Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2010, 05:29 PM #1
Thet
Retired.
 
Thet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Thet plays in the PSP
Thet is an NCPA player
Thet plays in the APPA beginner division
Ethernet?

Just moved into a new house and would like to be able to game in my bedroom, but the router is in the den, I suppose you could say. Close enough to use an Ethernet cable, but I'm worried my gaming would lag or be hindered if I get a cruddy cable. The only one at the BX (military) is a 100MB/s cable. Is that too slow for games like Halo? And it's a 25' cable, kinda needs to be at least that long... I know the longer they are, the slower they are...

Any help would be much appreciated guys.

Oh, and I don't want to go wireless just because it's $50 (Amazon, N1 for the 360) or $99 locally. Why spend that much when I can just do it for a fraction of the cost?
__________________

SEKTape- "I'd be excited for "learning by our mistakes" blog that apologizes for the Ego being obnoxiously loud and kicking like Adam Vinatieri."
*FEEDBACK (OLD STYLE)+55/-0* - *FEEDBACK (NEW STYLE) +80/-0*
Thet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 12-28-2010, 06:17 PM #2
Grim~
Whysosrs?
 
Grim~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Victoria,TX
Annual Supporting Member
a longer cable will not be slower
Grim~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 08:19 PM #3
rockingthequest
Mother****a i'm ILL
 
rockingthequest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central Jersey
rockingthequest plays in the PSP
rockingthequest plays in the APPA D5 division
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grim~ View Post
a longer cable will not be slower
.

just plug it in and play
__________________
rockingthequest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 08:28 PM #4
Thet
Retired.
 
Thet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Thet plays in the PSP
Thet is an NCPA player
Thet plays in the APPA beginner division
Is the 100 MB/s fast enough?
__________________

SEKTape- "I'd be excited for "learning by our mistakes" blog that apologizes for the Ego being obnoxiously loud and kicking like Adam Vinatieri."
*FEEDBACK (OLD STYLE)+55/-0* - *FEEDBACK (NEW STYLE) +80/-0*
Thet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:23 PM #5
Stealthgerbil
GERBIL
 
Stealthgerbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
 has been a member for 10 years
Yea you probably wont even use 1/10 of that. And you are talking about 100 megabytes a second? Or is it megabits? Either way its more then enough speed...
Stealthgerbil is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump