Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2011, 04:12 PM #1
prpntblr95
Haters gonna Hate
 
prpntblr95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 702
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 supports Team VICIOUS
prpntblr95 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
prpntblr95 is Legendary
Car ---> Home

Need help wiring my car subs, amp and head unit in my bedroom.

I have it plugged into a 12v car battery but the amp is still not getting power



any and all help is welcome, please keep the negativity to a minimum though
__________________
prpntblr95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 11-22-2011, 04:18 PM #2
OhIoCoNtRActKilLa
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
For why?
OhIoCoNtRActKilLa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 04:32 PM #3
BadMrKnuckuls
dinkinflicka
 
BadMrKnuckuls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by OhIoCoNtRActKilLa View Post
For why?
what this guy said

but hooked up to a car battery, you will probably only get like a couple hours of use with out an alternator charging it. I believe you would need some sort of 12v power inverter. Talk to your local car audio shop guy and see how they set up their display stuff.
__________________
LSU paintball#31

Last edited by BadMrKnuckuls : 11-22-2011 at 04:40 PM.
BadMrKnuckuls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 04:40 PM #4
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
1. That is going to kill that battery quick. Get a 12v power supply instead with sufficient amperage for the amp.

2. You need power to go to the power, ground to go to the negative, and the remote wire should be connected to a switched +12v source. The remote tells the amp to turn on.

If that doesn't work. Check your fuses.

But really, don't setup a car battery in your room to power your amp
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 04:57 PM #5
toolbandfan
The dude abides
 
toolbandfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
toolbandfan is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
toolbandfan is playing at Living Legends VII
Wat.
__________________
MY FEEDBACK!
toolbandfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 05:05 PM #6
prpntblr95
Haters gonna Hate
 
prpntblr95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 702
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 supports Team VICIOUS
prpntblr95 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
prpntblr95 is Legendary
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadMrKnuckuls View Post
what this guy said

but hooked up to a car battery, you will probably only get like a couple hours of use with out an alternator charging it. I believe you would need some sort of 12v power inverter. Talk to your local car audio shop guy and see how they set up their display stuff.
There all dicks, they said my subs won't work unless I buy the "matching" amp which everyone knows is bull ****
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra_MKIII View Post
1. That is going to kill that battery quick. Get a 12v power supply instead with sufficient amperage for the amp.

2. You need power to go to the power, ground to go to the negative, and the remote wire should be connected to a switched +12v source. The remote tells the amp to turn on.

If that doesn't work. Check your fuses.

But really, don't setup a car battery in your room to power your amp
I know it will kill the battery in a few ohurs, I have it on a charger every 2-3 hours cycling it. The battery dying isnt a issue. It's the amp getting power is what I'm having issue's with
__________________
prpntblr95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 05:28 PM #7
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
If you have 12v negative going to ground, positive going to power and remote, and your fuses are good, and the amp isn't turning on, then the amp is broken or the battery isn't providing enough voltage.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 05:35 PM #8
prpntblr95
Haters gonna Hate
 
prpntblr95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 702
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 supports Team VICIOUS
prpntblr95 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
prpntblr95 is Legendary
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra_MKIII View Post
If you have 12v negative going to ground, positive going to power and remote, and your fuses are good, and the amp isn't turning on, then the amp is broken or the battery isn't providing enough voltage.
I got that part working now



Now I gotta get power to the head unit. I'm assuming it's the yellow and red wires but I don't know what to t with them or where to connect them
__________________
prpntblr95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 05:37 PM #9
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think


Why are you doing this? I don't understand. It would be cheaper and probably provide better sound to get a HTIB.

Anyway. Red is constant power, yellow is switched power (supposed to be connected to the car's ignition), black is ground, colors for speaker wires might differ per head unit, blue is the remote wire that tells the amp when to turn on. Don't worry about the orange wire, that's for the radio to tell the antenna on your car when to go full staff.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 07:56 PM #10
prpntblr95
Haters gonna Hate
 
prpntblr95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 702
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 supports Team VICIOUS
prpntblr95 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
prpntblr95 is Legendary
Ok I got it working and now it's like dead, no power anywhere but yet the battery is fully charged when I put it in my car or put a charger in it

Any other way I can test it besides a load test or possibly a hydrometer test?
__________________
prpntblr95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 07:58 PM #11
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Get a multimeter and check voltage first...... Powering on doesn't use much power, it's when you start playing ****ty bass-heavy music that you're going to really be sucking the juice out of it.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:07 PM #12
prpntblr95
Haters gonna Hate
 
prpntblr95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 702
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 supports Team VICIOUS
prpntblr95 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
prpntblr95 is Legendary
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra_MKIII View Post
Get a multimeter and check voltage first...... Powering on doesn't use much power, it's when you start playing ****ty bass-heavy music that you're going to really be sucking the juice out of it.
It's been charging for 2+ hours now. I'm not sure what happened to it
__________________
prpntblr95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:09 PM #13
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Did you check the voltage? What'd it read? What is and isn't working? Is everything not turning on?
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:40 PM #14
Promagistrate
such motto
 
Promagistrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Promagistrate owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Promagistrate has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate supports DLX Technology
if you're charging the battery in your room and light a flame near the battery, you're probably going to end up blowing yourself up.
Promagistrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 09:06 PM #15
prpntblr95
Haters gonna Hate
 
prpntblr95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 702
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 supports Team VICIOUS
prpntblr95 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
prpntblr95 is Legendary
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra_MKIII View Post
Did you check the voltage? What'd it read? What is and isn't working? Is everything not turning on?
No power is getting threw
Quote:
Originally Posted by Promagistrate View Post
if you're charging the battery in your room and light a flame near the battery, you're probably going to end up blowing yourself up.
Lol no theres no lights or flames
__________________
prpntblr95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 09:07 PM #16
toolbandfan
The dude abides
 
toolbandfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
toolbandfan is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
toolbandfan is playing at Living Legends VII
Quote:
Originally Posted by Promagistrate View Post
if you're charging the battery in your room and light a flame near the battery, you're probably going to end up blowing yourself up.


Uh, what? Maybe I missed the joke but why would that blow him up?
__________________
MY FEEDBACK!
toolbandfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 09:08 PM #17
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Quote:
Originally Posted by prpntblr95 View Post
No power is getting threw
No power is getting through? You mean nothing's turning on?
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 09:15 PM #18
Promagistrate
such motto
 
Promagistrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Promagistrate owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Promagistrate has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate supports DLX Technology
Quote:
Originally Posted by toolbandfan View Post
Uh, what? Maybe I missed the joke but why would that blow him up?
hydrogen gas
Promagistrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 09:59 PM #19
prpntblr95
Haters gonna Hate
 
prpntblr95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 702
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 supports Team VICIOUS
prpntblr95 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
prpntblr95 is Legendary
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra_MKIII View Post
No power is getting through? You mean nothing's turning on?
Theres no on or off switch
__________________
prpntblr95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 12:11 AM #20
travisxcore
Shoop da Whoop.
 
travisxcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: [704]
travisxcore helped look for balloons
travisxcore is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Stupidest thing I've ever heard of someone doing but heres a diagram of what to do.



If theres no power getting through, either your batteries ****ed or if you didn't test the wires to see if powers going through you might need a higher gauge wire to fully power the amp.

Last edited by travisxcore : 11-23-2011 at 12:19 AM.
travisxcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 02:20 AM #21
prpntblr95
Haters gonna Hate
 
prpntblr95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 702
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
prpntblr95 supports Team VICIOUS
prpntblr95 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
prpntblr95 is Legendary
Quote:
Originally Posted by travisxcore View Post
Stupidest thing I've ever heard of someone doing but heres a diagram of what to do.



If theres no power getting through, either your batteries ****ed or if you didn't test the wires to see if powers going through you might need a higher gauge wire to fully power the amp.
Haha thank you
__________________
prpntblr95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump