DaEagleEye8
Uconn Husky

DaEagleEye8 helped look for balloons
DaEagleEye8 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
DaEagleEye8 is an NCPA player
Changing guitar string gauge

Hey guys,

I've been playing guitar for a few months now and my original strings are beat. I have .9 lite strings on my guitar and was looking to get either .10 or .11 strings to replace them. I've been doing some research and some people say i may need to mess around with the tremolo and others to get the guitar set up properly when I change the string gauge. I bought an ibanez ijx30 package btw. Well, my question is how would I know what adjustments need to be made and if they even have to be made at all? the manual explains how to adjust the tremolo and such, but doesn't really go over when everything is right. Also, my reasoning behind getting .10 or .11 is to get a heavier sound (be able to tune down to drop D and hopefully even C...) without having the strings buzz and such. Which of the two gauges would you suggest? Thanks for any and all comments and advice!
DaEagleEye8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 07-11-2009, 12:50 PM #2
N$$balla
1k992'r

Ask in the guitar thread.

If you want drop tunings to sound better, get .12's, BTW.

Originally Posted by EmergenC911: "I have never lol'd so hard from a PbN post :tup:"
Originally Posted by jay web: "**** you i bet you drive your moms mini van you ****ing boy scout"
Originally Posted by Lou Dogg: "You're....kinda a douche bag."
N$$balla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 01:04 PM #3
komodo_117
Plague Upon Your Hissing

Be careful if you're jumping up to .12's or .11's from .9's. You may need to adjust the truss rod, to avoid ruining your entire guitar.

It'd be best to take it to a guitar tech and have them do it, if you don't know what you're doing.