Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2012, 04:30 PM #1933
rs2606
USMC
 
rs2606's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Jacksonville FL
rs2606 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
rs2606 has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evolocity7 View Post
Having some frustrating problems here. I just purchased a new HDTV, and i'm trying to set it up as a dual monitor along with my smaller monitor.

I have a GTX560ti, and I'm using an HDMI cable to go from the back of it, to my HDTV, then a VGA cable also from the back of my 560ti, to my other smaller monitor.

I use UltraMon, and one problem I am having is switching my HDTV from monitor "2" to "1"...I can make it my pimary, but it's still labeled as "2". Is there a way to change this?

Another problem I am having, is that when I use the HDMI cable to my HDTV, the native resolution is coming up as 1360x768....Whereas if I use a VGA cable to my HDTV, it's 1080p. What gives? This HDTV is 1080p...So I don't understand...When I use the HDMI cable and set it as 1920x1080, all my icons and everything go off screen...
Where did you get the hdmi cable? I'd try another cable before changing anything else;

http://www.diyhtbuilds.com/showthrea...u-Need-to-Know
rs2606 is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 06-09-2012, 05:07 PM #1934
toolbandfan
The dude abides
 
toolbandfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
toolbandfan is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
toolbandfan is playing at Living Legends VII
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy R. McNuggs View Post
another techno logical noob question:
if i have a dedicated sound card do i have to connect the speakers directly to it or can i use the front panel?

Depends on the card, it would need the same audio connection the mobo has on the card so you can use it on the front ports.


What my card has.



Not sure what the side pins are for, I don't think anything came with my card that had those connections.
__________________
MY FEEDBACK!
toolbandfan is offline  
Old 06-09-2012, 10:01 PM #1935
M98custom1212
 
 
M98custom1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by rs2606 View Post
Where did you get the hdmi cable? I'd try another cable before changing anything else;

http://www.diyhtbuilds.com/showthrea...u-Need-to-Know
If the hdmi cable has a picture then it is working.
__________________

OLD FEEDBACK

No Custom Milling Without A Deposit
CAD/CAM Engineer
M98custom1212 is offline  
Old 06-09-2012, 10:13 PM #1936
Fuzzy R. McNuggs
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
>playing bf3
>crash
>finally an error message

DirextX function "getdeviceremovedreason" railed with DXGI_ERROR_Device: Device hung due to badly formed comands.. GPU: "Nividia Geforce GTX 68", Driver: 30142

anyone make anything of this?

need a new driver?
reinstall directx?
Fuzzy R. McNuggs is offline  
Old 06-09-2012, 10:39 PM #1937
M98custom1212
 
 
M98custom1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy R. McNuggs View Post
>playing bf3
>crash
>finally an error message

DirextX function "getdeviceremovedreason" railed with DXGI_ERROR_Device: Device hung due to badly formed comands.. GPU: "Nividia Geforce GTX 68", Driver: 30142

anyone make anything of this?

need a new driver?
reinstall directx?
I'm thinking directx failed.

Re install the drivers. make sure you do a clean install ( that should also install directx)
__________________

OLD FEEDBACK

No Custom Milling Without A Deposit
CAD/CAM Engineer
M98custom1212 is offline  
Old 06-09-2012, 11:21 PM #1938
big_scott
Has a good personality.
 
big_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Annual Supporting Member
big_scott is a founding member
big_scott is BST Legit
big_scott supports DLX Technology
How do you take apart a Rosewill Mech keyboard? My usb port finally broke and needs re soldered. I've taken out the three screws I can find, but it's still stuck tight.
__________________
big_scott is offline  
Old 06-09-2012, 11:41 PM #1939
*knock-out05*
Where's my boomstick?!
 
*knock-out05*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Keesler AFB, MS
*knock-out05* posts videos on PbNation
*knock-out05* is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
*knock-out05* is Legendary
Clips?
__________________
the Chive

T:GDT Rave | BBB | iPod/Zune/iPhone/iPod Touch Repair | WTB Broken iPods

ST: Tech : Danny, smartest in STT.
*knock-out05* is offline  
Old 06-09-2012, 11:48 PM #1940
Promagistrate
such motto
 
Promagistrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Promagistrate owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Promagistrate has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate supports DLX Technology
I'd just stick a flat head in it and wiggle it until part of it lifts, then take a peek.
__________________
wat
wat
wat
wat
wat
Promagistrate is offline  
Old 06-10-2012, 12:11 AM #1941
Oedipus
god save captain slow
 
Oedipus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Butts
Oedipus supports DLX Technology
Buy a Das.
__________________
ST:Tech -- Three solid failures away from emptying large quantities of ammunition into a daycare.
Oedipus is offline  
Old 06-10-2012, 12:25 AM #1942
erayser
AlternativePB.com
 
erayser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
erayser is a Moderator
erayser is a Supporting Member
erayser is BST Legit
No buy Filco.
erayser is offline  
Old 06-10-2012, 12:32 AM #1943
jcdenton69
****ter King
 
jcdenton69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Not Ohio
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by big_scott View Post
How do you take apart a Rosewill Mech keyboard? My usb port finally broke and needs re soldered. I've taken out the three screws I can find, but it's still stuck tight.
You're better off asking geekhack.org
jcdenton69 is offline  
Old 06-10-2012, 02:24 AM #1944
Blazestorm2
I like me
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oedipus View Post
Buy a Das.
Quote:
Originally Posted by erayser View Post
No buy Filco.
I went with a http://www.wasdkeyboards.com board. Similar to Filco in terms of quality, but more readily available and cheaper. I paid $90 for mine without keycaps + $8 for the wrist-rest. I already had a nice set of double-shot keys I got from a GH group-buy. It's better quality than the Ducky boards I had, and probably even the Das I have.
Blazestorm2 is offline  
Old 06-10-2012, 02:29 AM #1945
big_scott
Has a good personality.
 
big_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Annual Supporting Member
big_scott is a founding member
big_scott is BST Legit
big_scott supports DLX Technology
I know there was someone on here that has said they have touched up the solder on their Rosewill before, I just can't remember who it was.
__________________

Last edited by big_scott : 06-10-2012 at 02:34 AM.
big_scott is offline  
Old 06-10-2012, 09:35 AM #1946
erayser
AlternativePB.com
 
erayser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
erayser is a Moderator
erayser is a Supporting Member
erayser is BST Legit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blazestorm2 View Post
I went with a http://www.wasdkeyboards.com board. Similar to Filco in terms of quality, but more readily available and cheaper. I paid $90 for mine without keycaps + $8 for the wrist-rest. I already had a nice set of double-shot keys I got from a GH group-buy. It's better quality than the Ducky boards I had, and probably even the Das I have.
WASD are great keyboards. If they had a tenkeyless board, i would have bought from them. I was hoping to get PBT's from WASD, but they recently posted that they ran into issues and shelved the project
I'll have to try getting on some GH group buys, but the price of double-shots is discouraging... even in a GH group buy.
Quote:
Originally Posted by big_scott View Post
I know there was someone on here that has said they have touched up the solder on their Rosewill before, I just can't remember who it was.
Is this the post (below) you remembered? Personally, I wouldn't touch it, and RMA it with newegg. It should be an easy RMA since Rosewill is a newegg brand.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DayoftheGreek View Post
So the removable USB cable on the Rosewill mech keyboards is a great idea. Except apparently I move my keyboard around way too much and I already (2 months) managed to destroy the solder joints that hold the USB port onto the keyboard. I'll be sad to go without my keyboard for a couple weeks, but RMA should be easy enough.

I filled out the form yesterday and figured I would take care of it whenever. The RMA number is valid for like 2 weeks. Today I get a package from newegg with a brand new keyboard in it. I've only had to do two RMA's now, but both of them newegg shipped to me first. Neat.

Last edited by erayser : 06-10-2012 at 11:24 AM.
erayser is offline  
Old 06-10-2012, 04:27 PM #1947
Fuzzy R. McNuggs
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
le sigh
when will you release a new driver nvidia?!?
Fuzzy R. McNuggs is offline  
Old 06-10-2012, 04:41 PM #1948
Blazestorm2
I like me
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Singapore



Well I was happy with how it came out, keys feel awesome and the keyboard is well built.
Blazestorm2 is offline  
Old 06-10-2012, 05:10 PM #1949
DayoftheGreek
I hate you
 
DayoftheGreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burlington, NJ
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by big_scott View Post
I know there was someone on here that has said they have touched up the solder on their Rosewill before, I just can't remember who it was.
It was me. I actually just did it again because the joint just keeps failing every couple of months. I did RMA my first one, but it happened on the second one too. So after you get those three screws out, just go round the top and bottom edges with a narrow screw driver. The plastic shell is in two halves that snap together.

I'm now debating if I want to strip the USB cable, hardwire it into the PCB, and put it some type of strain relief. I also have some epoxy and I might just reinforce the USB connection.
__________________
FEEDBACK: http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.p...hreadid=665897

1/30/08: I was there when the plane flew but everyone was still stupid.
DayoftheGreek is online now  
Old 06-10-2012, 05:45 PM #1950
big_scott
Has a good personality.
 
big_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Annual Supporting Member
big_scott is a founding member
big_scott is BST Legit
big_scott supports DLX Technology
Thanks. Finally got it pried apart after practice today and it's fixed.
__________________
big_scott is offline  
Old 06-10-2012, 08:55 PM #1951
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
 
akward silence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
 has been a member for 10 years
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
Finally found...actually I finally started looking and stumbled across a long enough Cat5e cable to move my computer to the extra bedroom at the end of the hall. 100' for $20 at home depot
__________________
+14/-0
2014 Forester XT
2008 335i
OSTT GURU
akward silence is offline  
Old 06-10-2012, 09:01 PM #1952
Oedipus
god save captain slow
 
Oedipus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Butts
Oedipus supports DLX Technology
Smokin' deal.
__________________
ST:Tech -- Three solid failures away from emptying large quantities of ammunition into a daycare.
Oedipus is offline  
Old 06-10-2012, 09:03 PM #1953
Blazestorm2
I like me
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Singapore
http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...s_id=10208 14

I wub monoprice. I do advise Cat5E over Cat6 though... Cat6 cables have some extra plastic channel that goes through the center of the cable, makes them stiffer and hard to route/wrap up. But the performance is nearly identical I get ~100MB/s transfers over my network across 3 switches and 150+ feet of Cat5E.
Blazestorm2 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump