Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2013, 01:43 PM #64
Rhino1XL
Put a SPRING in it!!!
 
Rhino1XL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Central Cal.
Annual Supporting Member
Rhino1XL helped look for balloons
Rhino1XL plays in the APPA D4 division
Quote:
Originally Posted by ValkenWinter View Post
Toss a bit of grease on that o-ring too.
I soaked my Protons ASA/grip frame o-ring in Dow 55 overnight, then re-installed it. Hasn't leaked since!
__________________
Home of the Rhino and Rhino Lite Spring

Maximum Paintball Supply, Fresno California
Rhino1XL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 04-10-2013, 01:10 AM #65
someasianballer
The panda with a gun
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Richmond,Tx
someasianballer plays in the PSP
someasianballer plays in the APPA D4 division
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhino1XL View Post

I soaked my Protons ASA/grip frame o-ring in Dow 55 overnight, then re-installed it. Hasn't leaked since!
First thing I did when I got mine
someasianballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 09:33 AM #66
Delspop
 
 
Delspop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Akron
Delspop owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
I just bought mine last saturday and love this thing. It's super efficient the trigger is great and damn does it have decent accuracy. My only problem is I had to shim the board with card stock paper so the mode button would make contact. Also I have to push in the on/off button instead of pull out on it..that I actually prefer.

I think I finally found my last electronic marker. It's a keeper. Thanks Valken!
Delspop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 02:26 PM #67
Cash Money Allstar
East Side Resider
 
Cash Money Allstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Norcross, GA
 has been a member for 10 years
Cash Money Allstar plays in the APPA D4 division
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delspop View Post
Also I have to push in the on/off button instead of pull out on it..that I actually prefer.
I wish mine worked like that actually. I mean I know why they have it the way that it is, but I have cut the thing off a couple times by accident.
__________________
Wildfire 2014

Allen Booth/WF Marines - RIP
Columbus State University - Alumni

October 2011 "Angel of the Month" - 2006 Angel GAT
Cash Money Allstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 01:25 PM #68
Delspop
 
 
Delspop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Akron
Delspop owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Well board problem is fixed now! The guy at the pro shop I bought it at got me a new board for it and now it is working perfect!
Delspop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 03:39 PM #69
mnck320
Choo Choo!
 
mnck320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Frozen Tundra
mnck320 plays in the PSP
mnck320 plays in the APPA D4 division
Just ordered one of these, should be getting it mid next week, hopefully more towards early part of next week. Very excited to try it out.

Anything I should know in particular about using this thing?
mnck320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 01:37 AM #70
aresfiend
Snake player McFatass
 
aresfiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Rice Lake, WI
aresfiend plays in the APPA D4 division
aresfiend has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
aresfiend has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
aresfiend has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
aresfiend supports Empire
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnck320 View Post
Anything I should know in particular about using this thing?
If you love it then it will love you
__________________
You may call it fat, I call it bounce padding.
Dynamic broke meter (relevant when adding when trading): I got paid yesterday
EΔRL
aresfiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 10:50 AM #71
Rhino1XL
Put a SPRING in it!!!
 
Rhino1XL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Central Cal.
Annual Supporting Member
Rhino1XL helped look for balloons
Rhino1XL plays in the APPA D4 division
Shoot the snot out of it. Lube the Asa with oil. Put a drop of oil on the clapper noid every few cases of paint. Should be good to go!
__________________
Home of the Rhino and Rhino Lite Spring

Maximum Paintball Supply, Fresno California
Rhino1XL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 02:25 PM #72
mnck320
Choo Choo!
 
mnck320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Frozen Tundra
mnck320 plays in the PSP
mnck320 plays in the APPA D4 division
Do I ever have to lube the bolt with dow 33?

Have really high expectations for this thing, would be kind of funny if it ended up being my main gun..
mnck320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 12:25 AM #73
Rhino1XL
Put a SPRING in it!!!
 
Rhino1XL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Central Cal.
Annual Supporting Member
Rhino1XL helped look for balloons
Rhino1XL plays in the APPA D4 division
No
__________________
Home of the Rhino and Rhino Lite Spring

Maximum Paintball Supply, Fresno California
Rhino1XL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 04:42 PM #74
Udunson
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
I just bought a Proton, and I'm in love.
Udunson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 09:24 AM #75
mnck320
Choo Choo!
 
mnck320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Frozen Tundra
mnck320 plays in the PSP
mnck320 plays in the APPA D4 division
Just received my Proton in the mail today, as of now I absolutely love this thing! Does not feel like a $300 gun, feels more like something that'd cost $500. If it shoots half as good as it's supposed to this will definitely replace my geo. Unfortunately for me I don't have any air so I can't go shoot it till this weekend.
mnck320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 07:55 PM #76
mnck320
Choo Choo!
 
mnck320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Frozen Tundra
mnck320 plays in the PSP
mnck320 plays in the APPA D4 division
Anyone else have the problem of it not registering all your trigger pulls? When I have it in psp 12.5 it'll sometimes just like...pause almost? I know for a matter of fact it's skipping some pulls. Any way to fix this?
mnck320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 08:03 PM #77
liverlip
 
 
liverlip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bronx
Annual Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnck320 View Post
Anyone else have the problem of it not registering all your trigger pulls? When I have it in psp 12.5 it'll sometimes just like...pause almost? I know for a matter of fact it's skipping some pulls. Any way to fix this?
Check your trigger settings.
__________________
** If your parents can't pay for your paintball stuff because they are too old and their social security checks are used to fund their retirement, put this in your signature**

][nvert User IS A THIEF
liverlip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 08:21 PM #78
mnck320
Choo Choo!
 
mnck320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Frozen Tundra
mnck320 plays in the PSP
mnck320 plays in the APPA D4 division
Never adjusted them from factory...
mnck320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 08:35 PM #79
liverlip
 
 
liverlip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bronx
Annual Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
You may not be letting the microswitch disengage fully ever time.
__________________
** If your parents can't pay for your paintball stuff because they are too old and their social security checks are used to fund their retirement, put this in your signature**

][nvert User IS A THIEF
liverlip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 10:41 PM #80
aresfiend
Snake player McFatass
 
aresfiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Rice Lake, WI
aresfiend plays in the APPA D4 division
aresfiend has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
aresfiend has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
aresfiend has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
aresfiend supports Empire
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnck320 View Post
Anyone else have the problem of it not registering all your trigger pulls? When I have it in psp 12.5 it'll sometimes just like...pause almost? I know for a matter of fact it's skipping some pulls. Any way to fix this?
Forgot to mention something, a 9.6v battery may alleviate this (I haven't tested it). I personally believe it's that the capacitor can't keep up with the solenoid causing a pause for it to recharge, but I remember that as being annoying.

Liverlip, it's actually misfiring, it's not that he's just not fully disengaging the trigger. It was brought up a few times in the news thread that there's a pause in the firing cycle after a constant stream, like let's say every 27 shots there's a noticeably long pause like it's just skipping a shot.
__________________
You may call it fat, I call it bounce padding.
Dynamic broke meter (relevant when adding when trading): I got paid yesterday
EΔRL

Last edited by aresfiend : 04-17-2013 at 10:43 PM.
aresfiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 03:29 PM #81
mnck320
Choo Choo!
 
mnck320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Frozen Tundra
mnck320 plays in the PSP
mnck320 plays in the APPA D4 division
Damnit...well anywhere I can get a 9.6v? I can't have that happening as I'm on my gun for the majority of a game.

Or anyone else know of any for sure ways to fix this?
mnck320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 03:51 PM #82
MstrKey
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SSM, Ontario, Canada
MstrKey is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
MstrKey is for the Gunfight
MstrKey supports our troops
batteries.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aresfiend View Post
Forgot to mention something, a 9.6v battery may alleviate this (I haven't tested it). I personally believe it's that the capacitor can't keep up with the solenoid causing a pause for it to recharge, but I remember that as being annoying.

Liverlip, it's actually misfiring, it's not that he's just not fully disengaging the trigger. It was brought up a few times in the news thread that there's a pause in the firing cycle after a constant stream, like let's say every 27 shots there's a noticeably long pause like it's just skipping a shot.
I would think using cheapo batteries would also cause this problem. Not enough current. You'll still need a good 9.6v battery as well since rechargable batteries don't usually last long anyway.
__________________

ETEK 3LT, with 14" Ti boomstick and cure 3 + bolt F/S

Vanguard creed eyes, membrane, bolt pin, detents F/s[/color]

Old school angel poppets/cup seals, spring detents(not sure which models) F/S

Last edited by MstrKey : 04-18-2013 at 03:54 PM.
MstrKey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 03:59 PM #83
liverlip
 
 
liverlip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bronx
Annual Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by aresfiend View Post
Forgot to mention something, a 9.6v battery may alleviate this (I haven't tested it). I personally believe it's that the capacitor can't keep up with the solenoid causing a pause for it to recharge, but I remember that as being annoying.

Liverlip, it's actually misfiring, it's not that he's just not fully disengaging the trigger. It was brought up a few times in the news thread that there's a pause in the firing cycle after a constant stream, like let's say every 27 shots there's a noticeably long pause like it's just skipping a shot.
Interesting. Do you think this can be avoided by using a high quality 9V battery? Like an Energizer 9V Advanced Lithium?
__________________
** If your parents can't pay for your paintball stuff because they are too old and their social security checks are used to fund their retirement, put this in your signature**

][nvert User IS A THIEF
liverlip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 06:46 PM #84
mnck320
Choo Choo!
 
mnck320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Frozen Tundra
mnck320 plays in the PSP
mnck320 plays in the APPA D4 division
How about Duracell batteries? I've never been too sure on what's considered the "best" battery. Anywho, gunna try one of their 9v and see if that fixes it. Otherwise gunna give Valken a call tomorrow. If I can figure this problem out, I think I'll actually be able to get a few of my teammates to "downgrade" to one of these.

Edit: Seems to have fixed the problem

Last edited by mnck320 : 04-18-2013 at 06:53 PM.
mnck320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump