Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-24-2010, 08:02 PM #1
jnthn204
space
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: colleyville,texas
need to reformat hdd, but dont want to lose some files

Problem:
I need to format my hard drive without losing my music/video files.

Also, I have a 16gb ipod touch that I am not using and was wondering if I could somehow hack that to use it as an external hard drive. I am researching the program called diskAID which allows the device to become an external hdd
__________________
computer parts for sale

XBL: Jnthn205

Last edited by jnthn204 : 02-24-2010 at 08:47 PM.
jnthn204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 02-24-2010, 08:29 PM #2
satamusic
ɔısnɯ
 
satamusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: ɹd
using an ipod touch as ext hdd will be slow as hell.

your "question" is not very clear, but you can resize and move partitions around, you could partition a disk into several different partititions, one for music in fat32, one for win7 in ntfs, one in ext4 for linux.

try Hirens boot cd, or if you want to feel less criminal, driveimage xml, clonezilla, or gparted.
__________________
If The World's A Stage, I Want To Operate The Trap Door.

.alien.interceptor. bob.long.reg. hammer.head.freak. pulse. lp.crossfire.

satamusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 08:35 PM #3
Jocasta (Banned)
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: KO's bushes
Why do you need to reformat?
Jocasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 08:41 PM #4
jnthn204
space
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: colleyville,texas
what if I made an image (ISO) file of my music selection (13gb). Could i put that onto a dvd or would that be too large?


uhh scratch that, new question:

Im looking at driveimage xml. Does this basically make my music/video library into an image and store it on a seperate partition? If so, when installing windows 7, will this format the partition?
__________________
computer parts for sale

XBL: Jnthn205

Last edited by jnthn204 : 02-24-2010 at 08:44 PM.
jnthn204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 08:44 PM #5
Not Jcdenton69
 
 
Not Jcdenton69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Not Jcdenton69 helped look for balloons
Not Jcdenton69 is playing at Living Legends III
Not Jcdenton69 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Not Jcdenton69 is for the Gunfight
Just burn the music to several DVDs as data DVDs. Holy ****.

Not Jcdenton69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 08:52 PM #6
jnthn204
space
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: colleyville,texas
yea...i started doing that, but just wondering if there was an easier way....
__________________
computer parts for sale

XBL: Jnthn205
jnthn204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 09:03 PM #7
randomdean100
 
 
randomdean100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Your mom's bed
If you reformat using the same OS it should just move your files into a folder called windows.old unless you want to format the drive at the same time, you could always buy an external then return it when you are done.
__________________
ST:TECH -Clay kills GDTs
Communist Nation
You start out stealing songs, then you're robbing liquor stores, and selling crack and running over schoolkids with your car!
PBN modsquad - lols for brains

Purdue jersey and more F/S
randomdean100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 09:12 PM #8
jnthn204
space
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: colleyville,texas
buy an external hdd, then return it....hmmm i like this idea
__________________
computer parts for sale

XBL: Jnthn205
jnthn204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 09:13 PM #9
jnthn204
space
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: colleyville,texas
heres an idea, i have a laptop. what if I connected my pc with the laptop through an ethernet cable, and transfered it that way. Would that be really slow?
__________________
computer parts for sale

XBL: Jnthn205
jnthn204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 09:20 PM #10
cww516
clever text goes here
 
cww516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
cww516 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
if at least one of them has a gigabit chipset, that'll work (assuming you're going to use a patch cable, but if you have a crossover cable, any combo will work), and speed will depend on the slower of the two. you're not going to max it out by any means, but that'll be faster than USB, for sure.
cww516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 09:26 PM #11
randomdean100
 
 
randomdean100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Your mom's bed
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnthn204 View Post
heres an idea, i have a laptop. what if I connected my pc with the laptop through an ethernet cable, and transfered it that way. Would that be really slow?
I assume you have a router, you could create a network then transfer files over it. It won't be the fastest solution but it will work.
__________________
ST:TECH -Clay kills GDTs
Communist Nation
You start out stealing songs, then you're robbing liquor stores, and selling crack and running over schoolkids with your car!
PBN modsquad - lols for brains

Purdue jersey and more F/S
randomdean100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump