Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2012, 06:48 PM #1
rshin
 
 
rshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
quick audio question: xbox to tv to pc to external speakers

not really sure how to organize this question but here it goes

so i plan on buying a logitech xd 540 (a cheaper 5.1 surround sound system)
i will hook it up to my computer.
the logitech requires the green, orange, and black output jacks on my pc
if i get a male to male audio cable, stick that in my pc input and then into my tv output, will the sounds from my 360, which i have hooked up to the tv via a hdmi cable, play through the speakers that are hooked up to my computer?

i sure hope so

if not, how would i go about doing that while still using the hdmi cable

Last edited by rshin : 05-24-2012 at 06:52 PM.
rshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 05-31-2012, 09:47 AM #2
reshafer
 
 
reshafer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
reshafer owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
reshafer is attending Decay of Nations VII
That could work the only problem you will run in to is not having true surround from your tv as the output will be just stereo. One thing you could also do is use male RCA outs from the tv and go directly into the Logitech with a standard 1/8" jack. These cables can be found basically anywhere
reshafer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 10:37 AM #3
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Quote:
Originally Posted by reshafer View Post
That could work the only problem you will run in to is not having true surround from your tv as the output will be just stereo. One thing you could also do is use male RCA outs from the tv and go directly into the Logitech with a standard 1/8" jack. These cables can be found basically anywhere
Get your 5 posts elsewhere.

OP - no, your computer won't echo what's going into it's microphone input by default. I'm not sure if you can set it up to do so.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 10:54 AM #4
{InsertUsernameHere}
Butt Stuff
 
{InsertUsernameHere}'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 613
{InsertUsernameHere} has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
{InsertUsernameHere} has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
{InsertUsernameHere} has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit


You can try this, don't know how good it will sound though.
{InsertUsernameHere} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 10:06 PM #5
TriggersDown
 
 
TriggersDown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Diego,CA
TriggersDown owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
TriggersDown has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TriggersDown has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Cable-Ad...8516133&sr=8-1

And

http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-Y-Audio...16284&sr =1-5

Adapter goes on xbox, The Y connects to that adapter and the single 3.5mm goes into your speaker systems input.
__________________
Upgraded Blue PM6
TriggersDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 05:46 AM #6
rshin
 
 
rshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by TriggersDown View Post
http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Cable-Ad...8516133&sr=8-1

And

http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-Y-Audio...16284&sr =1-5

Adapter goes on xbox, The Y connects to that adapter and the single 3.5mm goes into your speaker systems input.
i would like to use my hdmi cable if it all possible.
how would my comp be connected to the speaker system?

and if this is of any help
http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-me...x=0&isremote=0
^that's what i want to buy. and it doesn't have a single input, it has 3,lolol
rshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 05:08 PM #7
TriggersDown
 
 
TriggersDown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Diego,CA
TriggersDown owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
TriggersDown has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TriggersDown has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Quote:
Originally Posted by rshin View Post
i would like to use my hdmi cable if it all possible.
how would my comp be connected to the speaker system?

and if this is of any help
http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-me...x=0&isremote=0
^that's what i want to buy. and it doesn't have a single input, it has 3,lolol
I'm not so sure about the hdmi part.
If you want to connect the computer you can always get and extra 3.5mm and a Y cable.

And the 3.5mm connects to the Green one (front)

So the Y cable (http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-F8Z359t...8584601&sr=8-3) connects to the front port (green) of the speaker.
Leaving two free ones.

Then the one from the xbox connects to one of them.
And you use another 3.5mm cable (http://www.amazon.com/Cables-Unlimit...84 963&sr=1-1) that goes from your computer (Green again) to the other extra 3.5mm female in the speakers.

I would avoid setting it up as you suggested. When I did that there was way too much static noise/electronic noise (buzzing).
__________________
Upgraded Blue PM6
TriggersDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump