Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-08-2012, 10:36 AM #1
holson72
 
 
holson72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
holson72 posts videos on PbNation
holson72 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Question - 1st shot higher velocity?

So...I have a "problem" with my A1 Fly. I have the opposite of FSDO. My first shot will be right at 300 fps, with all subsequent shots in the 285 fps range.

It's an A1 Fly with STR ram and boost bolt. Pressure is at 170/58. The board is a Virtue, with the FSDO setting at 1. Any ideas?


Thanks!
holson72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 10-08-2012, 10:47 AM #2
greatwolf329
still sick of idiots
 
greatwolf329's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Turn off/down your fsdo all the way. A value of 1 is just enough to get it up there.
__________________
greatwolf329 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:54 AM #3
holson72
 
 
holson72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
holson72 posts videos on PbNation
holson72 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
I think the lowest setting on the Virtue board is 1? I will double check that tonight...
holson72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 11:41 AM #4
Shocker_Monkey
KCCO
 
Shocker_Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: 920 Represent
Annual Supporting Member
Shocker_Monkey is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Shocker_Monkey is playing at Living Legends VII
Shocker_Monkey plays in the APPA D5 division
Shocker_Monkey is Legendary
Shocker_Monkey is Boss
Does the hot first shot come back after the gun has sat for a while? If so, it might be reg creep. This can normally be cleared up by cleaning and relubing the hpr and lpr.
__________________

==========================================
WISCONSIN NAVARONE
==========================================
2k5'd Timmy FSO - Bring me Xmas funds
==========================================
Shocker_Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 11:55 AM #5
holson72
 
 
holson72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
holson72 posts videos on PbNation
holson72 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Well, it has to sit for at least 30 seconds for the hot first shot. I guess I wasn't sure if it was reg creep, or the FSDO setting on the board. I'm fairly sure that 1 is the lowest setting on the Virtue - so again, not sure if even the 1 setting is causing it, if the board is "haywire" (I don't have another board to compare against), or if the reg needs cleaning. I do know that if I put the gauge on it, and air it up...the pressure never moves from 170, even if left to sit for 45 minutes.
holson72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 12:10 PM #6
Shocker_Monkey
KCCO
 
Shocker_Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: 920 Represent
Annual Supporting Member
Shocker_Monkey is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Shocker_Monkey is playing at Living Legends VII
Shocker_Monkey plays in the APPA D5 division
Shocker_Monkey is Legendary
Shocker_Monkey is Boss
Hmm... I've never used a virtue board. Are you sure that there isn't a way to disable the FSDO setting?

And is that setting the same as the Bolt Stick setting on a tadao board, where the first shot after a while the dwell is bumped up?
__________________

==========================================
WISCONSIN NAVARONE
==========================================
2k5'd Timmy FSO - Bring me Xmas funds
==========================================
Shocker_Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 12:27 PM #7
holson72
 
 
holson72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
holson72 posts videos on PbNation
holson72 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Yes, that's what the FSDO/bolt stick is. The manual says the range is 1-10 (I think 10, anyway). It's currently at 1. I will check tonight if it can go lower.
holson72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 12:29 PM #8
Shocker_Monkey
KCCO
 
Shocker_Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: 920 Represent
Annual Supporting Member
Shocker_Monkey is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Shocker_Monkey is playing at Living Legends VII
Shocker_Monkey plays in the APPA D5 division
Shocker_Monkey is Legendary
Shocker_Monkey is Boss
I guess while you're at it, verify what that number means. It may seem dumb, but its possible that its opposite of what would be assumed.
__________________

==========================================
WISCONSIN NAVARONE
==========================================
2k5'd Timmy FSO - Bring me Xmas funds
==========================================
Shocker_Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 02:06 PM #9
turnburglar
Mr. "iminitforthecheck"
 
turnburglar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: bat country
turnburglar owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Hey Zack,

All of my virtue a1s have done that. I believe it is from the marker being critically dwelled mixed with the virtue board ALWAYS adding 1 Ms for fsdo. If you want try adding 1 Ms of dwell and see if that fixes the problem. I think virtue should have done a hair more research on the a1 before adding that feature, but I just moved around it with this solution.

What I always did at tournaments was shoot a few into the floor before shooting over the chrono.
__________________
"There he goes. One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die." -Hunter S. Thompson
turnburglar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 02:21 PM #10
holson72
 
 
holson72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
holson72 posts videos on PbNation
holson72 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
I figured the "problem" was that the Virtue board did not have an ABS off setting, or 0ms added. I suspected reg creep at first...but when I let it sit on the gauge it didn't fluxuate at all, I also experimented with the HPR to see how much I had to turn it up to hit 300, it was a little over 180 psi...so I would think I would need to see the gauge go from 170 to 180 in order for it to be creep. If it went from 170 to 172 that wouldn't create that much of a velocity change.


It's not a big deal; but I didn't know if there was a work around in the board. I would think if I added 1ms dwell, then the board will still add another 1ms for ABS and I'll have the same problem, just at a different input pressure?


I should've just sent you a PM on this...but I didn't feel like it was a big enough deal to bother you with it.



EDIT: I just talked to Virtue on the phone. They said the "redefined" software does allow to turn ABS off (and the previous software does not, because the boost bolt hadn't been released yet), so to just send the board to them to have it updated.

Last edited by holson72 : 10-08-2012 at 02:28 PM.
holson72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 03:11 PM #11
turnburglar
Mr. "iminitforthecheck"
 
turnburglar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: bat country
turnburglar owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
You could send it in if your ok with that.

That fly was always very consistent over the chrono for me besides the fsdo thing so I never even bothered calling virtue. Glad they took care of you though, because I always speak well of their products.
__________________
"There he goes. One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die." -Hunter S. Thompson
turnburglar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 03:18 PM #12
holson72
 
 
holson72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
holson72 posts videos on PbNation
holson72 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
It wouldn't be an issue...but one of the fields I play at has some pretty strict chrono watchdogs.

Still love the gun and turned down a pretty good offer from a local at the field on Saturday.

Last edited by holson72 : 10-08-2012 at 03:21 PM.
holson72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump