PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Old 12-20-2012, 11:02 PM #1
offthahorse

offthahorse has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
offthahorse has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Is this a QEV or just a different type of fitting?

This piece is in my ion. I'm not an ion expert but it looked eerily live a QEV, also swivels around.
Assuming it IS a QEV, isn't it supposed to be on the back hose not front?

Thanks for any input gentlemen
offthahorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 11:37 PM #2
theblindchicken
49'er

theblindchicken is an NCPA player
theblindchicken is an NCPA National Champion
theblindchicken plays in the APPA D5 division
It's a QEV. Pretty sure its the Smart Parts 360 QEV. Nah.. You've got it set up correctly. The QEV goes on the middle line. It allows the air infront of the bolt to escape quicker (by exiting the QEV instead of having to go through only the solenoid) to decrease the bolt cycle time.

These two animations should help explain things:
http://www.zdspb.com/media/tech/anim...perrender3.gif
http://www.zdspb.com/media/tech/anim...v_v2_15fps.gif
theblindchicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 11:41 PM #3
offthahorse

Thanks blind chicken. Its the same size as the back fitting though right? (not planning on moving it, just wondering cause a friend has a broken rear fitting, if this is the same size ill get him a qev and he can move the good fitting)
Old 12-21-2012, 12:34 AM #4
theblindchicken
49'er

theblindchicken is an NCPA player
theblindchicken is an NCPA National Champion
theblindchicken plays in the APPA D5 division
The threading size is different between the banjo fittings. The front and rear are identical, but the middle is different. One is 1/8" and the other is 5/32" but I can't remember which is which. Banjos may be available at your local shop, but if not, GOG has new ones for sale on their website.
theblindchicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 08:48 AM #5