Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2015, 10:33 AM #1
evilpaintball311
zoom zoom
 
evilpaintball311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 850/407, FL
evilpaintball311 supports our troops
evilpaintball311 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
evilpaintball311 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
dual video card compatibility

Just bought everything to build a new computer and raided the old one for parts. I took the cheap video card I got out of the old one and thinking about putting it in the new computer I just built to run dual video cards but I'm not sure if they well run together. I have a Saphire radeon r7 260x in the one I just built and think about throwing in my old MSI r450 ( I know its not that great but got it for like $20 from new egg a couple years ago). Is it worth it to run these together?
evilpaintball311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 02-26-2015, 10:55 AM #2
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
If it those two cards even work together, it's probably going to be more of a pain than it's worth. That r450 isn't going to do much of anything.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 11:43 AM #3
evilpaintball311
zoom zoom
 
evilpaintball311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 850/407, FL
evilpaintball311 supports our troops
evilpaintball311 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
evilpaintball311 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
I figured it wouldn't be worth it. Just thought sine they were both ati they'd work together. Just going to research and see if I can run two screens on the good video card.
evilpaintball311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 12:00 PM #4
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Yeah you should be able to run two monitors no problem with the 260
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 05:25 PM #5
Dontcallmepete
BALLSOHARD
 
Dontcallmepete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 6zero9 nj
Dontcallmepete is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
pending you're not running vista, and you have a psu that can handle the extra load then yes you can. 7, 8, and 8.1 will see the additional card and allow you to install a separate, but appropriate, driver for it.

The only benefit it will provide is that you will be able to drive more than however many displays your 260 will run. At work I run 2 different cards, just some bs hd4x something pieces of **** that dell sells and at home I run a 290x and a 550ti... or at least i used to, just got a new board with only one pci slot so now just raw dogging the 290x.
__________________
ST:tech-Troll the gdt they said...
Its only after we've lost everything
that we're free to do anything
"Originally posted by Sp0rk: Pete's endorsed by over 20 liquor companies, he gets free **** all the time.
"Originally posted by SUR3 S}{oT: Southern Comfort:
Only thing that goes in and out of pete."
Dontcallmepete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 12:54 PM #6
WoodChuck65
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jackson, Cali
WoodChuck65 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
WoodChuck65 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dontcallmepete View Post
pending you're not running vista, and you have a psu that can handle the extra load then yes you can. 7, 8, and 8.1 will see the additional card and allow you to install a separate, but appropriate, driver for it. The only benefit it will provide is that you will be able to drive more than however many displays your 260 will run. At work I run 2 different cards, just some bs hd4x something pieces of **** that dell sells and at home I run a 290x and a 550ti... or at least i used to, just got a new board with only one pci slot so now just raw dogging the 290x.
How would running a 290x and a gtx 560ti work since they are ATI/AMD and NVIDIA? Isn't possible to do that due to drivers and you can only crossfire/SLI graphic cards of the same chip. Otherwise if NVIDIA you can run one card and another of a different chip, using the weaker one as a dedicated physx card. But even if you do SLI or crossfire, your more than likely going to bottleneck unless you have an Intel i5 2500 or faster processor. And make sure your power supply can support your setup. I've had motherboards catch fire, graphic card fan bearings fail and catch fire, power supplies burn up and spark. Be careful what you do.
__________________
My Feedback
WoodChuck65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 01:04 PM #7
lowbudgethero
Boomer
 
lowbudgethero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 908/570
 has been a member for 10 years
Physx would be the only reason I could think of.
lowbudgethero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 01:05 PM #8
WoodChuck65
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jackson, Cali
WoodChuck65 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
WoodChuck65 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowbudgethero View Post
Physx would be the only reason I could think of.
But then the cards they speak of are AMD/ATI so physx wouldn't work.... So what's the point?
__________________
My Feedback
WoodChuck65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 03:26 PM #9
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodChuck65 View Post
Isn't possible to do that due to drivers and you can only crossfire/SLI graphic cards of the same chip
4 years ago this would've been true. But I'm pretty sure now you can have two GPUs of the same series but not the same exact model and have them SLI/xfire together.

People can run NVidia and AMD/ATI cards in the same system to add more monitors. Chips don't have to play nicely together if you're using them to render different things on different displays.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 06:14 PM #10
lowbudgethero
Boomer
 
lowbudgethero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 908/570
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodChuck65 View Post
But then the cards they speak of are AMD/ATI so physx wouldn't work.... So what's the point?
i was talking about the nvidia ati combo

also, http://www.gamespot.com/articles/dir.../1100-6425565/
lowbudgethero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 06:55 PM #11
WoodChuck65
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jackson, Cali
WoodChuck65 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
WoodChuck65 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowbudgethero View Post
i was talking about the nvidia ati combo also, http://www.gamespot.com/articles/dir.../1100-6425565/
Hmm I feel old now... I've been out of the loop of this pc stuff for a while now.
__________________
My Feedback
WoodChuck65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 09:18 AM #12
lowbudgethero
Boomer
 
lowbudgethero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 908/570
 has been a member for 10 years
direct x 12, lol back in my day i remember just directx
lowbudgethero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:44 AM #13
WoodChuck65
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jackson, Cali
WoodChuck65 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
WoodChuck65 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowbudgethero View Post
direct x 12, lol back in my day i remember just directx

Um what when did 12 come out ? I thought we were just on directx 8.1 still!
__________________
My Feedback
WoodChuck65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 11:02 AM #14
komodo_117
Plague Upon Your Hissing
 
komodo_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
We're on Direct X 11. 12 was just announced and its main selling point is that it will allow Nvidia and ATI cards (or any combination of two cards) to pool their resources and act as if they were one card. It's supposed to change the SLI/Crossfire game completely as right now they only share resources rather than combining VRAM to act as one more powerful card.

So rather than buying the most expensive card on the market to get the most power, people will now be able to SLI/Crossfire slightly weaker (and cheaper) cards to still get the same, if not more power from their graphics instead of only balancing the load evenly between two cards.
__________________
Jlausen: "Think of what 90% of people do on PCP.

They rip their skin off and rape anything in sight. Basically a Shel Silverstein poem."




Steam - BabyHands

Last edited by komodo_117 : 03-02-2015 at 11:05 AM.
komodo_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 11:06 AM #15
WoodChuck65
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jackson, Cali
WoodChuck65 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
WoodChuck65 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Quote:
Originally Posted by komodo_117 View Post
We're on Direct X 11. 12 was just announced and its main selling point is that it will allow Nvidia and ATI cards (or any combination of two cards) to pool their resources and act as if they were one card. It's supposed to change the SLI/Crossfire game completely as right now they only share resources rather than combining VRAM to act as one more powerful card. So rather than buying the most expensive card on the market to get the most power, people will now be able to SLI/Crossfire slightly weaker (and cheaper) cards to still get the same, if not more power from their graphics instead of only balancing the load evenly between two cards.
Interesting. Any ETA for DX12?
__________________
My Feedback
WoodChuck65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 11:18 AM #16
komodo_117
Plague Upon Your Hissing
 
komodo_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
Not that I've seen. It was only announced a few days ago.
__________________
Jlausen: "Think of what 90% of people do on PCP.

They rip their skin off and rape anything in sight. Basically a Shel Silverstein poem."




Steam - BabyHands
komodo_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 11:37 AM #17
Oedipus
god save captain slow
 
Oedipus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Butts
Oedipus supports DLX Technology
Video drivers are enough of a crapshoot already. That resource pooling thing is going to be a nightmare.
__________________
ST:Tech -- Three solid failures away from emptying large quantities of ammunition into a daycare.
Oedipus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 11:40 AM #18
WoodChuck65
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jackson, Cali
WoodChuck65 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
WoodChuck65 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
I remember having a MSI motherboard that supported NVIDIA/ATI combo's but it ended up being crap... The MSI fusion 870 or something, and the driver would always constant crash in every and any game so you ended up not being able to even use the cards together. And they would run super slow together vs using one single card would be faster than using both...
__________________
My Feedback
WoodChuck65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 02:19 PM #19
lowbudgethero
Boomer
 
lowbudgethero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 908/570
 has been a member for 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oedipus View Post
Video drivers are enough of a crapshoot already. That resource pooling thing is going to be a nightmare.
This is what i'd be most worried about, since they are completely different hardware archetectures and coding. AMD is hard enough to get working correctly with 2 cards in all games. It would be nice if it worked well enough with the same brands at the very least, it could delay upgrading for those who have enough PCI slots.
lowbudgethero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump