Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-2012, 05:14 PM #1093
Fuzzy R. McNuggs
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
you gon die
Fuzzy R. McNuggs is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 09-16-2012, 05:21 PM #1094
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Quote:
Originally Posted by They Call Me Rain View Post
So an i5 is recommended.
What about an internal fan?
If you're on a budget, the stock Intel HSF should be fine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by prpntblr95 View Post
Coolermaster Hyper 212+ for budget

Guys I have a problem

Moved the OS to the SSD and now my computer is just not functioning. Can only have 1 tab open on Chrome, the mouse is constantly not working and the keyboard is typing the wrong keys. I defiantly did something wrong because everything's jacked up.

When I open another tab and click on it, the tab I click on closes, if I click the only tab that's open it shuts the entire browser.
You moved it? Like, instead of reinstalling, you just copied the files?

Would probably be best to do a fresh install.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 05:28 PM #1095
prpntblr95
Haters gonna Hate
 
prpntblr95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 702
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 supports Team VICIOUS
prpntblr95 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
prpntblr95 is Legendary
I worded that wrong. I have the OS on my 8 yr old maxtor. I made a bootable flash drive and booted from that than installed win 7 onto the ssd from the flash drive.
I didn't copy anything.
__________________
prpntblr95 is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 05:30 PM #1096
Promagistrate
such motto
 
Promagistrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Promagistrate owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Promagistrate has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate supports DLX Technology
so you effectively have 2 boot drives? there's your problem.

I did that once by accident; drive letters got switched and everything broke.
__________________
wat
wat
wat
wat
wat
Promagistrate is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 05:38 PM #1097
Oedipus
god save captain slow
 
Oedipus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Butts
Oedipus supports DLX Technology
Quote:
Originally Posted by prpntblr95 View Post
I worded that wrong. I have the OS on my 8 yr old maxtor. I made a bootable flash drive and booted from that than installed win 7 onto the ssd from the flash drive.
I didn't copy anything.
And you think that's going to work why? You have to image the existing, and apparently broken, Windows install and then apply the image onto the SSD. Use Norton Ghost (which is awful), Acronis True Image (which is good) or Macrium Reflect (which is very good) for this. Or Clonezilla if you want to **** things up more than removing the last global catalog from an active domain.
__________________
ST:Tech -- Three solid failures away from emptying large quantities of ammunition into a daycare.
Oedipus is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 05:38 PM #1098
prpntblr95
Haters gonna Hate
 
prpntblr95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 702
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 supports Team VICIOUS
prpntblr95 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
prpntblr95 is Legendary
Quote:
Originally Posted by Promagistrate View Post
so you effectively have 2 boot drives? there's your problem.

I did that once by accident; drive letters got switched and everything broke.
In the BIOS I made it.only so the ssd was the bootable drive. The old drive that was the boot drive isn't even plugged into the motherboard
__________________
prpntblr95 is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 06:02 PM #1099
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Quote:
Originally Posted by prpntblr95 View Post
I worded that wrong. I have the OS on my 8 yr old maxtor. I made a bootable flash drive and booted from that than installed win 7 onto the ssd from the flash drive.
I didn't copy anything.
So basically you reinstalled windows 7 on a new drive and things are acting goofy.

What mobo do you have? Did you install the proper drivers for it? That's the only thing that comes to mind for me that would cause keyboard/mouse problems unless you had a weird virus or physical shorts in the keyboard/mouse.

As for the computer performing bad, that could also be driver related.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 06:05 PM #1100
prpntblr95
Haters gonna Hate
 
prpntblr95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 702
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 supports Team VICIOUS
prpntblr95 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
prpntblr95 is Legendary
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra_MKIII View Post
So basically you reinstalled windows 7 on a new drive and things are acting goofy.

What mobo do you have? Did you install the proper drivers for it? That's the only thing that comes to mind for me that would cause keyboard/mouse problems unless you had a weird virus or physical shorts in the keyboard/mouse.

As for the computer performing bad, that could also be driver related.
Asrock Extreme 3 Gen 3
I'll check drivers now


Anyone have any idea's about the whole google chrome thing?

Video of Chrome issue for better explanation.

__________________

Last edited by prpntblr95 : 09-16-2012 at 06:35 PM.
prpntblr95 is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 06:49 PM #1101
Jules Winnfield
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
What SSD do you have?


My windows 7 install on my OCZ seemed to work fine, but after a few restarts Windows got corrupted or deleted*.




*note: This may have been my fault entirely since I was trying to erase two RAID 0 hard drives using Dban and other options, and may have accidentally the whole SSD. Pretty sure I only selected the RAID drives so who knows. So far so good since.
Jules Winnfield is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 06:53 PM #1102
prpntblr95
Haters gonna Hate
 
prpntblr95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 702
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 supports Team VICIOUS
prpntblr95 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
prpntblr95 is Legendary
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jules Winnfield View Post
What SSD do you have?


My windows 7 install on my OCZ seemed to work fine, but after a few restarts Windows got corrupted or deleted*.




*note: This may have been my fault entirely since I was trying to erase two RAID 0 hard drives using Dban and other options, and may have accidentally the whole SSD. Pretty sure I only selected the RAID drives so who knows. So far so good since.
Intel 710 Series ( Lyndonville)
__________________
prpntblr95 is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 07:01 PM #1103
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
That Chrome issue sounds like an issue with the actual browser more than the hardware or windows. Have you tried reinstalling chrome?
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 07:05 PM #1104
prpntblr95
Haters gonna Hate
 
prpntblr95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 702
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 supports Team VICIOUS
prpntblr95 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
prpntblr95 is Legendary
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra_MKIII View Post
That Chrome issue sounds like an issue with the actual browser more than the hardware or windows. Have you tried reinstalling chrome?
I have but I cannot find the download in the download folder to relaunch it. I'm still looking for it though


Re installed the newest version of Chrome, still doing the same thing.
__________________

Last edited by prpntblr95 : 09-16-2012 at 07:21 PM.
prpntblr95 is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 07:53 PM #1105
{InsertUsernameHere}
Butt Stuff
 
{InsertUsernameHere}'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 613
{InsertUsernameHere} has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
{InsertUsernameHere} has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
{InsertUsernameHere} has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Your mouse is ****ed, try another.
{InsertUsernameHere} is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 07:56 PM #1106
prpntblr95
Haters gonna Hate
 
prpntblr95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 702
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 supports Team VICIOUS
prpntblr95 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
prpntblr95 is Legendary
Quote:
Originally Posted by {InsertUsernameHere} View Post
Your mouse is ****ed, try another.
Mouse works fine. It's Chrome that isn't working properly.
__________________
prpntblr95 is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 08:15 PM #1107
big_scott
Has a good personality.
 
big_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Annual Supporting Member
big_scott is a founding member
big_scott is BST Legit
big_scott supports DLX Technology
Quote:
Originally Posted by They Call Me Rain
So an i5 is recommended.
What about an internal fan?
Unless you are getting an unclocked CPU and plan on overclocking, a new heat sink isn't really necessary.
__________________
big_scott is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 08:24 PM #1108
Jules Winnfield
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
And unclocked CPU? That doesn't sound too good.


You could overclock fine a bit with the factory heatsink, actually, you could probably do over a 1ghz overclock as long as you don't mind it being like 80+ celsius.

If that would bother you then get a Hyper 212+.

Last edited by Jules Winnfield : 09-16-2012 at 08:26 PM.
Jules Winnfield is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 08:47 PM #1109
big_scott
Has a good personality.
 
big_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Annual Supporting Member
big_scott is a founding member
big_scott is BST Legit
big_scott supports DLX Technology
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jules Winnfield View Post
And unclocked CPU? That doesn't sound too good.
You know what I meant, STFU.
__________________
big_scott is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 11:53 PM #1110
They Call Me Rain
Aaron
 
They Call Me Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York
Annual Supporting Member
They Call Me Rain is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
They Call Me Rain supports Empire
Explain over clocking to me lol
__________________
P!nkies Paintball
buy all my things.
They Call Me Rain is offline  
Old 09-17-2012, 12:14 AM #1111
Fuzzy R. McNuggs
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
the clock is pushed over
Fuzzy R. McNuggs is offline  
Old 09-17-2012, 12:25 AM #1112
They Call Me Rain
Aaron
 
They Call Me Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York
Annual Supporting Member
They Call Me Rain is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
They Call Me Rain supports Empire
Like when you boop something
__________________
P!nkies Paintball
buy all my things.
They Call Me Rain is offline  
Old 09-17-2012, 12:33 AM #1113
Fuzzy R. McNuggs
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
you put more electricity through your computer so that it faster but it gets hotter

lol i dunno

wish i did though since i bought an aftermarket cpu cooler and 2133 ram thats only 1600 if i dont overclock
Fuzzy R. McNuggs is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump