
Robotech
 
 
Robotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: So. Cal.
 has been a member for 10 years
Robotech is attending Decay of Nations VII
Maintenance is just like any other blow back style marker. Lube and go after every day of play or after its been sitting a while. Fairly easy to strip, but if you need to swab the receiver you're going to need tools. Barrel is easy to remove, pop a pin out and you're good to go. But to get to the internals you have to remove the stock (2 screws), the top rail (2 more screws), the connecting pin (one set screw, a pair of pliers and a WHOLE lot of elbow grease), and then everything will come out. Of course you may need to reset your velocity adjustment unless you can get that cap out without removing the velocity adjustment screw.
Robotech is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 05:46 PM #9
Scion
 
 
Scion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ohio
 has been a member for 10 years
Thanks, I'm still a bit confused about the cocking though.
Scion is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 05:24 PM #10
Armorer
 
 
Armorer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: U.S.
 has been a member for 10 years
The cocking lever is in the same position as the real MP5k.
__________________
I am Hermes. I became tamed by devouring my own wings.
Armorer is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 07:19 PM #11
Scion
 
 
Scion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ohio
 has been a member for 10 years
Which is...?
Scion is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 07:53 PM #12
Maximus_AR
 
 
Maximus_AR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Colorado
 has been a member for 10 years
Here take a look at this thread on the ariakon forum. If you scroll down to the third post by DevilDog the third picture shows the cocking lever and the track that it runs along. The cocking lever sits just above the handgaurd and just below the barrel of the marker. The lever moves towards the rear of the markers or to the right of the picture to cock and than goes back to its resting position like in the picture.

http://forum.ariakon.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=1448&PN=1
__________________
Proud Sim 5 owner!

OAKOC
Observation and fields of fire
Avenues of approach
Key terrain
Obstacles
Cover and concealment

Last edited by Maximus_AR : 10-10-2004 at 07:56 PM.
Maximus_AR is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 07:30 PM #13
Scion
 
 
Scion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ohio
 has been a member for 10 years
Thanks Maximus I think I get it now. So the cocking lever is near the front of the gun?
Scion is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 07:49 PM #14
Maximus_AR
 
 
Maximus_AR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Colorado
 has been a member for 10 years
Yep, if you look at the front of the marker the lever sits about an inch back from the barrel retaining pin. If you looking for where it is in relation to the handgaurd it is at about half down it and several mm above it. just take a look at the pics i linked you to my previous post and you'll find it. The lever sits right where the real MP5 lever sits i think, so if you find and airsoft modles or real modles of the MP5 you see the general location.
__________________
Proud Sim 5 owner!

OAKOC
Observation and fields of fire
Avenues of approach
Key terrain
Obstacles
Cover and concealment
Maximus_AR is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 10:09 PM #15
Ghostteam
Recon squad
 
Ghostteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
 has been a member for 10 years
I have a Sim 5 and love it. It's great (light in weight, accurate, and easy to maintained). Depends how big are your hands you may think you have a problem with the trigger locking up. It's actually user error, that's me. I keep accidentally nudging the the safety a little bit which locks up the trigger when firing. I corrected my grip and now I fire without having any problems. I bought mine on ebay at a steal.
__________________
"Aim small, miss small"
Ghostteam is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 11:04 PM #16
Robotech
 
 
Robotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: So. Cal.
 has been a member for 10 years
Robotech is attending Decay of Nations VII
Glad to hear it Ghost. Have you been over to the Ariakon forum yet? Nice group we have over there. I seem to have seen you over there before but memory fails me at the moment...a lot of moments...more like almost all the time kind of moments...
Robotech is offline  
 




Posting Rules
Forum Jump