Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-15-2012, 11:21 AM #1
owenstanek
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Remote Coil Limits my trigger speed

I just bought a new Project Salvo with a remote coil and a 3000psi tank. When I have the coil attached between my tank and marker it will "die off" (like it is out of CO2) if I pull the trigger rapidly, after about the fourth or fifth trigger pull and only when I fire rapidly. It seems like it needs more time to refill the co2 in the hose or something. When I hook my tank up directly to my marker i can pull the trigger as fast as I can with no issues. So it has to be my remote, right?
owenstanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 08-15-2012, 12:55 PM #2
gamer565
*****es love cannons!
 
gamer565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: OK
Annual Supporting Member
gamer565 is playing at Living Legends VI
gamer565 is playing at Living Legends VII
gamer565 posts videos on PbNation
gamer565 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
gamer565 has achieved Level 6 in PbNation Pursuit
gamer565 is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
gamer565 is Boss
You tank does not have co2 in it, or it shouldn't.

But the remote could be restricting the air flow and causing shoot down like your having.
__________________
Jolly Green (╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻

gamer565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 01:10 PM #3
madflo
Noob with Skills
 
madflo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Killa Cali
madflo owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
madflo has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
madflo has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
madflo has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
You sure its co2?
__________________
SLS
DXS 68/45
Z2
E-FLEX

Capital Edge Paintball Park
FOR SALE:
madflo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 01:32 PM #4
maniacmatt73
 
 
maniacmatt73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Annual Supporting Member
maniacmatt73 is BST Trusted
maniacmatt73 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
maniacmatt73 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
maniacmatt73 is for the Gunfight
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamer565 View Post
You tank does not have co2 in it, or it shouldn't.

But the remote could be restricting the air flow and causing shoot down like your having.
__________________
phase 1: collect underpants
phase 2: ?
phase 3: profit

WTB: crosman 3357
maniacmatt73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 01:33 PM #5
The Inflicted
.detcilfnI ehT
 
The Inflicted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Assuming you're not putting CO2 into a compressed air tank (pretty sure OP just mistyped)...

Does your remote hose have an on/off adapter where it attaches to the tank, or is it a simple ASA fitting? If it is an on/off adapter, make sure that you're opening the valve all the way.

Also, what type of tank regulator is on your tank (assuming it is an HPA tank) and what brand of hose are you using?
The Inflicted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 02:10 PM #6
Goshawk
Deep South Baller
 
Goshawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The SIP!
Annual Supporting Member
Goshawk owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Goshawk owns a Planet Eclipse Etha
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Inflicted View Post
Assuming you're not putting CO2 into a compressed air tank (pretty sure OP just mistyped)...

Does your remote hose have an on/off adapter where it attaches to the tank, or is it a simple ASA fitting? If it is an on/off adapter, make sure that you're opening the valve all the way.
Or not too far. Screwing the valve in too far can also restrict air flow.
Goshawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 02:14 PM #7
The Inflicted
.detcilfnI ehT
 
The Inflicted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goshawk View Post
Or not too far. Screwing the valve in too far can also restrict air flow.
On CO2 tanks or certain kinds of regulator valves?
The Inflicted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 02:18 PM #8
private_silver
Fire and Forget.
 
private_silver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
private_silver is an NCPA player
private_silver plays in the APPA D5 division
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Inflicted View Post
On CO2 tanks or certain kinds of regulator valves?
Pretty much on any. A bunch of the on/off ones can screw in far enough to actually push the pin down, but then at the same time block the hole that the air would then come through. Gotta find the proper medium.
__________________
Dust Black Axe w/ white accent
14" Freak Kit
Spire with CrownSF
Crossfire 68/45 w/ Stealth
private_silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 02:20 PM #9
owenstanek
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
It is a CO2 tank and I am sure it has CO2 in it. I am starting to think that I need to loosen the On/Off valve, may have had it too tight. I'm gonna give it a try ASAP.
owenstanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 02:51 PM #10
M6Dean
 
 
M6Dean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
M6Dean owns a Planet Eclipse Etha
M6Dean has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
M6Dean has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
but you said you got a 3000psi tank, that implies that it is HPA not co2.

what does your tank look like?

hpa - http://www.ansgear.com/PhotoDetails....e=NINJATANK-48
co2 - http://www.ansgear.com/PhotoDetails....tCode=PMI12CO2
__________________
Planet Eclipse ETHA
Ninja 68/4500
Empire Halo Too (Custom Painted) http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.p...728&highlight=

Empire E-Vent/ Vforce Profiler
Empire Contact tz olive jersey and pants
M6Dean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 03:19 PM #11
owenstanek
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
This is the tank I got: Pure Energy 48cu 3000psi Tank Low Pres. Try this link http://www.airsplat.com/Items/PA-PE-48CU-3000.htm It has a picture of it. I think its a CO2 tank but it is rated in PSI or am i way off?
owenstanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 03:32 PM #12
The Inflicted
.detcilfnI ehT
 
The Inflicted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by owenstanek View Post
This is the tank I got: Pure Energy 48cu 3000psi Tank Low Pres. Try this link http://www.airsplat.com/Items/PA-PE-48CU-3000.htm It has a picture of it. I think its a CO2 tank but it is rated in PSI or am i way off?
Two things:

1. This is an HPA/Compressed air tank, not a CO2 tank.
One way you can tell is that HPA tanks are designated by their volume and pressure, (like 48cu/3000psi) whereas CO2 tanks are designated by the weight of CO2 vapor they can hold (20oz, 9oz, etc.)

2. If this is indeed the tank you're using with the Project Salvo, the output pressure could be the problem. This is a low-pressure output tank, intended for use with low-pressure electronic guns. Your project Salvo is designed to be run on high-output HPA or unregulated CO2.

I'm kind of surprised your gun is shooting properly at all being fed by this tank, remote hose or no.
Have you been able to chronograph the marker since getting this tank?
The Inflicted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 03:33 PM #13
owenstanek
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
M6Dean

your right I have a HPA Tank with CO2 in it. I'm surprised that Scheel's sold it to me and filled up the HPA tank with CO2. Or maybe they had filled it with HPA, I'm not sure. Well thanks for the help
owenstanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 03:42 PM #14
eforce
Factory PB
 
eforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicago
Annual Supporting Member
eforce is a Moderator
 has been a member for 10 years
eforce plays in the PSP
eforce is an NCPA player
Don't buy equipment from general stores like that. Half the time you'll see employees that have never even played before.
eforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 03:49 PM #15
owenstanek
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
No I have not been able to chronograph it at all. I thought that it wasn't shooting as far as it should but I was shooting at about 90 feet and hitting a 2' X 2' target 90% of the shots.
owenstanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 11:34 AM #16
owenstanek
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Hope it won't hurt my gun if it was HPA in it?
owenstanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 11:36 AM #17
owenstanek
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
so it turns out it was a HPA system filled with air not CO2. They were claiming at the store when I returned that it would work better on the gun and maybe it would have if I hadn't tightened the on/off switch too much. But I switched out to CO2 tanks and I think it works better.
owenstanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 09:21 PM #18
neophyte
 
 
neophyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: la
neophyte posts videos on PbNation
neophyte plays in the APPA D4 division
neophyte has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
neophyte has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
HPA will not damage your gun. but like stated before you need a HP tank or co2. the reason you were having problems is the the tank was LP not because of the gas in it. the salvo will shoot fine on hpa as long as the output is right
__________________
Playing nice only works in grade school and even then not that well.
"Originally posted by pyromaniacs1: A+ post. If I could rate individual posts, this would be 5-star."

if you arent a liberal at age twenty, you have no heart; if you arent a conservative at age fourty, you have no brain. -- Winston Churchill
neophyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 10:12 PM #19
aerosaaber
 
 
aerosaaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Western Massachusetts
aerosaaber supports our troops
If you are buying things from places that don't know anything about paintball, you're going to want to do a ton of research first. (that's what the forum is for)

I absolutely HATE HATE HATE it when I go into a store/car dealer/whatever and they don't know a damn thing about what they're selling.

So, get to reading and learning and then you won't have to take the advice of know-nothings.
__________________
Gonna buy something in BST? search in the theft report forum for scammers first.
Saber Albany Marshals
Albany Scenario Club is where I play.
I play woodsball/scenario but I don't hate on speedballers.
aerosaaber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 11:40 PM #20
GhostJedai
I push buttons
 
GhostJedai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Southern California
Annual Supporting Member
GhostJedai is BST Trusted
GhostJedai has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
GhostJedai has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
GhostJedai has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
GhostJedai is attending Decay of Nations VII
GhostJedai supports Empire
While this may be an issue of LP v HP, I've never actually heard of a remote coil limiting recharge, so I believe it's more a concern of the recharge rate of the tank reg. Unless it's a higher-end ninja, GA or CP reg, that might be an issue.
__________________
Christ Krew #17

GhostJedai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 07:41 AM #21
Dtx904
 
 
Dtx904's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Dtx904 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump