Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2012, 04:09 PM #1
pbf_98
Zombie baller
 
pbf_98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Glenwood, MN
pbf_98 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
pbf_98 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Subwoofer with computer

I took out my subwoofers from my old car and now I have 2 12in subs with an amp just laying around, and was curious if anyone knew any ways to set it up so I'd be able to use them with my computer.
I have done some reading and a few people have said they used a computer power supply for powering the amp, but they did not describe what exactly they did to accomplish that.
I have many power supplies laying around and if I could figure out how to do that I'd easily be able to get rca cables to plug them into my computer.

Any thoughts tips suggestions, warnings?

Thanks for any help
__________________
Feed Back
Dye Rotor
09 PMR Airforce 1

Intimidators Own!
Clear Halo V35
2k4 Species Intimidator
pbf_98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 01-15-2012, 04:15 PM #2
travisxcore
Shoop da Whoop.
 
travisxcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: [704]
travisxcore helped look for balloons
travisxcore is reppin' sidebar 4 life
It'll sound like ****. Someone asked this same question last month. Its stupid. Its ridiculous.
travisxcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 04:17 PM #3
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Get a proper home amplifier or don't bother.

PC PSUs aren't made for what you're trying to do.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 05:05 PM #4
Angry_Birds
Money over *****es
 
Angry_Birds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fairfax, VA
I don't get some people. A decent set of computer speakers is maybe $100-$150. If you can't afford that, you really shouldn't be spending money on luxuries like car stereo.
__________________
Hop your pretty *** up in this ****ing car
***** I'm out this world girl you know I'm a star
Angry_Birds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 05:26 PM #5
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angry_Birds View Post
I don't get some people. A decent set of computer speakers is maybe $100-$150. If you can't afford that, you really shouldn't be spending money on luxuries like car stereo.
Let's not assume we know anyone's situation.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 06:28 PM #6
paintballking72
Yummy! :-)
 
paintballking72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Midwest(Ks) ((316))
paintballking72 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra_MKIII View Post
Let's not assume we know anyone's situation.
This.

He just stated that he took them out of his old car and they are just lying around. He didn't say that he JUST went out and bought hundreds of dollars of car stereo equipment.

In his mind he has speakers already, so why go buy $100 dollar computer speakers if he could save some money.

He obviously didn't know if it was a good idea, so he asked. Atleast he didn't come in asking which laptop to buy like 98.49384% of all the other scrubs.
paintballking72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 06:40 PM #7
travisxcore
Shoop da Whoop.
 
travisxcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: [704]
travisxcore helped look for balloons
travisxcore is reppin' sidebar 4 life
After they've already bought it*
travisxcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 06:53 PM #8
AuxiliaryPie
iLurk
 
AuxiliaryPie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NE Ohio
"**** all of you im just gonna go with what i originally thought, alienware alll dayyy!"
__________________
J.F.G.I.- Just ****ing Google It
AuxiliaryPie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:14 AM #9
Bon'Qui'Qui
Forum BOSS
 
Bon'Qui'Qui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Not this again

There's no way you can still be convinced that this is going to work...

Quote:
Originally Posted by paintballking72 View Post
This.

He just stated that he took them out of his old car and they are just lying around. He didn't say that he JUST went out and bought hundreds of dollars of car stereo equipment.
Right. So he should sell them and buy a stereo system that's made for what he wants to do.
Bon'Qui'Qui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:18 AM #10
lnopia
2010 is the new 2007
 
lnopia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Just out of curiosity, what doesn't make it work? Only thing anyone has mentioned was power supply from computer won't work right with the amp
__________________
xbl- MUSKA THE GREAT

You will receive your crabs in a vial, in a plain handwriten address envelope.
Anyone who happens to find your package will see nothing suggesting you bought crabs on the internet.
lnopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:24 AM #11
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
There are plenty of reasons, but the simplest is probably that the output of a PC power supply will be 12v, but it's going to be going through 16awg wire or thinner.

I don't have the numbers on 16awg, but I do know that 14awg can only feed 130w or so through an efficient class D amp.

You do NOT want to pull more than 7 amps through 16awg, and most sub amps are capable of 40 amps or more.

Watts = volts * amps
so we're looking at a whopping 90 watts assuming a 100% efficient amp. Obviously in reality that doesn't happen, so you're going to be feeding 70w or so at max to 2 12" subs. Probably barely enough to hear them.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod

Last edited by Supra_MKIII : 01-16-2012 at 10:29 AM.
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 04:42 PM #12
draco1990
 
 
draco1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 714, SoCal
I have no clue how to get power to the subs and amp but if you can, i think i know how you could hook up the sound system to your computer

I think what you could do is get an audio receiver to plug in all the speakers, subs, amps, etc. then get an audio card for your computer so you can plug the cables from the receiver to the computer

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829271004

that would be the kind of audio/sound card you may need to make it work and i do not could if there are cheaper ones

Last edited by draco1990 : 01-18-2012 at 04:47 PM.
draco1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 06:39 PM #13
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Quote:
Originally Posted by draco1990 View Post
I have no clue how to get power to the subs and amp but if you can, i think i know how you could hook up the sound system to your computer

I think what you could do is get an audio receiver to plug in all the speakers, subs, amps, etc. then get an audio card for your computer so you can plug the cables from the receiver to the computer

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829271004

that would be the kind of audio/sound card you may need to make it work and i do not could if there are cheaper ones
That isn't the issue...

Any remotely current sound card (or even the onboard of a mobo) has a 3.5mm jack just for a subwoofer. You can get a 3.5mm to RCA connectors. Almost all car amplifiers use RCA.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 02:02 PM #14
Kid named puoS (Banned)
TooBlaked
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: KS & FL
Kid named puoS supports Team VICIOUS
Kid named puoS has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Kid named puoS has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Kid named puoS has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Kid named puoS has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra_MKIII
That isn't the issue...

Any remotely current sound card (or even the onboard of a mobo) has a 3.5mm jack just for a subwoofer. You can get a 3.5mm to RCA connectors. Almost all car amplifiers use RCA.
Off topic, but what's the alternative to RCA? I haven't seen a car amp that uses anything else..
Kid named puoS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 02:16 PM #15
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Some use high-level inputs.

There are some Ethernet based amps surfacing now as well, but they're quite pricey. Supposedly you can connect it to a laptop for super fine tuning, but I don't have any experience with it. Just heard about it.

Looks pretty impressive, I hope prices become reasonable in the future... http://www.audison.eu/index.php?page=product&id=26
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 02:17 PM #16
toolbandfan
The dude abides
 
toolbandfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
toolbandfan is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
toolbandfan is playing at Living Legends VII
What about TRS? Any of them use that?
__________________
MY FEEDBACK!
toolbandfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 02:19 PM #17
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Not that I've seen.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump