Community Focus

Old 01-04-2009, 05:23 PM #1
RC-1136
Twitch

RC-1136 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
RC-1136 is an NCPA player
RC-1136 plays in the APPA D5 division
RC-1136's Cold Weather Paintball Guide

I've been looking at a bunch of threads popping up in the new players section and other areas, and the two big questions that get asked this time of year are:

"How do you play paintball when its cold out?"

And,

"What do you do when its too cold to play?"

Well, I figured that I'd try to give some advice to those people asking questions, and just try to sepread some knowledge in general.

First, about me:

I've been playing since 2006, and live up in Montana. It gets cold in Montana. (Current temperature as I'm typing this, 8 degrees below zero.) I'm lucky, and have an indoor field, so I don't have to deal with wind, snow, and the like, but the building is not insulated, so we play in the ambient air temperature. Last year (2007) we played in temperatures ranging from 40 degrees, to -15 in the months of November to February. Just last week, we were playing in 15 degree weather, and the field parking lot had two feet of snow in it. So, I've played in weather thats pretty cold.

So, the first thing is, what is cold? I've found that you can play paintball in weather down to about 40 degrees and the only thing you have to change is if you have a hoodie or a t-shirt underneath your jersey. When the temperature drops below freezing though, things get, interesting. I want to spend most of this guide covering playing speedball in temperatures from 32 degrees to about 10 degrees. Below 10 degrees, my advice is to ask yourself if you really need to be outside playing paintball.

Alright, so having decided that it's cold, but still warm enough to play paintball, the first thing you need to think about is what gear to bring. Here's my cold weather setup:

From top to bottom:

E-Vents
Headwear
Thermal Underwear
Dye C5 Jersey
Podpack
Armpads
Cold Weather Marker (More on this later)