Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2010, 02:55 PM #1
fireyeye
 
 
fireyeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Keene, NH
fireyeye has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
fireyeye has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
fireyeye has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Ram?

Hey pbnation i just had a question about ram. i have this OLD dell computer. i want to play WoW again but it has 4 128mb ram sticks in it and i want to get like 2-3gigs. well i was looking at the Ram and its

Samsung
184 pin
RDRAM
not sure about DDR2 OR 3.
Product ID: MR16R1624AF0-CK8

Link: http://simondirect.com/store/index.p...vcep10up5ahg12

Is there anyway i could use lets say 184 pin sdram instead? like: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231047

Anything to steer me towards the right direction would be awesome! Thanks!
__________________
Rawr.
fireyeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 03:29 PM #2
Diametunim
 
 
Diametunim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Texas
Diametunim owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Newegg actually has a memory finder section on their site. You should just be able to specify what Dell model you're using and it should pull up all of the compatible ram. You could alternately just post up what model dell it is here and we could help you out better.

Memory Compatibility Tool

Oh and just so you know, you posted this in the wrong section should be in "technology" but it's all good.
Diametunim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 05:15 PM #3
Stealthgerbil
GERBIL
 
Stealthgerbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
If it has 128mb sticks you will definitely not get it to 2-3gb. Maybe 1gb at the most and it will be totally not worth spending the money to upgrade that old piece of ****!

edit: oh god RDram... you are totally screwed buy a new PC

Last edited by Stealthgerbil : 12-21-2010 at 05:17 PM.
Stealthgerbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 05:30 PM #4
e_friccero
\_(ツ)_/
 
e_friccero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: AK to CA
Annual Supporting Member
e_friccero is a Paintball photographer
e_friccero is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
e_friccero is Legendary
e_friccero is Boss
e_friccero is attending Decay of Nations VII
http://cgi.ebay.com/1GB-Samsung-RIMM...#ht_4152wt_243
thats the best deal i could find searchin around
You might want to look into just saving up for a new build

edit-found this
http://cgi.ebay.com/SimpleTech-1GB-2...ht_1695wt_1141

Last edited by e_friccero : 12-21-2010 at 05:34 PM.
e_friccero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 05:44 PM #5
patsrule711
I'm the Assman
 
patsrule711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 978
patsrule711 is playing at Living Legends III
patsrule711 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
patsrule711 supports Team VICIOUS
patsrule711 is for the Gunfight
I would just save up and buy a new comp...

I doubt it can play wow at all to be honest. What cpu/gpu does it have?
__________________
Super Nintendo, Sega Genesis
When I was dead broke, man I couldn't picture this
50 inch screen, money green leather sofa
Got two rides, a limousine with a chauffeur
patsrule711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 06:04 PM #6
Stealthgerbil
GERBIL
 
Stealthgerbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by patsrule711 View Post
I would just save up and buy a new comp...

I doubt it can play wow at all to be honest. What cpu/gpu does it have?
chances are its some old pentium 3 or 4 back when rdram actually existed

go here
http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html
and download that and run it and post what it sayss
Stealthgerbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 10:01 PM #7
fireyeye
 
 
fireyeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Keene, NH
fireyeye has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
fireyeye has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
fireyeye has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
CPU- Intel Pentium 4 1.8ghz
PC- Dell Dimension 8200
Graphics-Nvidia Geforce fx 5200
__________________
Rawr.
fireyeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 11:46 PM #8
Diametunim
 
 
Diametunim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Texas
Diametunim owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireyeye View Post
CPU- Intel Pentium 4 1.8ghz
PC- Dell Dimension 8200
Graphics-Nvidia Geforce fx 5200
Sorry to say but you won't be able to play wow with that setup Looks like It's time to upgrade.
Diametunim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 05:21 AM #9
fireyeye
 
 
fireyeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Keene, NH
fireyeye has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
fireyeye has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
fireyeye has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
i CAN play wow...just on 12 fps haha
__________________
Rawr.
fireyeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump