Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2012, 10:58 PM #1
cpuwhiz22
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Is it necessary to break in new marker?

Ok, so what I am looking for here is some advice based on actual experience, not just what you have read. The reason for this is that I see many different opinions on what constitutes a break in, and additionally many different opinions.

I have a new Axe on the way, and I was planning to get a Boss bolt for it this weekend. However, most things I read say that you should break the marker in before upgrading things such as a bolt. I want to maximize efficiency right away since I use a 3000 psi tank and fill from a scuba tank, so I was hoping I could swap out the bolt and sweet spot it using this technique:

http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=3761332

Now I am wondering if doing this out of the box would be bad for the marker, or if it just wouldn't be as effective? Or would it matter at all? What does everyone think about this?

Thanks!
cpuwhiz22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 12-28-2012, 12:25 AM #2
nerdcore
Radical!
 
nerdcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Crashville
 has been a member for 10 years
nerdcore is playing at Living Legends VII
nerdcore is a top reviewer
Do it how you want it.

I don't feel a bolt upgrade is necessary, but that's beside the point.
nerdcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 12:37 AM #3
yuik
Mr Diet Coke on the Rocks
 
yuik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Annual Supporting Member
yuik is playing at Living Legends V
yuik is playing at Living Legends VI
yuik is an NCPA player
yuik plays in the APPA D5 division
yuik is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
yuik is Legendary
I would break the spring In
__________________
if you have an ebay account and want to make 3$ in paypal for 5 min of your time pm me!
Closed Bolt Ballers!

Huge gearbag sale. Everything you can imagine including bob saget!

RED JMJ Smooth Mill viking RobTown Valve Ultralight Frame!
yuik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 12:38 AM #4
IBleed Arbor
vtec just kicked in, yo!
 
IBleed Arbor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Connecticut
IBleed Arbor plays in the PSP
IBleed Arbor owns a Planet Eclipse CSL
IBleed Arbor is reppin' sidebar 4 life
IBleed Arbor is Boss
IBleed Arbor supports DLX Technology
Save the money on the bolt and buy a bigger tank used.
IBleed Arbor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 02:26 AM #5
SKI008
Fear my Join Date
 
SKI008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBleed Arbor View Post
Save the money on the bolt and buy a bigger tank used.
That. 3000 psi steelies suck. Get a 68/45 Ninja. More air and a lighter tank.
__________________
This line is in remembrance of Jared Wilson, friend and paintball teammate who died on 7/27/2005.
My Old Feedback +1/-0 |
SKI008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 09:09 AM #6
cpuwhiz22
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I love when people come into a thread, ignore the question and tell you to do something else...like when you are asking a question about CO2 and state that it's all that is available to you, and everyone says ditch CO2.

Same thing here...

I clearly stated that I am filling from a scuba tank. If you are not sure how that works, scuba tanks are only 3000 PSI. This is why I don't buy 4500 psi tanks, because I would never be able to fill them more than 3000 PSI, so why pay for the extra capacity.

So back to my original question. What are everyone's thoughts on breaking it in? I am kinda thinking that it won't matter since when I put the Boss bolt and spring in, that will need to be broken in anyway, so any break in that I do right now will be moot when I replace the bolt and spring. The reason I was asking here was because I was more concerned with regulator break in. Any thoughts?
cpuwhiz22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 10:10 AM #7
IBleed Arbor
vtec just kicked in, yo!
 
IBleed Arbor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Connecticut
IBleed Arbor plays in the PSP
IBleed Arbor owns a Planet Eclipse CSL
IBleed Arbor is reppin' sidebar 4 life
IBleed Arbor is Boss
IBleed Arbor supports DLX Technology
You can just put the boss bolt in and break that in.
IBleed Arbor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 10:23 AM #8
Zippin35
 
 
Zippin35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Zippin35 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Zippin35 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Zippin35 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Zippin35 is attending Decay of Nations VI
You should always break a gun in before fully tuning it. Usually, breaking it in allows you to lower pressures a hair and will generally change your tolerances so if you go through the tuning process and set everything, once your gun breaks in those tolerances will change making your prior efforts moot. Break it in.
__________________
I FIGHT FOR MACDEV-Macdev Militia
BUY MY 2.0 LUXE!!FST
B/S/T Perfection
New England Crusade #35
Bored? On Facebook? Come join my group Paintball Gear for Sale!
Zippin35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 11:41 AM #9
BabyFace
 
 
BabyFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
BabyFace supports DLX Technology
Its been said by "Boss" himself that you can begin the break-in period with a boss bolt. Although, like others may have said...save the money and get a bigger tank. To me the boss bolt isnt really worth it, ive had one...wasnt especially impressed. I like the stock axe bolt more, i can shoot very brittle paint with it, and its not finicky at all.

Sell the 3000psi tank, save some cash, and get a 68/4500 or 77/4500 from ninja.
BabyFace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 02:55 PM #10
cpuwhiz22
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I appreciate the tips, but again I fill from a scuba tank, a 4500 won't do me any good...
cpuwhiz22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 03:10 PM #11
BabyFace
 
 
BabyFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
BabyFace supports DLX Technology
Sorry didnt realize scuba tanks only fill to 3000.
BabyFace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 03:30 PM #12
rethalis
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
There are 4500 + fill tanks out there, but the cost for them is ungodly compared to scubas.

I say just get the bolt and when it breaks in retune it.
rethalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 03:35 PM #13
NightKreeper
 
 
NightKreeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Springfield, Missouri
NightKreeper is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
NightKreeper plays in the PSP
NightKreeper plays in the APPA D4 division
Guns always shoot better when broken in. It's a pretty noticeable difference. People say that so you see what the guns actually gonna shoot like before you decide what you want to change. But if you're dead set on upgrading the bolt, just break it in with the boss bolt.

And I'd get a 4500 tank just for the weight difference lol
__________________
old feedback 31/0/0

Kick'n Paintball Park
NightKreeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump