Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-17-2014, 10:23 PM #1
inferno2inferno
 
 
inferno2inferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Wifi Range Extenders Question

So due to uneven wifi coverage in my house I installed a range extender thinking it would solve the problem. However, I noticed that after getting it up and running that my tablet would no longer get internet access from the original access point, only the one generated from the extender. Is this normal? Does the extender basically takeover your connectivity from your original router?
__________________
You do not know what you do not know
inferno2inferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 09-17-2014, 10:32 PM #2
Oedipus
god save captain slow
 
Oedipus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Butts
Oedipus supports DLX Technology
Does the extender have its own wireless network name? I've seen some that broadcast "networkname_EXT" or something along those lines.
__________________
ST:Tech -- Three solid failures away from emptying large quantities of ammunition into a daycare.
Oedipus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 10:37 PM #3
inferno2inferno
 
 
inferno2inferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Yes it does it's suffix is RE. The RE network is all that works for my tablet for some reason.
__________________
You do not know what you do not know
inferno2inferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 10:43 PM #4
Oedipus
god save captain slow
 
Oedipus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Butts
Oedipus supports DLX Technology
So you can still see the original network name, you just can't connect to it?
__________________
ST:Tech -- Three solid failures away from emptying large quantities of ammunition into a daycare.
Oedipus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 07:09 AM #5
inferno2inferno
 
 
inferno2inferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Yes I can see the original network name and you can connect to it but will have no internet access from it.
__________________
You do not know what you do not know
inferno2inferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 10:51 AM #6
Rockin' a EGO =]
Let Miley Twerk
 
Rockin' a EGO =]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oregon
Rockin' a EGO =] owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Rockin' a EGO =] is for the Gunfight
What kind of unit are you using to amplify the signal?
__________________
Anthony Bartolini
Loki Motorsports
LAB14 BMW Specialties
Rockin' a EGO =] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 03:58 PM #7
inferno2inferno
 
 
inferno2inferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Amped wireless rec10 wifi range extender
__________________
You do not know what you do not know
inferno2inferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 05:51 PM #8
mymutter
I crack myself up!
 
mymutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: the 847
mymutter is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Not familiar with the firmware in that one, but most give you an option to use the same name as the original network, allowing you to go with the one with the strongest signal, and it will go back and forth between the two.
__________________
mymutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 06:50 PM #9
Promagistrate
such motto
 
Promagistrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Promagistrate owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Promagistrate has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate supports DLX Technology
Quote:
Originally Posted by mymutter View Post
Not familiar with the firmware in that one, but most give you an option to use the same name as the original network, allowing you to go with the one with the strongest signal, and it will go back and forth between the two.
are you under the influence of a brain slug? why are you bumping?
__________________
wat
wat
wat
wat
wat
Promagistrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 06:10 PM #10
mymutter
I crack myself up!
 
mymutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: the 847
mymutter is reppin' sidebar 4 life
lol, why I guess I was.
__________________
mymutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump