Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2013, 08:16 PM #85
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
 
akward silence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
 has been a member for 10 years
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
Yeah, it saved me a little bit if time and effort.

Also, their 4awg is like kickers 2awg. It's insane really. The price is tough to beat. I can send you the link to it. It's the Kolossus flex kit.
__________________
+14/-0
2014 Forester XT
2008 335i
OSTT GURU
akward silence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 01-11-2013, 04:13 PM #86
Disarmer
Gig 'em
 
Disarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Disarmer helped look for balloons
Disarmer is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Disarmer has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Disarmer is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Quote:
Originally Posted by akward silence View Post
I picked it up on amazon since I had a gift card. Shipping took 2 days

I really like the coax cables with the remote wire built in. Neat
I hate it, because my RCA inputs are on the opposite end of the remote input on the amp, so the remote wire/rca makes the install look ****ing retarded


I have a problem guys. I was driving back home the other day and my front left speaker started cutting in and out. It would play at normal volume, then drop to about 1/4 normal volume. It would jump back and forth randomly until finally it just stayed at the lower volume. Anyone got any ideas? Already tried other channels on my amp so it's not that amplifier channel going out.
Disarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 04:29 PM #87
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
 
akward silence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
 has been a member for 10 years
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Disarmer View Post
I hate it, because my RCA inputs are on the opposite end of the remote input on the amp, so the remote wire/rca makes the install look ****ing retarded
So is mine.

Solution? Cut a *TINY* hole in my carpet right below the RCA inputs to rum the remote wire to the other side.

Looks fine to me.
__________________
+14/-0
2014 Forester XT
2008 335i
OSTT GURU
akward silence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:26 PM #88
Disarmer
Gig 'em
 
Disarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Disarmer helped look for balloons
Disarmer is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Disarmer has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Disarmer is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
But to get that extra length to run the remote wire around there, you have to pull the RCA's and make them curl up instead of keeping the RCAs nice and straight
Disarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:51 PM #89
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
 
akward silence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
 has been a member for 10 years
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Disarmer View Post
But to get that extra length to run the remote wire around there, you have to pull the RCA's and make them curl up instead of keeping the RCAs nice and straight
They sit under the carpet too.
__________________
+14/-0
2014 Forester XT
2008 335i
OSTT GURU
akward silence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 08:13 PM #90
neophyte
 
 
neophyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: la
neophyte posts videos on PbNation
neophyte plays in the APPA D4 division
neophyte has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
neophyte has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
that is actually a ground wire, to help with ground loops. you can use it for a remote wire, but that is not its intention.
__________________
Playing nice only works in grade school and even then not that well.
"Originally posted by pyromaniacs1: A+ post. If I could rate individual posts, this would be 5-star."

if you arent a liberal at age twenty, you have no heart; if you arent a conservative at age fourty, you have no brain. -- Winston Churchill
neophyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 09:44 PM #91
qu1cks1lver56
Me llamo Patrick
 
qu1cks1lver56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: the 850 fl
qu1cks1lver56 is playing at Living Legends III
qu1cks1lver56 supports Team VICIOUS
qu1cks1lver56 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
qu1cks1lver56 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Disarmer View Post
I hate it, because my RCA inputs are on the opposite end of the remote input on the amp, so the remote wire/rca makes the install look ****ing retarded


I have a problem guys. I was driving back home the other day and my front left speaker started cutting in and out. It would play at normal volume, then drop to about 1/4 normal volume. It would jump back and forth randomly until finally it just stayed at the lower volume. Anyone got any ideas? Already tried other channels on my amp so it's not that amplifier channel going out.
Sounds like the speaker wires are shorting.
__________________
"Originally posted by what the heck?:
AND I AM NOT HAVING SEX WITH A FOOT"
ST-A: Car Audio - doonk doonk doonk boom boom
hi
qu1cks1lver56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 08:30 AM #92
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
 
akward silence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
 has been a member for 10 years
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
Quote:
Originally Posted by neophyte View Post
that is actually a ground wire, to help with ground loops. you can use it for a remote wire, but that is not its intention.
According to KnuKonceptz it is a remote wire.
__________________
+14/-0
2014 Forester XT
2008 335i
OSTT GURU
akward silence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 01:01 PM #93
qu1cks1lver56
Me llamo Patrick
 
qu1cks1lver56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: the 850 fl
qu1cks1lver56 is playing at Living Legends III
qu1cks1lver56 supports Team VICIOUS
qu1cks1lver56 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
qu1cks1lver56 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Back when ground loops were a problem in lots of installs some companies started doing that for a ground, then others adapted it for a remote wire. Either way it can work for whatever you want. I just don't like it because I usually always run my remote wire to a central spot and branch out to multiple amps.
__________________
"Originally posted by what the heck?:
AND I AM NOT HAVING SEX WITH A FOOT"
ST-A: Car Audio - doonk doonk doonk boom boom
hi
qu1cks1lver56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 01:31 PM #94
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
 
akward silence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
 has been a member for 10 years
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
You could still do that. It would just be split further up the line. I usually keep extra amps under my front seats.

I need to trade this 500.2 for something 4 channel. I don't know why, I'd just rather use a 4 channel.
__________________
+14/-0
2014 Forester XT
2008 335i
OSTT GURU
akward silence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 01:33 PM #95
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
If the wire is for grounding the RCAs, it should be connected to the shielding or the RCA connectors. If it isn't, I'm pretty sure grounding it would do nothing, and it would be more well-suited to use as a remote. However, if it's connected to the RCAs, don't use it as a remote.

Amazon said they refunded my monies for the crossover. Hopefully I see it soon so I can order the replacement.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 02:34 PM #96
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
 
akward silence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
 has been a member for 10 years
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
It's shielded from the RCAs, no wire contact.
__________________
+14/-0
2014 Forester XT
2008 335i
OSTT GURU
akward silence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 06:37 PM #97
Disarmer
Gig 'em
 
Disarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Disarmer helped look for balloons
Disarmer is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Disarmer has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Disarmer is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Quote:
Originally Posted by qu1cks1lver56 View Post
Sounds like the speaker wires are shorting.
I've checked all the connections, plus if it were shorting the amplifier would go into protect, but it doesn't.

Thinking I have a faulty speaker

EDIT: And no, these RCA's from Knu specifically have a remote wire run along the RCAs. It is not a ground for the RCAs, as it does not come into contact with the RCA wires themselves at all.
Disarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 07:00 PM #98
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Can you check the impedance of the speakers?

Or switch the speakers' connections on the amp and see if that changes anything?
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 07:31 PM #99
Disarmer
Gig 'em
 
Disarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Disarmer helped look for balloons
Disarmer is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Disarmer has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Disarmer is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
That's the problem, I don't have a DMM.

I've tried the "bad" speaker on all channels of the amp with no change. Still plays at low volume. Or do you mean switch the pos/neg?
Disarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 07:34 PM #100
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
I meant switch it to another channel.

Sounds like a loose wire or fried voice coil. Either way, check all the wiring connections.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 07:55 PM #101
Disarmer
Gig 'em
 
Disarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Disarmer helped look for balloons
Disarmer is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Disarmer has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Disarmer is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
I've checked RCA's on back of HU, RCA's into amp, speaker wires out of amp, speaker wires into speaker, and none of the wires themselves are damaged.

I'm thinking voice coil problems
Disarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 07:57 PM #102
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Do you have a straight shot from the amp to the speakers, or did you have to splice and use factory connections or something?

Do you have a regular multimeter? If you have another speaker to compare it to, it should be pretty obvious comparing the two whether they're close to the same impedance.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 08:09 PM #103
syco killer
When doubt, gas it out!
 
syco killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Muskegon MI
syco killer owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Whats up guys?! I have an 01 Dodge ram 1500, rocking 2 alpine E10's and an alpine 650 mono amp, with 4 gauge wire.
syco killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:26 AM #104
Disarmer
Gig 'em
 
Disarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Disarmer helped look for balloons
Disarmer is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Disarmer has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Disarmer is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra_MKIII View Post
Do you have a straight shot from the amp to the speakers, or did you have to splice and use factory connections or something?

Do you have a regular multimeter? If you have another speaker to compare it to, it should be pretty obvious comparing the two whether they're close to the same impedance.
Nah, it's straight wire. If I had a multimeter, I wouldn't be asking these questions Unfortunately, I don't
Disarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 11:47 AM #105
qu1cks1lver56
Me llamo Patrick
 
qu1cks1lver56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: the 850 fl
qu1cks1lver56 is playing at Living Legends III
qu1cks1lver56 supports Team VICIOUS
qu1cks1lver56 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
qu1cks1lver56 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Take the speaker out and try another in it's place
__________________
"Originally posted by what the heck?:
AND I AM NOT HAVING SEX WITH A FOOT"
ST-A: Car Audio - doonk doonk doonk boom boom
hi
qu1cks1lver56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump