Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-02-2013, 05:27 AM #1471
Fuzzy R.
 
 
Join Date: May 2013
been thinking about getting an elder scrolls game

at 80 dollars might just get this

http://www.ign.com/articles/2013/08/...olls-anthology
Fuzzy R. is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 08-02-2013, 05:41 AM #1472
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
 
akward silence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
 has been a member for 10 years
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
I'd get skyrim unless you plan to play the older games. Skyrim is $22ish on steam right now.
__________________
+14/-0
2014 Forester XT
2008 335i
OSTT GURU
akward silence is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 06:55 AM #1473
ElPanda
CAD/CAM
 
ElPanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Parts Unknown
how have the graphics held up on pc for the mass effect series? I am thinking about getting the whole trilogy to play on pc just to say I did

also, downloaded fraps last night, got a quick test video to get the capture and editing down, those files are HUGE haha, I had 11 minutes of raw BF3 gameplay that weighed in at around 54 gigs

picking up a 2TB hard drive to back up my 1TB that I will use exclusively for fraps storage, also going to pick up 3 more sticks of 8 gig kingston ram so I can run the max supported quad channel on this setup

why? because america

__________________

ABET Accredited Level II Machinist - CNC programmer - Mech. Engineering Technologist
Polarst*r Engineering and Machine

ElPanda is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 07:12 AM #1474
Fuzzy R.
 
 
Join Date: May 2013
i started playing BF3 with the lowest possible graphics

same performance, same frames, same enjoyment

lol

actually reminds me more of bf2
Fuzzy R. is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 07:18 AM #1475
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
 
akward silence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
 has been a member for 10 years
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
I played maxed (for a while) out on my SLI gtx680 setup. It still hung up a few times. I turned things down a bit and, while I noticed a decrease in quality, my performance went way up. I guess the more vram the better for that game. My 2gb cards weren't enough. Whatever I get next will, hopefully, have more.
__________________
+14/-0
2014 Forester XT
2008 335i
OSTT GURU
akward silence is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 11:11 AM #1476
erayser
AlternativePB.com
 
erayser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Annual Supporting Member
erayser is a Moderator
erayser is a Supporting Member
erayser is BST Legit
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElPanda View Post
how have the graphics held up on pc for the mass effect series? I am thinking about getting the whole trilogy to play on pc just to say I did
I played all the mass effect series on PC and console. If you are thinking of playing the series again... get the trilogy on PC. Load times are seamless... which makes the games more enjoyable. Also, I prefer WASD kb/mouse over the controller for the ME series. Plus, you have a good fast monitor. I played the series on my 42" TV... and I didn't know what input lag was until I got my monitor setup. Brutes and husks don't have a chance to get close to me now... I even enjoy the sniper rifle more. I rarely used a sniper rifle on any game... since I couldn't hit anything... lol.
erayser is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 11:32 AM #1477
Kazer
 
 
Kazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
 has been a member for 10 years
Kazer supports DLX Technology
I have never played ME, I just started playing Boarderlands 2 and have all the DLC from the steam sale. I am only level 19 but its fun. Quest wise I did through sanctuary's relocation and some of the scarlet quest line in the oasis area. I can't wait to get to the Tiny Tina DLC since her quests were some of the better ones.
Kazer is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 11:32 AM #1478
lowbudgethero
Boomer
 
lowbudgethero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 908/570
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by akward silence View Post
I'd get skyrim unless you plan to play the older games. Skyrim is $22ish on steam right now.
skyrim + mods > every other eldarscrolls however plots are not that much better
lowbudgethero is online now  
Old 08-02-2013, 11:40 AM #1479
digitard
GregRedHastings.com
 
digitard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Annual Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
digitard works for a Paintball manufacturer
digitard plays in the APPA beginner division
digitard is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
digitard supports Empire
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowbudgethero View Post
skyrim + mods > every other eldarscrolls however plots are not that much better
Agreed but if you haven't played the prior take a chance to do it. They're still fun.

Just before Skyrim came out I picked up Oblivion again for fun. Had a blast playing it still.

Plus it's always fun to rock the Dark Brotherhood!
digitard is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 12:08 PM #1480
Treghc
 
 
Treghc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Seattle
Treghc is a Supporting Member
Treghc is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
Treghc is a Forum Captain
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElPanda View Post
how have the graphics held up on pc for the mass effect series? I am thinking about getting the whole trilogy to play on pc just to say I did

also, downloaded fraps last night, got a quick test video to get the capture and editing down, those files are HUGE haha, I had 11 minutes of raw BF3 gameplay that weighed in at around 54 gigs

picking up a 2TB hard drive to back up my 1TB that I will use exclusively for fraps storage, also going to pick up 3 more sticks of 8 gig kingston ram so I can run the max supported quad channel on this setup

why? because america
FRAPS is rather horrible for recording video. If you have the methods to acquire it, use dxtory. Far superior , more open-ended and much more customizable for video and audio codecs and the like.

In short, you get better quality video/audio with a smaller file size with dxtory. Some codecs also support multiple audio channels, which is great for using different channels for in-game sound, skype/ventrilo/whatever sound, and your own mic input sound. Lets you edit the audio independently so you can balance volumes and get those areas in where you just want in-game sound and the like.
__________________
“But men, they say a lot of foolish things. In the end, the only words I can find to believe in are mine." - Joe

Tarsier Slave


We are Sapien
Treghc is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 12:14 PM #1481
Kazer
 
 
Kazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
 has been a member for 10 years
Kazer supports DLX Technology
Nvidia is building a FRAPS like tool into the Experience app. Hopefully it turns out to be decent and free with video card purchase is always nice.
Kazer is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 02:31 PM #1482
Cmizzle
Full Time Tape Head
 
Cmizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
That would be nice, since fraps is kind of ****ty.
Cmizzle is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 04:01 PM #1483
Treghc
 
 
Treghc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Seattle
Treghc is a Supporting Member
Treghc is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
Treghc is a Forum Captain
Again, just use dxtory. Problem solved
__________________
“But men, they say a lot of foolish things. In the end, the only words I can find to believe in are mine." - Joe

Tarsier Slave


We are Sapien
Treghc is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 04:24 PM #1484
Cmizzle
Full Time Tape Head
 
Cmizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
I've always wanted to record some of my bf3 games because there's so much random **** that goes on. But I don't really have the extra space on my HDD to fill up and I'm also on 1440p so I could only imagine the file sizes.
Cmizzle is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 04:25 PM #1485
madgoat
Troll_Extraordinaire
 
madgoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Homewood, IL
madgoat has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmizzle View Post
I've always wanted to record some of my bf3 games because there's so much random **** that goes on. But I don't really have the extra space on my HDD to fill up and I'm also on 1440p so I could only imagine the file sizes.
couple kb's
__________________
Honey Badger University Professor of Women Studies, Dean of Student Affairs
madgoat is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 04:38 PM #1486
Cmizzle
Full Time Tape Head
 
Cmizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
you're a pretty ****ty troll
Cmizzle is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 04:39 PM #1487
paintballking72
Yummy! :-)
 
paintballking72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Midwest(Ks) ((316))
paintballking72 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
I just use OpenBroadcaster and stream to a password locked twitch stream. That way I can record in 1080p, and then I can highlight and post anything I want to youtube. I don't really care about keeping raw recording.

You do have to have a pretty decent upload speed in order to stream 1080p though.
paintballking72 is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 05:43 PM #1488
big_scott
Has a good personality.
 
big_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Annual Supporting Member
big_scott is a founding member
big_scott is BST Legit
big_scott supports DLX Technology
Converting video from Twitch to Youtube tends to ruin the quality in my experience.
__________________
big_scott is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 06:28 PM #1489
paintballking72
Yummy! :-)
 
paintballking72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Midwest(Ks) ((316))
paintballking72 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
It is definitely not as good as raw files, but if you get all your settings right, it can still look pretty good. And it beats storing massive files on your computer if you are recording for long lengths of time.
paintballking72 is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 06:39 PM #1490
ElPanda
CAD/CAM
 
ElPanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Parts Unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by akward silence View Post
I played maxed (for a while) out on my SLI gtx680 setup. It still hung up a few times. I turned things down a bit and, while I noticed a decrease in quality, my performance went way up. I guess the more vram the better for that game. My 2gb cards weren't enough. Whatever I get next will, hopefully, have more.
The only decrease in performance I have seen so far was last night with fraps recording, dropped probably 15 fps

its super smooth, even maxed, makes playing a breeze when **** isnt stuttering all over the place
__________________

ABET Accredited Level II Machinist - CNC programmer - Mech. Engineering Technologist
Polarst*r Engineering and Machine

ElPanda is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 07:18 PM #1491
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
 
akward silence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
 has been a member for 10 years
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
I'm with you panda.

Fast upload? Like 50Mb/s? I love my fios Internet.
__________________
+14/-0
2014 Forester XT
2008 335i
OSTT GURU
akward silence is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump