Yes, you still could get penalized even though it is an inobvious hit.
It still depends on what you do and how you got it. If someone just bunkered you and broke three balls on your back, you can't continue to play even though you couldn't check them. You also can't take a shot to the back and then start running down the field yelling paintcheck as you go.
What I would do is tuck in from the person who shot me, yell for a ref but also keep my eyes on the game. I'll also glance at refs to see if someone is making the eliminated motion towards me. If I am reasonably sure it bounced, I'll shoot my gun if I have a lane to shoot or a bad guy to shoot but otherwise I'll try to give the ref a chance to make the call.
Your questions are answered in the PbNation FAQ. Ask a Mod.
We deserve better villains.
"I have not seen an automag shot in anger in 10 years." Tom Cole