Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Old 11-13-2013, 03:37 PM #1
Tobeyj99

Question Airsoft to paintball mod

Hey pbnation! I was thinking about buying a cheap airsoft gun and modding it to fit 98 custom internals. The reason I'm using a 98 and a cheap airsoft gun is because I've never done this before and if I screw up it won't be so bad. If you guys have any recommendations for a cheap airsoft gun to use for the modding please tell reply what they are! Who knows if all goes well I might start making more and selling them.
Tobeyj99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 11-13-2013, 04:57 PM #2
Robotech

has been a member for 10 years
Robotech is attending Decay of Nations VII
Really, it depends on what gun you want to do. For me, I wanted an MP5 looking marker. At the time (2006ish?) Ariakon came out with the SIM5 which was a take on the MP5. In the image below it's the top marker.

As you can see though, it wasn't the traditional MP5 look that we're all more familiar with. It had no mag, a funky front shroud, and the solid stock. Good news was it was CLOSE to the MP5 in scale. So, I decided to do what you're thinking about doing. I got some Airsoft parts and went to town.

Let me just say a few things. In the first picture I have my mk 1 mag mod and, up close, it looked like crap. The air adaptor that went in the receiver was huge and I had to bang and bend the mag to get it to fit around it. Far away, like in the above picture, it looked great. Up close it was just azz. So I went with a mk 2 version where I actually had a part made to fit up in the receiver, was much narrower and replacing the stock ASA, and allowed the mag to slide over it without modification. That is what it looked like below.