Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2009, 10:32 AM #22
__slide
 
 
__slide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by paintball sycho View Post
they are the same price as the 1450's adn they are instock so you might aas well go with the 1500 and recharge your pack even less. either way any of the 2/3A batteries should work.
not true, some are too big physically.
__________________

2k3 Angel Ir3 C&C
Lucky Un1 board with Lucky ACE Chip
JAM Gen 3 Bolt
__slide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 01-20-2009, 08:28 PM #23
nickphillipps
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
which wire type should i go for from that site, realy sorry im so crap
nickphillipps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 10:09 AM #24
NewShockerGuy
[]D [] []V[] []D
 
NewShockerGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
 has been a member for 10 years
Arrow

Also wondering on the battery size? I've read that they are 123 batteries?

The above link on that site: I don't think it's the same though...
Elite 1500 2/3A (ELITE1500A)

I can make a battery back for my cobra angel lcd but i just need to know the size of the battery.

Thanks,
-Nigel
__________________
-....-> ~ NSG ~ <-....-


-Red Cobra LCD <=== CLICK TO SEE PICS :-)

*with matching 68ci 4500psi Armageddon

CMK & SAL FOREVER!

-Nigel
NewShockerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 11:55 AM #25
Winnebago
Angels 4 Life
 
Winnebago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
 has been a member for 10 years
2/3a
__________________
FS: DM4 / Angel Parts / Heat Shrink Tubing 3/4"
----
WTB: G7 Ram | A1 Ram | 90* G7/06Speed/A4/Fly Frame
WTB: Angels + Jerseys
Angel Rescue! (aka WTB Broken Angels)
Old PBN Feedback
Winnebago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 12:17 PM #26
NewShockerGuy
[]D [] []V[] []D
 
NewShockerGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
 has been a member for 10 years
Arrow

And using the rechargable one the stock charger and system will charge the internal batteries?

Thanks,
-Nigel
__________________
-....-> ~ NSG ~ <-....-


-Red Cobra LCD <=== CLICK TO SEE PICS :-)

*with matching 68ci 4500psi Armageddon

CMK & SAL FOREVER!

-Nigel
NewShockerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 03:43 PM #27
dr.strangelove
The Angel Eye Doctor
 
dr.strangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Earth
 has been a member for 10 years
What you're buying are rechargeable battery cells that you need to assemble into a complete battery. Once you've got it assembled it will drop right in where the old battery was and you will recharge it the exact same way.
dr.strangelove is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 04:40 PM #28
Stan79
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Hi folks,

Presumably you can do this for the newer 4.8v Angels (03 Speed in particular)?

If yes, can someone tell me the specs of the battery cells i would need to purchase?

Many thanks,

Stan
__________________
My feedback thread
Stan79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 05:17 PM #29
dr.strangelove
The Angel Eye Doctor
 
dr.strangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Earth
 has been a member for 10 years
Yes, you can do the same with the newer 4.8v guns. Use the same battery cells, just use 4 of them instead of 5 (1.2v x 4 = 4.8v; 1.2v x 5 = 6v).
dr.strangelove is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 02:43 AM #30
Stan79
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.strangelove View Post
Yes, you can do the same with the newer 4.8v guns. Use the same battery cells, just use 4 of them instead of 5 (1.2v x 4 = 4.8v; 1.2v x 5 = 6v).
Thanks. So the tube housing the battery in the newer (4.8v) guns is shorter than the older (6v) guns?

I've found a couple of suppliers in the UK who sell the cells but only in 1100mAh or 1600mAh versions. They are pretty much the same price. Which ones should i go for?

Many thanks,

Stan
__________________
My feedback thread
Stan79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 03:05 AM #31
dr.strangelove
The Angel Eye Doctor
 
dr.strangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Earth
 has been a member for 10 years
The battery tube itself is shorter, but not by a whole lot. The reason they went with a smaller/shorter battery is because they moved the LPR into the front of the battery tube starting with the LP generation. That tube used to be empty and just house the battery and the LPR was housed in front of the valve.

Go for the 1600 mAh version. mAh basically refers to the capacity of the battery. Under the same circumstances, a 1600 mAh battery would last longer on a single charge than the 1100 mAh battery.
dr.strangelove is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 03:10 AM #32
Stan79
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Thank you very much! You're a superstar!
__________________
My feedback thread
Stan79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 09:36 AM #33
Talon2129
 
 
Talon2129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pax River NAS, MD
 has been a member for 10 years
Sorry to revive an old thread, but I'm in the process of ordering a battery for my IR3 from the site listed on page 1, and I'm not sure which wire size to select. Given the length of the run it probably doesn't matter, but I'm not smart enough to know for sure. Can anybody help me out with choosing the right one? Thank you.
__________________
Travis "Evil Smirk" Robinson
Former Palm Beach Viper
Gothic Red/Black A1 Fly
Blue Snakeskin MT Force Fly
Black Cobra Mamba IR3
Talon2129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 03:15 PM #34
dr.strangelove
The Angel Eye Doctor
 
dr.strangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Earth
 has been a member for 10 years
The smallest wire gauge available in their builder is 22 AWG. That's actually a little larger than ideal, but being as it's the smallest they have, just go with that.
dr.strangelove is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 04:58 PM #35
Th3bLaCkNiGhT
:[Th3bLaCkNiGhT]:
 
Th3bLaCkNiGhT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: columbus, ohio
Th3bLaCkNiGhT is a Supporting Member
you could also get them where wdp gets them ...

http://www.batteryspace.com/customiz...nnecto r.aspx
Th3bLaCkNiGhT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 05:08 PM #36
Th3bLaCkNiGhT
:[Th3bLaCkNiGhT]:
 
Th3bLaCkNiGhT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: columbus, ohio
Th3bLaCkNiGhT is a Supporting Member
the site i posted has the 6 volts too. and cells. and chargers. its actually an incredible site.
Th3bLaCkNiGhT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 05:59 PM #37
dr.strangelove
The Angel Eye Doctor
 
dr.strangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Earth
 has been a member for 10 years
Not a bad price, but those are only 650 mAh. With the cheapbatterypacks.com builder you can put together a 1500 mAh stick for the same money.
dr.strangelove is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 06:22 PM #38
Slayer79
 
 
Slayer79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Plainfield, NJ
Slayer79 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Slayer79 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Has anyone tried their luck at building their own battery from scratch? Can you get the strip and connectors/are they readily available?
__________________
Modded Bruizer SOB, Tippmann 98C,
BE Stingray, BE Tiger Shark, 2k1 Angel LCD Project, VM-68, 95 Autococker pump project, 04 E1 equipped Prostock, 2k2 VF Autococker, WGP Outkast, 2k Angel LCD Project x2, BE Cobra, Nelspot 007
<a href="http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=3026046">Angel Army</a>
Slayer79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 06:52 PM #39
dr.strangelove
The Angel Eye Doctor
 
dr.strangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Earth
 has been a member for 10 years
A few people have built their own. The connector isn't difficult to find, but you need a crimping tool to attach it properly. Soldering battery cells together is a bit difficult as well, as was mentioned on the first page.
dr.strangelove is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 11:14 AM #40
NewShockerGuy
[]D [] []V[] []D
 
NewShockerGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
 has been a member for 10 years
Arrow

Hate to bump a super old thread but I just installed the battery and it charges fine, however, the little read out on the LCD doesn't show FULL charge... IE: Normally stops at 3 bars. Is this normal?

2001 Cobra Angel LCD.

The only thing I can imagine it not showing full is because the stock angel battery was less than 1500mAh? Any thoughts on this?

Thanks,
-Nigel
__________________
-....-> ~ NSG ~ <-....-


-Red Cobra LCD <=== CLICK TO SEE PICS :-)

*with matching 68ci 4500psi Armageddon

CMK & SAL FOREVER!

-Nigel
NewShockerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 01:48 PM #41
silverflip
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Just have him build it.

I too order from cheapbatterypacks.com. But I let him build them, he spot welds the tabs on all cells. They have never failed. Its not that much more in cost but its a whole lot easier than fiddling with a soldering iron, heat shrink and the mess.
silverflip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 03:27 PM #42
dr.strangelove
The Angel Eye Doctor
 
dr.strangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Earth
 has been a member for 10 years
I think the battery meter on the board only measures voltage, so the capacity shouldn't affect it. The board may not be reading properly, the new battery cells might be slightly lower voltage, or that portion of the LCD screen may have died. As long as you're getting adequate performance out of the battery I wouldn't worry too much about it. My LCD battery meter was never that terribly accurate anyway.
dr.strangelove is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump