Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2014, 02:44 PM #1
chimes
Romans 10:13
 
chimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Safford, AZ
chimes is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Tadao Yakuza Screen Repair?

I will confess, I have not searched.

I haven't played in a few years but some friends were talking about dusting off the markers and I pulled out the old Viking and fired it up and the screen on the Yakuza in the PM5 frame would not come on. I can hear the noid clicking, but no screen.

Anyone know if this is repairable and if so where I can send it for repair?

Thanks!
Tim.
__________________
The Feedback of chimesOriginally posted by Eric @ DMS
a true front player (i.e. live and die in the 50 and beyond)"
chimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 11-22-2014, 03:59 PM #2
mpodesta
Dude has 1 Hand
 
mpodesta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Attleboro Ma,
mpodesta has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Noooope, Sorry


It's a known issues and repairable on some of the oled yakuza boards, but the ones used in dm's are Sol
__________________
WWW.ANGEL-OWNERS.COM

Last edited by mpodesta : 11-22-2014 at 05:06 PM.
mpodesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 04:20 PM #3
skinnyfatguy
AKA-holic
 
skinnyfatguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Golden, CO
skinnyfatguy is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Yes and no. He released LED modules and a firmware update effectively turning them into Ebisu board. I know Matrix boards weren't on the original list, but he was also planning on adding them at some point. Best bet would be to contact Will directly.

http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=4269025
__________________
WTB Air America Prophecy HPR (Titanium Unireg)

skinnyfatguy's Collection | My WTB List
MCB Feedback | Old PBN Feedback | CC Feedback | eBay Feedback
skinnyfatguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 07:31 PM #4
chimes
Romans 10:13
 
chimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Safford, AZ
chimes is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Thank you so much SFG! I will see if I can get in on some LEDs if I'm not too late.
chimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 02:46 PM #5
rkjunior
domo arigato mr roboto
 
rkjunior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Red Sox Nation
rkjunior is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
rkjunior plays in the APPA D5 division
Went through this when looking for a Droid board screen. The LED board should still be avail -- how did you make out?
__________________
Eventually coming out of retirement
Destructive Customs


It has to start somewhere, It has to start sometime, What better place than here, What better time than now
rkjunior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 02:51 PM #6
Phaelynar
Resident Jew
 
Phaelynar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NoHo, MA
 has been a member for 10 years
Phaelynar supports Empire
Well, if the DNA board ever comes about, it should be able to replace the junk Yakuza boards as OLED solutions in older markers.

Until that day though, I have a virtue LED droid board sitting on my shelf for when my Yak board kicks the bucket.
__________________
Sundevil Alumnus
Phaelynar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 03:50 PM #7
chimes
Romans 10:13
 
chimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Safford, AZ
chimes is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Not good unfortunately. Here's the e-mail:

"...Only boards with removable displays such as the Marq, Ego, and E2 can utilize the LED conversion. There's no way to remove the OLED screen on an Ultralite board and add a multi-color LED.

Regards,

Will"

So I'm searching for a PM5 UL frame board. Virtue sells a LED board for $25 on clearance so I'm going to pick one of those up.
chimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 05:01 PM #8
mpodesta
Dude has 1 Hand
 
mpodesta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Attleboro Ma,
mpodesta has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Does you board still work tho? Why can't you use it minus the display?

I scored a DM5 ul frame with a yakuza in it that had a non working display. I used the usb to change the settings i needed to and she's ready to rock. Granted it's not ideal but still a working option for you.

Also check out the Ape boards if you still want/need to replace it. OLED screen and not a hefty price
__________________
WWW.ANGEL-OWNERS.COM
mpodesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 05:25 PM #9
chimes
Romans 10:13
 
chimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Safford, AZ
chimes is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Does APE sell a board for the PM5 UL frame?
chimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 05:49 PM #10
mpodesta
Dude has 1 Hand
 
mpodesta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Attleboro Ma,
mpodesta has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
http://www.goapeonline.com/online-st...r-dye-markers/
__________________
WWW.ANGEL-OWNERS.COM
mpodesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 11:14 PM #11
711clerk
Stay Calm Rias is here
 
711clerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Jose, Ca
711clerk is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
711clerk is BST Legit
711clerk owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
I wanted to offer my solution just in case people want another alternative to this problem.

My dead yakuza board (non usb) as shown here in my pm5 ul frame: RIP


Now has a used Pm8 board as shown here installed:


Turned off first shot setting for spool guns (dip switch 1 down) and turned the dwell down from the board's stock setting of 18 to 10. Bloodsplatter tarantula shooting laser ropes once again!!! No frame mods required. (However, last pic shows the board hole is too small for the yakuza screw to hold it in place, but not a big deal the ul frame is so small the board is not moving anywhere with battery in place).

Big thanks to Tim and Sol for finding me this board and hooking up the elusive back plate with the correct buttons.
711clerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 02:49 PM #12
chimes
Romans 10:13
 
chimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Safford, AZ
chimes is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
What did you do for the back plate and buttons? The stock one wouldn't work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 711clerk View Post
I wanted to offer my solution just in case people want another alternative to this problem.

My dead yakuza board (non usb) as shown here in my pm5 ul frame: RIP


Now has a used Pm8 board as shown here installed:


Turned off first shot setting for spool guns (dip switch 1 down) and turned the dwell down from the board's stock setting of 18 to 10. Bloodsplatter tarantula shooting laser ropes once again!!! No frame mods required. (However, last pic shows the board hole is too small for the yakuza screw to hold it in place, but not a big deal the ul frame is so small the board is not moving anywhere with battery in place).

Big thanks to Tim and Sol for finding me this board and hooking up the elusive back plate with the correct buttons.
__________________
The Feedback of chimesOriginally posted by Eric @ DMS
a true front player (i.e. live and die in the 50 and beyond)"
chimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump