Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2010, 07:57 PM #1
optionboarder81
BANGBANG
 
optionboarder81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
internet connection help

My computer is on a wireless network and the internet connection works, but some of my programs wont connect to the internet, so I think i have something configured wrong.

Heres my connections:


Browsing the internet on firefox works perfectly fine, however when i try and upload something it failed with every website i tried (youtube,vimeo,flickr). I went to speedtest.net randomly and the download test worked but the upload test wouldnt work.

Then I opened up internet explorer, it says "the page cannot be displayed" i try to go to a different site (google) it takes about 5 seconds and i get this message:

So i check my internet options and everything seems fine:


Ive also noticed that i cant connect to the itunes music store.


This problem happened before and i remember it was an easy fix, I cant quite remember what exactly I did but i think i might have created a "wireless network connection 2" and just disconnected from my current one and connect to that but i cant seem to make a new connection.

Someone please help, I need to upload some stuff. If you need more information about settings just let me know.
__________________
meh.
optionboarder81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 02-28-2010, 11:21 PM #2
satamusic
ɔısnɯ
 
satamusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: ɹd
check your firewall, make sure no "weird" programs have added themselves to there, same goes for your hosts file, make sure only localhost 127.0.0.1 is there.

are you connecting from home or work or campus or somewhere where you can connect via ethernet cable instead of wifi?
__________________
If The World's A Stage, I Want To Operate The Trap Door.

.alien.interceptor. bob.long.reg. hammer.head.freak. pulse. lp.crossfire.

satamusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:39 AM #3
optionboarder81
BANGBANG
 
optionboarder81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
I didnt see anything that isnt normal, but heres my list so you can check:


where do i check the host files?


and i cant connect with an ethernet cable my router is downstairs(home network)
__________________
meh.
optionboarder81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 05:59 AM #4
Jinjiro
 
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
 has been a member for 10 years
The reason IE isn't working is probably because you have the proxy box checked. Uncheck that and see if you can browse with IE.

Not being able to upload sounds like a firewall setting. You could go to the Advanced tab and try resetting the firewall to default, see if that fixes it.
Jinjiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 09:16 AM #5
Mustang7302
has been here too long
 
Mustang7302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Mustang7302 is a founding member
 has been a member for 10 years
Mustang7302 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Uncheck those proxy settings in your third screen shot window on the right, reboot, profit.
__________________
Cars, Technology, and Stogies ... All the fine things in life.

"Originally posted by Volucris: Computers are tools. Man is separated by how well he chooses his tool."

"Originally posted by Rebeltilldeath3: We went from Allan Sheppard, Gus Grissom, Neil Armstrong, and Buzz Aldrin to Charlie Sheen, Lindsay Lohan, and Snooki."
Mustang7302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 09:02 AM #6
bonusballer10
All I Do Is Win
 
bonusballer10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paducah KY
bonusballer10 plays in the PSP
bonusballer10 supports Team VICIOUS
bonusballer10 posts videos on PbNation
bonusballer10 plays in the APPA D4 division
check waht kind of antovirus software you have, sometimes if you have mccafee or however its spelled it will cause this, it did it to me and i uninstalled my antivirus rebooted comp and put it back on and it works fine
__________________
LOUISVILLE LIVEWIRE
Josh Culp #81
bonusballer10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 04:36 PM #7
optionboarder81
BANGBANG
 
optionboarder81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang7302 View Post
Uncheck those proxy settings in your third screen shot window on the right, reboot, profit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jinjiro View Post
The reason IE isn't working is probably because you have the proxy box checked. Uncheck that and see if you can browse with IE.

Not being able to upload sounds like a firewall setting. You could go to the Advanced tab and try resetting the firewall to default, see if that fixes it.
Thanks alot guys! that did the trick
__________________
meh.
optionboarder81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 11:10 AM #8
chrisso80
 
 
chrisso80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
There is a known virus out that is by default checking the proxy box in internet exploder.

If I were you, id google malware anti-malwarebytes and download that and run a full scan on your machine.

If its acting weird beyond that you might want to download and run "unhackme".

Just throwing this all out there, as this is what I do on a daily basis.

Soo... just my 2 cents.

-Chrisso80
__________________
The very existence of flamethrowers proves that some time, somewhere, someone said to themselves, "You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I'm just not close enough to get the job done."

-George Carlin
chrisso80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 12:27 AM #9
optionboarder81
BANGBANG
 
optionboarder81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
yea, i already have anti malwarebytes and do a scan frequently. thanks for the heads up though
__________________
meh.
optionboarder81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump