Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-2012, 01:55 AM #106
*knock-out05*
Where's my boomstick?!
 
*knock-out05*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Keesler AFB, MS
*knock-out05* posts videos on PbNation
*knock-out05* is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
*knock-out05* is Legendary
>nect boot
__________________
the Chive

T:GDT Rave | BBB | iPod/Zune/iPhone/iPod Touch Repair | WTB Broken iPods

ST: Tech : Danny, smartest in STT.
*knock-out05* is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 04-10-2012, 01:59 AM #107
Promagistrate
such motto
 
Promagistrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Promagistrate owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Promagistrate has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate supports DLX Technology
Quote:
Originally Posted by *knock-out05* View Post
>nect boot
aw jeez, I wish the stock browser had autocorrect. I try to proofread the hooplah I post from my phone but stuff gets past. Too sleepy to fix it now.
__________________
wat
wat
wat
wat
wat
Promagistrate is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 02:04 AM #108
Oedipus
god save captain slow
 
Oedipus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Butts
Oedipus supports DLX Technology
The stock browser on the nexus doesn't have autocorrect? Are you sure?
Oedipus is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 02:06 AM #109
Promagistrate
such motto
 
Promagistrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Promagistrate owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Promagistrate has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate supports DLX Technology
Well it isn't enabled by default, and i'll be damned if there isn't a menu entry for it
__________________
wat
wat
wat
wat
wat
Promagistrate is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 02:29 AM #110
Oedipus
god save captain slow
 
Oedipus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Butts
Oedipus supports DLX Technology
It's under Settings > Language and Keyboard > Touch input > text input on my phone.
Oedipus is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 02:32 AM #111
*knock-out05*
Where's my boomstick?!
 
*knock-out05*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Keesler AFB, MS
*knock-out05* posts videos on PbNation
*knock-out05* is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
*knock-out05* is Legendary
Its not enabled by default for me.
__________________
the Chive

T:GDT Rave | BBB | iPod/Zune/iPhone/iPod Touch Repair | WTB Broken iPods

ST: Tech : Danny, smartest in STT.
*knock-out05* is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 02:41 AM #112
Promagistrate
such motto
 
Promagistrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Promagistrate owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Promagistrate has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate supports DLX Technology
Apparently it was a bug in 4.0.2 or something; just updated to 4.0.4 and it's working now.
__________________
wat
wat
wat
wat
wat
Promagistrate is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:13 AM #113
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
 
akward silence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
 has been a member for 10 years
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
Quote:
Originally Posted by paintballking72 View Post
Well with all this speak of video cards. I think my video card is causing my problems with running Car Pack mods on GTA IV. Don't think my card can handle loading all those HD cars, even though all my other settings are set on low.
Did you go with the 550? My 560 runs the car packs pretty well. We may be using different car packs though.
__________________
+14/-0
2014 Forester XT
2008 335i
OSTT GURU
F/S: EVGA GTX770 Classified
akward silence is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 10:03 AM #114
paintballking72
Yummy! :-)
 
paintballking72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Midwest(Ks) ((316))
paintballking72 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oedipus View Post
What card do you have?
Quote:
Originally Posted by akward silence View Post
Did you go with the 550? My 560 runs the car packs pretty well. We may be using different car packs though.
I went with the 6850. Maybe it's just the way I'm setting everything up

The car packs I've been using come in three parts. Maybe I'm messing that up. It basically just takes a while to load the map textures sometimes. I can see people and cars just fine. If I'm driving around though, sometimes the ground won't load correctly or a concrete barriers don't load and I slam into them.

It really stinks because I think the car packs just make the game that much cooler.
paintballking72 is online now  
Old 04-10-2012, 10:27 AM #115
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
 
akward silence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
 has been a member for 10 years
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
Quote:
Originally Posted by paintballking72 View Post
I went with the 6850. Maybe it's just the way I'm setting everything up

The car packs I've been using come in three parts. Maybe I'm messing that up. It basically just takes a while to load the map textures sometimes. I can see people and cars just fine. If I'm driving around though, sometimes the ground won't load correctly or a concrete barriers don't load and I slam into them.

It really stinks because I think the car packs just make the game that much cooler.
I had that problem until I tried playing it on this computer. Maybe your card can't handle it? I don't know.
__________________
+14/-0
2014 Forester XT
2008 335i
OSTT GURU
F/S: EVGA GTX770 Classified
akward silence is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 10:33 AM #116
toolbandfan
The dude abides
 
toolbandfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
toolbandfan is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
toolbandfan is playing at Living Legends VII
I have a GTX 460 768mb, pretty sure that's not as good as a 6850, and a Intel Q9450 and 4gb of ram.


Maybe your settings are too high? Also, turn off night shadows in the video settings, that improved fps a lot for me.
toolbandfan is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 10:37 AM #117
paintballking72
Yummy! :-)
 
paintballking72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Midwest(Ks) ((316))
paintballking72 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
That's what I'm thinking.

edit: I switched everything to low. I didn't turn off night shadows though. I thought you didn't do car packs?
paintballking72 is online now  
Old 04-10-2012, 11:46 AM #118
erayser
AlternativePB.com
 
erayser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
erayser is a Moderator
erayser is a Supporting Member
erayser is BST Legit
Drivers might be a hit and miss... Sometimes downgrading can improve performance. My 580's ard doing fine with the new Nvidia 269.10 driver. There is one game that (I don't play anymore) locked on me after a few minutes when I turn on DX11, but it seems to be more stable now. I still wouldn't recommend updating from all the issues I've seen on youtube and read about on forums.

OT: I have to remind myself not to order Amazon Prime 2 day free shipping on Saturday... feels like a week to get my order.
erayser is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 05:56 PM #119
mrpurplehawk
Whoops, my gun jammed.
 
mrpurplehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sachse, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by paintballking72 View Post
I went with the 6850. Maybe it's just the way I'm setting everything up

The car packs I've been using come in three parts. Maybe I'm messing that up. It basically just takes a while to load the map textures sometimes. I can see people and cars just fine. If I'm driving around though, sometimes the ground won't load correctly or a concrete barriers don't load and I slam into them.

It really stinks because I think the car packs just make the game that much cooler.
Quote:
Originally Posted by akward silence View Post
I had that problem until I tried playing it on this computer. Maybe your card can't handle it? I don't know.


what car packs are y'all using? I havent even got one to work yet, its been quite frustrating
__________________
Steam | Battlelog |
"Crazy" is, I believe, the medical term
When we wanna recover, but we don't wanna learn
mrpurplehawk is online now  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:16 PM #120
stevie1013
 
 
stevie1013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NoVa
stevie1013 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
stevie1013 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
stevie1013 supports Pev's Paintball
stevie1013 plays in the APPA beginner division
So it's not exactly a desktop, but I'm looking for a college laptop. Out of these two which would you pick(Engineering student, with a powerful gaming desktop).

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834131223

http://www.officedepot.com/a/product...Computer-With/

If you have any other suggestions please let me know(Build quality must be there, preferably aluminum).
__________________
...

Last edited by stevie1013 : 04-10-2012 at 09:20 PM.
stevie1013 is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:17 PM #121
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Can't see the first link.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:20 PM #122
stevie1013
 
 
stevie1013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NoVa
stevie1013 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
stevie1013 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
stevie1013 supports Pev's Paintball
stevie1013 plays in the APPA beginner division
It's fixed, sorry about that. I'm just worried about size on some of the lecture hall desks.
__________________
...
stevie1013 is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:24 PM #123
Ynnekdude
Carpe Diem
 
Ynnekdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevie1013 View Post
So it's not exactly a desktop, but I'm looking for a college laptop. Out of these two which would you pick(Engineering student, with a powerful gaming desktop).

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834131223

http://www.officedepot.com/a/product...Computer-With/

If you have any other suggestions please let me know(Build quality must be there, preferably aluminum).
So you're just looking for a laptop to use for school stuff like taking notes and writing papers?
__________________
"This is a hard job, and I'm not just saying this to win favour with lorry drivers. It's a hard job - change gear, change gear, change gear, check your mirrors, murder a prostitute, change gear, change gear, murder. That's a lot of effort in a day."


Russian Legion Fanclub #16
Ynnekdude is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:30 PM #124
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Seeing that you've got a powerful desktop for gaming, I'd get something 13-14". 15" is sort of heavy-ish, and 17 is just too much for most people.

Also, don't get an i7 for that. Get something with a bigger battery and i3, MAYBE i5. Nothing worse than getting a brand new laptop and having it last an hour before you have to plug it in.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:43 PM #125
stevie1013
 
 
stevie1013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NoVa
stevie1013 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
stevie1013 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
stevie1013 supports Pev's Paintball
stevie1013 plays in the APPA beginner division
Mainly notes/netflix/streams/reddit.
__________________
...
stevie1013 is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:46 PM #126
Promagistrate
such motto
 
Promagistrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Promagistrate owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Promagistrate has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate supports DLX Technology
You don't need anything too powerful. personally for something like that I'd go for lighter and longer lasting (battery and build quality). SSD would be preferable, especially if you can store the majority of your files in dropbox or a nas setup or something similar.
__________________
wat
wat
wat
wat
wat
Promagistrate is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump