Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2009, 11:12 PM #1
J. Thompson #5150
Now with 20% more AWESOME
 
J. Thompson #5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Grimes, IA
J. Thompson #5150 donated to help Peyton Trent
J. Thompson #5150 supports Team VICIOUS
WAS won't go below 6ms?

I tried swapping out my Max-Flo for a Hyper 2 and found that without upping the input pressure to around 150, I get a ton of shootdown. Problem is, I shoot 270fps at around 100psi. I concluded that the only way to get the pressure where it needs to be and still meet the speedlimit, I'd have to drop the dwell and hope for the best. The WAS board is supposed to be capable of a 4ms dwell. Well, no matter what I set the dwell at, it defaults back to 6ms. I'm at 7ms, and going to 6ms doesn't help. I don't even know if 4ms will help, but I can't get the dwell that low to find out. I guess now I just want to know why, whether I continue on this little quest or not.

Anyone got some suggestions?
__________________
2ndCoat Paintball
May the road rise up to meet you, and the wind be at your back. May the sun shine warm upon your face, and rains fall soft upon your fields.
And may you someday die of natural causes rather than an auto-erotic asphyxiation accident, staged by a secret society of ninja assassins.
J. Thompson #5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 12-19-2009, 11:29 PM #2
freakspazzatazz
t(-_-t)
 
freakspazzatazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central Florida
freakspazzatazz helped look for balloons
Is your WAS flashed?

I'm not sure that'll make a difference, it's just the only thing that came to mind.
freakspazzatazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 11:51 PM #3
J. Thompson #5150
Now with 20% more AWESOME
 
J. Thompson #5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Grimes, IA
J. Thompson #5150 donated to help Peyton Trent
J. Thompson #5150 supports Team VICIOUS
Yeah, it's got the latest software.
__________________
2ndCoat Paintball
May the road rise up to meet you, and the wind be at your back. May the sun shine warm upon your face, and rains fall soft upon your fields.
And may you someday die of natural causes rather than an auto-erotic asphyxiation accident, staged by a secret society of ninja assassins.
J. Thompson #5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 10:33 AM #4
Slow_Target
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: South Jersey
 has been a member for 10 years
I'm not saying that you dont know what you are doing. So please dont get upset. However, if it is defaulting, then it is usually because something is done wrong or it is being set to a number that is not allowed. Double check how you are doing things. I would also do a reset and then try resetting things. I haven't used it in a while but if you have a cable then you can set things there.
__________________
Equalized Black Impulse #9792, Kapp on/off, Check-it low-rise, Dye 71/45, full Freak, JHII, SS RatHole, SP Mag trig, NDZ Equalizer bolt, Slik-Shot & R.I.P. valve, Hybrid grips.
Gen-E LCD#22139, toxic breach, Gold Evolve, ccm feed, cp reg & asa
99 Shocker Turbo/SelectFire #7069
"Originally posted by wolverine Be a man and pick a side of the fence and stay there. "
Slow_Target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 04:07 PM #5
msonic
one case one kill
 
msonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: the sticks, michigan
Annual Supporting Member
msonic is a Mega Moderator
msonic is a Supporting Member
msonic is BST Legit
msonic donated to help Peyton Trent
msonic is one of the top 25 posters on PbNation
msonic is Immortal
Mine did the same thing. I never needed to run it under 6ms though.
msonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 07:14 PM #6
lamorte
mod a la mode
 
lamorte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: darkest depths of mordor
Annual Supporting Member
lamorte is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
lamorte donated to help Peyton Trent
lamorte supports our troops
it's an electronic board touched by jim drew. did you really expect it to work like he said it would?
__________________
☠ après la mort la douleur est allé ☠

✩☾ habitually nocturnal ☾✩
lamorte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 10:33 PM #7
shmedley
 
 
shmedley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Downers Grove, IL
 has been a member for 10 years
shmedley donated to help Peyton Trent
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamorte View Post
it's an electronic board touched by jim drew. did you really expect it to work like he said it would?
X2
He was a good salesman (among other things none that are good)

More often then not the eyes never worked out of the box or soon after on the Quest.

Lifetime warranty?
Released on time? (not months late)
Work they way they are supposed to?
Not likely with him. Although when they did they are nice.

So anyways... Have a LPR? How good is the gauge? could it be reading wrong? (I had that before)
__________________
Thanks. . .
Brad
Click here to email me
Shmedley99 <~~~AIM
my old feedback
shmedley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 07:46 AM #8
rb211
Impulse Aficionado
 
rb211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Marietta, GA.
The only way it can be set below 6 is with the equalink cable. and going below 6ms at your pressure setting is asking for FSDO
rb211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 12:10 PM #9
lamorte
mod a la mode
 
lamorte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: darkest depths of mordor
Annual Supporting Member
lamorte is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
lamorte donated to help Peyton Trent
lamorte supports our troops
i have ecs on my imp board for free and it can dwell down to 1ms if i should so choose. it's set at 4.5ms with no probs.
__________________
☠ après la mort la douleur est allé ☠

✩☾ habitually nocturnal ☾✩
lamorte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 02:24 PM #10
rb211
Impulse Aficionado
 
rb211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Marietta, GA.
Quite true morte, but lets face it, you are of the few who can make a setting like that work.
rb211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 03:15 PM #11
J. Thompson #5150
Now with 20% more AWESOME
 
J. Thompson #5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Grimes, IA
J. Thompson #5150 donated to help Peyton Trent
J. Thompson #5150 supports Team VICIOUS
With the 100psi pressure, yes, going down to 4ms will cause problems. I'd like to up the pressure so that I can use the Hyper 2, which is why I wanted to drop the dwell.

If I have to have a cable, so be it, I'll let it go. I don't have the software to make the changes anyway.
__________________
2ndCoat Paintball
May the road rise up to meet you, and the wind be at your back. May the sun shine warm upon your face, and rains fall soft upon your fields.
And may you someday die of natural causes rather than an auto-erotic asphyxiation accident, staged by a secret society of ninja assassins.
J. Thompson #5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 08:27 PM #12
rb211
Impulse Aficionado
 
rb211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Marietta, GA.
What are your pressure settings Morte?
rb211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 11:45 PM #13
lamorte
mod a la mode
 
lamorte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: darkest depths of mordor
Annual Supporting Member
lamorte is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
lamorte donated to help Peyton Trent
lamorte supports our troops
150psi @ 280fps
__________________
☠ après la mort la douleur est allé ☠

✩☾ habitually nocturnal ☾✩
lamorte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 11:50 PM #14
freakspazzatazz
t(-_-t)
 
freakspazzatazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central Florida
freakspazzatazz helped look for balloons
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamorte View Post
150psi @ 280fps
150, no lpr, 4.5ms, and you're getting 280?
freakspazzatazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 01:04 PM #15
ccluff2
 
 
ccluff2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by freakspazzatazz View Post
150, no lpr, 4.5ms, and you're getting 280?
Ya, I would like to know your setup as well, because those settings sound rediculous.(Such as valve, ram/hammer combo, bolt, ect...)
__________________
****The Machined IPR Mod for Shockers****
***********NOW AVAILABLE***********
http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=3407948


WEBSITE COMMING SOON...
ccluff2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 08:18 PM #16
Vulcan90
 
 
Vulcan90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dust Bowl
When I first got my impulse it has a dwell setting of 4ms on the WAS board. It doesn't have the latest software though. I raised it back up to 6ms later. So it should be possible.
Vulcan90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:29 PM #17
lamorte
mod a la mode
 
lamorte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: darkest depths of mordor
Annual Supporting Member
lamorte is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
lamorte donated to help Peyton Trent
lamorte supports our troops
heh heh, didn't see these when they were posted........

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakspazzatazz View Post
150, no lpr, 4.5ms, and you're getting 280?
who's yer daddy?!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccluff2 View Post
Ya, I would like to know your setup as well, because those settings sound rediculous.(Such as valve, ram/hammer combo, bolt, ect...)
valve ndz RIP
ram ndz slik-shot
hammer rat hole SS
combo stock ram housing
bolt ndz EQ
ect stock horiz 3000 maxi

everything else is prety much stock cept the eclipse trigger and ecs software programming which loafy the ecs geenyus programmed my board with.
__________________
☠ après la mort la douleur est allé ☠

✩☾ habitually nocturnal ☾✩
lamorte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 11:39 AM #18
Flip-side
No Charge For Awesomeness
 
Flip-side's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Your mom's house
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamorte View Post
valve ndz RIP
ram ndz slik-shot
hammer rat hole SS
combo stock ram housing
bolt ndz EQ
ect stock horiz 3000 maxi
Having an LPR simply allows you to drop pressure to the solenoid to increase efficiency/consistancy. It also makes you use a much higher dwell.

People running NDZ internal upgraded imps with a front cap and all pressure set to 140-150 can use a very low dwell. You are smacking the hell out of the RIP valve at that pressure so 4.5ms is not that outrageous. Props to my fellow horizontal user.
__________________
My Feedback
Flip-side is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump