Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2011, 07:59 PM #1
Disco Diddler
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I need a good gaming desktop setup for up to $1500

I do not need a monitor/speakers/mouse/or keyboard.
I did find this but I'm not sure how good it is or if everything is compatible or if anything is missing.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboB...t=Combo.720323

If that isn't good can somebody please show me a good setup for $1250 - $1500.
I'm just looking for something that will run newer games like Battlefield 3 and can burn CDs and DVDs.
Disco Diddler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 08-16-2011, 08:05 PM #2
mrtramplefoot
I dont really own a Luxe
 
mrtramplefoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NE Ohio
mrtramplefoot supports DLX Technology
why u 2 psu's?
__________________
"Originally posted by Kewl components: Get the **** out right ****ing now before I slap my ****ing cock against your eyes."

"Originally posted by Ziya92: Apple in all their creativity could have chosen, at the very least, a flavorful cultivar such as the Blenheim Orange. "

"Originally posted by {InsertUsernameHere}: lol france."
mrtramplefoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 08:17 PM #3
mnp8nt
There is only Zuul
 
mnp8nt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Land O Drunken Reporters
Annual Supporting Member
mnp8nt is playing at Living Legends III
mnp8nt owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
mnp8nt supports Team VICIOUS
mnp8nt is an NCPA player
mnp8nt is Legendary
mnp8nt is attending Decay of Nations VII
Are you thinking of running it in SLI-dual mode?
__________________
The system is down.
mnp8nt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 12:48 AM #4
toolbandfan
The dude abides
 
toolbandfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
toolbandfan is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
toolbandfan is playing at Living Legends VII
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtramplefoot View Post
why u 2 psu's?

2x the POWAHHH!!!
__________________
MY FEEDBACK!
toolbandfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 01:16 AM #5
cww516
clever text goes here
 
cww516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
cww516 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
don't ask why, ask why not?
cww516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 11:11 AM #6
M98custom1212
 
 
M98custom1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio
There is no reason to run two psu.
__________________

OLD FEEDBACK

No Custom Milling Without A Deposit
Manufacturing Engineer
M98custom1212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 04:06 PM #7
mnp8nt
There is only Zuul
 
mnp8nt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Land O Drunken Reporters
Annual Supporting Member
mnp8nt is playing at Living Legends III
mnp8nt owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
mnp8nt supports Team VICIOUS
mnp8nt is an NCPA player
mnp8nt is Legendary
mnp8nt is attending Decay of Nations VII
One psu with two decent output rails will do just fine.
__________________
The system is down.
mnp8nt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 04:11 PM #8
Oedipus
god save captain slow
 
Oedipus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Butts
Oedipus supports DLX Technology
Quote:
Originally Posted by M98custom1212 View Post
There is no reason to run two psu.
On super high end systems, you can definitely make an argument for two PSUs.
Oedipus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 04:13 PM #9
AlphaNeo36
lapping your tears
 
AlphaNeo36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: 765-IN
 has been a member for 10 years
It's better to play it safe and get a PSU for each component.
__________________
Overbear: better 10 innocent men be convicted, than a single guilty man go free to commit more crime.
Overbear: I prefer that I be given a license to shoot anyone who would pick socialism or communism over the basic freedoms inherent to consumerism.
MatrixBaller04 AKA EricS6661: I can guarantee something will happen between now and February 9th.
yesme: i'm not saying you should invest in gold first off, you would be much better off to invest in food,stuff you use and will keep for a couple of years, like razors
Blake360: in highschool, my teacher's father worked for the CIA and she brought my class documents proving the Roswell crash was of extraterrestrial origin.
AlphaNeo36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 04:49 PM #10
randomdean
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oedipus View Post
On super high end systems, you can definitely make an argument for two PSUs.
For super high end systems you can make an argument for as many psus as you want, how redundant do you want your system.
randomdean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 05:01 PM #11
Oedipus
god save captain slow
 
Oedipus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Butts
Oedipus supports DLX Technology
Not necessarily for redundancy because that requires a backplane and related bits, but sometimes a 1.5kw PSU just wont cut it.
Oedipus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 05:05 PM #12
Promagistrate
such motto
 
Promagistrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Promagistrate owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Promagistrate has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate supports DLX Technology
regardless, for a build of this caliber, 2 PSUs aren't necessary.
Promagistrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 05:12 PM #13
thezoolander
Derp.
 
thezoolander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ~661~
thezoolander owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
thezoolander supports Team VICIOUS
What kind of build would absolutely require 2 psus?
__________________
RAVE
thezoolander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 05:20 PM #14
randomdean
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by thezoolander View Post
What kind of build would absolutely require 2 psus?
Very high end systems or servers.
randomdean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 05:24 PM #15
Oedipus
god save captain slow
 
Oedipus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Butts
Oedipus supports DLX Technology
Quote:
Originally Posted by thezoolander View Post
What kind of build would absolutely require 2 psus?
Overclocked dual CPU, overclocked quad GPU systems with a high end loop. Servers commonly have two PSUs, but only one is needed to operate. I would imagine that there are servers with four (and up), and 2 are needed to operate, but that's above my pay grade.
Oedipus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 05:38 PM #16
plushdragon
 
 
plushdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
 has been a member for 10 years
plushdragon helped look for balloons
to the op

right now i sit on my hand for a few weeks both intel and amd are going to be dropping new cpu soon. also amd and nvidia are going to be dropping next gen of there video cards.the nvidia cards if they can get the fab up to spec might be out in jan. on the link you posted it missing the dvd drive and the main hd. also a 60g ssd is just going to hold the os. you need a 128/256g to have the os and your main programs on the ssd.and then use a 1-3tb standard hd as the data drive. if you think you watch blue ray movies on your pc then pick up a blue ray combo burner. if not a sata dvd black burner would be in the 20-40 price range for a bulk drive. one thing i would look into for the price/performace gaming system would two 560/550 cards be less money and have higher fps then one 570/580. toms hardware and other review sites talk about sli/crossfire gaming rigs.
__________________
Does an ursine quadruped void wastes in an arboreal environment?
plushdragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 02:23 AM #17
HardcoreWL
 
 
HardcoreWL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Logan, UT
HardcoreWL owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Trend micro is bull **** virus protection.
HardcoreWL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 02:31 AM #18
Evac.
Wolfpack
 
Evac.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Queens
Annual Supporting Member
Evac. is a Paintball photographer
Evac. plays in the PSP
Unless you're running quad gtx480s, i highly doubt you need 2 psus
Evac. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 02:34 AM #19
Promagistrate
such motto
 
Promagistrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Promagistrate owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Promagistrate has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Promagistrate supports DLX Technology
I sat on my hand a few weeks ago.
Promagistrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 07:17 AM #20
Eric99BL
 
Eric99BL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ventura
 has been a member for 10 years
Eric99BL is a Professional paintball player
Quote:
Originally Posted by HardcoreWL View Post
Trend micro is bull **** virus protection.
Trend Micro as in Hijack this? your are a idiot.
__________________
Attack..
Eric99BL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 05:36 PM #21
Paintnoob13
**** Ohio
 
Paintnoob13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: misery
Paintnoob13 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric99BL View Post
Trend Micro as in Hijack this? your are a idiot.
lol irony
Paintnoob13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump