Hard drive space question... - PbNation
Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

 
Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 01-10-2002, 04:18 PM #1
strubbe
Team Predator Young Blood
 
strubbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
 has been a member for 10 years
Hard drive space question...

Hey guys... I just got a new computer, an HP, and it's advertised as having a 40 gig hard drive. When I go to my computer, and hit properties for the hard drive, it says its capacity is 32.8 gigs... What's going on here?
Thanks.
strubbe is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 01-10-2002, 04:41 PM #2
Dead_Head
Looking beyond...
 
Dead_Head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Washington
 has been a member for 10 years
They tell you it has 40 gigabites and windows shows you how many gigabytes it has. Since gigabits are bigger then gigabytes it seems less in windows. I might have got the names mixed up... I am really tired.
__________________
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Grateful Dead Rocks!

"Do not trust a swimming dolphin without his fins"
Dead_Head is offline  
Old 01-10-2002, 07:32 PM #3
strubbe
Team Predator Young Blood
 
strubbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
 has been a member for 10 years
Hmm... Alright thanks, that clears it up somewhat. I can't belive I'ved used up almost half my hard drive already, especially after installing only like 5 programs: DF2, paint shop pro 7, my digital camera software, and some other smaller stuff for burning dreamcast games... Oh well. Thanks again.
strubbe is offline  
Old 01-10-2002, 07:49 PM #4
dzhezKov
одиH
 
dzhezKov's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Cocoa Beach, Fl.
dzhezKov is a Supporting Member
dzhezKov is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
A hard drives space is always advertized as an unformatted size. Anytime you format a drive it will lower the drives capacity, depending on the cluster size, you can specify the cluster size if you know what you are doing before you install the OS, or if you convert file system types.

I have a RAID array with 2 40G hard drives and I have 75.9G available after format.
__________________
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

"I've seen much of the world... It is brutal, and cruel, and dark."
dzhezKov is offline  
Old 01-10-2002, 08:13 PM #5
strubbe
Team Predator Young Blood
 
strubbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
 has been a member for 10 years
I've never formatted it, and the OS came already installed on my computer (windows XP)... Thanks...
strubbe is offline  
Old 01-10-2002, 08:25 PM #6
Darth Bagel
read. comprehend. post.
 
Darth Bagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Darth Bagel is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
then it came formatted. trust me, unformatted hard drive space is... difficult to access.

isnt there something like a gigabyte is a little more than 1 billion bytes, but the advertisers say a gig is 1 billion bytes, and advertise accordingly?
__________________
the door is open
Darth Bagel is offline  
Old 01-10-2002, 08:37 PM #7
dzhezKov
одиH
 
dzhezKov's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Cocoa Beach, Fl.
dzhezKov is a Supporting Member
dzhezKov is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
Nope, Giga is a multiplier *x109 sorry for the bad scientific notation, the nine should be higher on the ten but whatever. A gigabyte is a billion bytes.
__________________
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

"I've seen much of the world... It is brutal, and cruel, and dark."
dzhezKov is offline  
Old 01-10-2002, 11:38 PM #8
Dead_Head
Looking beyond...
 
Dead_Head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Washington
 has been a member for 10 years
yea but what is a gigabite?
__________________
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Grateful Dead Rocks!

"Do not trust a swimming dolphin without his fins"
Dead_Head is offline  
Old 01-11-2002, 04:59 AM #9
xAskingForItx
2k1er n00btastic
 
xAskingForItx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WA
xAskingForItx is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
it could be a partition problem, my brother crashed his hd so my dad bought him a new 40 gig, after they got win2k installed it only showed as 2gig, so of course i had to come along fdisk/format and they re did it again, this time its at 32 gig of 40 the other 8 went to a virtualdrive somewhere in installation i believe, not worth getthing the 8 gigs back to reinstall, not right now lol
xAskingForItx is offline  
Old 01-11-2002, 07:28 AM #10
dzhezKov
одиH
 
dzhezKov's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Cocoa Beach, Fl.
dzhezKov is a Supporting Member
dzhezKov is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally posted by Dead_Head
yea but what is a gigabite?
A demonic creature with a billion jagged teeth that take a big chunk out of your behind when you ask silly questions.
__________________
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

"I've seen much of the world... It is brutal, and cruel, and dark."
dzhezKov is offline  
Old 01-11-2002, 11:38 AM #11
Darth Bagel
read. comprehend. post.
 
Darth Bagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Darth Bagel is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
yes, i know giga is just a multiplier prefix thingie, but i could swear ive seen it written out in bytes, and its not exactly 1.e9

and the easy way to write out a power is 10^9 (learned from the first of my beautiful pair of ti-89's too bad one of them is gonna have to go back to my calc teacher at the end of this year.)
__________________
the door is open
Darth Bagel is offline  
Old 01-11-2002, 12:40 PM #12
dzhezKov
одиH
 
dzhezKov's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Cocoa Beach, Fl.
dzhezKov is a Supporting Member
dzhezKov is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
Those calculators are the devil! The devil!!
__________________
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

"I've seen much of the world... It is brutal, and cruel, and dark."
dzhezKov is offline  
Old 01-11-2002, 03:53 PM #13
Chad0989
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Darien, NY
 has been a member for 10 years
It sounds like you got a smaller drive than what was advertised or you have an unformatted partition somewhere or leftover space thats not in a partition. What you want to do is get into dos with a bootdisk with fdisk on it and run fdisk. It will tell you how much space is on the drive and what partitions you have. If there is more than 1 partition or space leftover in no partition, you have two choices, put the extra space into a partition and format it, or you can delete both partitions and make one big one, format it and reinstall windows, but you will lose all your existing data. Now, the explination on why when you buy a 40gig drive does it say 40gig but windows only recognizes it as lets say 37gig. This is because the manufacturer uses the decimal system to advertise the space on the drive, this is where 1000 bytes equals a kilobyte and 1,000,000 bytes is equivilent to a megabyte. When you put the drive into your computer, windows recognizes the space on the drive in the binary system where there are 1024 bytes in a kilobyte and 1,048,576 bytes in a megabyte. Therefore the 40 decimal gigabytes on the harddrive is equivilent to 37.25 binary gigabytes.
Chad0989 is offline  
Old 01-11-2002, 04:50 PM #14
strubbe
Team Predator Young Blood
 
strubbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
 has been a member for 10 years
The most computer stuff I do has to do with installing software, and making webpages lol... I'm not gonna mess with the internals just yet. Thanks again though.
strubbe is offline  
Old 01-12-2002, 04:03 AM #15
Dead_Head
Looking beyond...
 
Dead_Head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Washington
 has been a member for 10 years
bites and bytes are different.
__________________
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Grateful Dead Rocks!

"Do not trust a swimming dolphin without his fins"
Dead_Head is offline  
Old 01-12-2002, 10:14 AM #16
dzhezKov
одиH
 
dzhezKov's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Cocoa Beach, Fl.
dzhezKov is a Supporting Member
dzhezKov is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
No, Bits and Bytes are different, a Bite is when someone misspelled Byte.
__________________
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

"I've seen much of the world... It is brutal, and cruel, and dark."
dzhezKov is offline  
Old 01-12-2002, 01:52 PM #17
Dead_Head
Looking beyond...
 
Dead_Head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Washington
 has been a member for 10 years
What if I misspelled bit?
__________________
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Grateful Dead Rocks!

"Do not trust a swimming dolphin without his fins"
Dead_Head is offline  
 




Posting Rules
Forum Jump