Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2013, 09:00 AM #1
jeff_83
 
 
jeff_83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: manteno,IL
jeff_83 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
jeff_83 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
whats the difference in these hoppers?

Looking at the empire scion vs the z2 is it really worth the extra 70 bucks for the z2? I'm shooting a geo 2.1. Just looking for pros and cons, if I could get away with using the scion and only spending the 100.00 bucks would be nice. Thanks
jeff_83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 01-05-2013, 10:22 AM #2
nerdcore
Radical!
 
nerdcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Crashville
 has been a member for 10 years
nerdcore is playing at Living Legends VII
nerdcore is a top reviewer
Z2 has tool-less disassembly, RF-ready, runs on 4 AA instead of 6, push-button forward/reverse (forward instantly refills the ballstack, reverse clears jams), sound-activation. Isn't programmable like the Scion, however it does not need it - it knows!

Scion is more or less a Halo w/ the Z2's drive carrier instead of the original drive cone, and the only tool-less feature is the battery door. It even has eyes like the Halo did.

Last edited by nerdcore : 01-05-2013 at 10:26 AM.
nerdcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 02:17 PM #3
jeff_83
 
 
jeff_83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: manteno,IL
jeff_83 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
jeff_83 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
So could I get by with the scion or would it better to get the z2?
jeff_83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 02:40 PM #4
aresfiend
Snake player McFatass
 
aresfiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Rice Lake, WI
aresfiend plays in the APPA D4 division
aresfiend has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
aresfiend has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
aresfiend has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
aresfiend supports Empire
Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdcore View Post
Z2 has tool-less disassembly, RF-ready, runs on 4 AA instead of 6, push-button forward/reverse (forward instantly refills the ballstack, reverse clears jams), sound-activation. Isn't programmable like the Scion, however it does not need it - it knows!
Bolded is wrong.

The Z2 isn't RF ready since you still need to buy the chip (unless you're talking about it being plug and play, then you're still right), the Z2 also has a programming mode although it sounds like you have to jump through a few hoops to get to it.
__________________
You may call it fat, I call it bounce padding.

EΔRL
aresfiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 03:59 PM #5
jeff_83
 
 
jeff_83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: manteno,IL
jeff_83 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
jeff_83 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
So which empire loader would be better to have? Or is there a better loader to get?
jeff_83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 04:01 PM #6
vincib
Pandamonium
 
vincib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ashburn, VA
vincib is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
vincib owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
vincib supports Pev's Paintball
you could get by fine with a 12v Revvy for 25 bucks, or a Proto primo for 15. If your just starting out no point in spending big money on tourny level gear until you get a feel for what is going to work for you, your fields and the paint you will be using. I shoot a geo with a primo on it but also have a rotor as well, but dont always use it, depending on the type of playing I am doing.
__________________
My Feedback
vincib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 04:36 PM #7
jeff_83
 
 
jeff_83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: manteno,IL
jeff_83 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
jeff_83 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Ya I got a rev , looking for something a little faster just don't want to shell out 200.00 if I don't have to. That's why I was asking about the empire scion.
jeff_83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 10:11 PM #8
bulzeye
 
 
bulzeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: oregon
bulzeye is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
bulzeye donated to help Peyton Trent
bulzeye supports Team VICIOUS
bulzeye is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
or you could go even cheaper and get a used halo or reloader b
__________________
Navy/Sky Blue NT11

KILLA$ KREW
UnspokeN
Old School Feedback
bulzeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 08:02 AM #9
aimeagle21
I'm kind of a big deal!
 
aimeagle21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Michigan
Annual Supporting Member
aimeagle21 is a Supporting Member
aimeagle21 plays in the PSP
aimeagle21 posts videos on PbNation
aimeagle21 plays in the APPA D4 division
aimeagle21 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
I could be mistaken but the halo/reloaders, scions have a taller profile and mabye wider as well. The reason I got the z2 was a lower profile. The rotor has pretty much the same profile as the z2. Buy used until you find a hopper you like.
__________________
Chicago Aggressive
TC paintball Iron Mitten Series
BECKER INDUSTRIES
Colors Paintball Great Lakes Series
Fierce Photography!
Old style trust
aimeagle21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 11:47 AM #10
nerdcore
Radical!
 
nerdcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Crashville
 has been a member for 10 years
nerdcore is playing at Living Legends VII
nerdcore is a top reviewer
Quote:
Originally Posted by aresfiend View Post
Bolded is wrong.

The Z2 isn't RF ready since you still need to buy the chip (unless you're talking about it being plug and play, then you're still right), the Z2 also has a programming mode although it sounds like you have to jump through a few hoops to get to it.
Plug n play is what i meant, it would be too much to ask for the chip included, lol.

It IS programmable? Whaaaa... manual doesn't tell you how.
Edit: Found Simon's post on the easter egg. Haha!

jeff - the Scion is all you need, but the Z2 does have enough bells & whistles to justify the cost.

Last edited by nerdcore : 01-11-2013 at 11:50 AM.
nerdcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 01:18 PM #11
jeff_83
 
 
jeff_83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: manteno,IL
jeff_83 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
jeff_83 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Thanks guys just picked up a used z2. Is there any upgrades that ate worth doing or just leave it alone.
jeff_83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 01:20 PM #12
aresfiend
Snake player McFatass
 
aresfiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Rice Lake, WI
aresfiend plays in the APPA D4 division
aresfiend has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
aresfiend has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
aresfiend has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
aresfiend supports Empire
A speedfeed if you like those, otherwise there are zero upgrades that I can think of.
__________________
You may call it fat, I call it bounce padding.

EΔRL
aresfiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 04:00 PM #13
dominantgazelle
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
 
dominantgazelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Foothill Ranch
dominantgazelle plays in the APPA D4 division
dominantgazelle is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
dominantgazelle supports DLX Technology
I say get the z2 largely because of the too less disassembly. I used a reloader b2 for a log time but finally switched to the spire cus having the too less disassembly made it so muh easier to clean in between games
dominantgazelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump