Originally Posted by TeamShellShock
I really do hope you get more arguments from watching balls break than hearing them break.
Your going to be fighting it either way...but at least on the one hand you have some type of rule backing you. Hearing a hit is not justifiable in the rules as an elimination, add to the fact he didn't check the player and added a 1 for 1 on it.
absolutely correct. Per the rule book, the paintball must leave a mark! A mark includes an itsey bitsy dot that WAS BELIEVED to have resulted from the paintball in question. if it bounces off and breaks, not leaving a mark, the player is CLEAN. The ref should check before he eliminates you. Reason: a ref's sight (from a distance) can be nearly 2-dimensional. if the ref sees a spray near your hopper it may have been from the bunker, from something between you and the ref or something the ref saw behind you. An elimination would be a bad call. however, if the ultimate is doing their job (fancy that!), that is also a non-reversable call.
Rules 19.01 (1) and 19.01 (3)
edit: should be 19.01 (2), not 19.01(3). sorry.