Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2008, 02:16 PM #1
Phil98
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
What is an Ethernet Cable?

So to connect my Xbox to my modem for Xbox Live I need an Ethernet Cable with RJ-45 connectors.
What exactly is an Ethernet cable?
I have a cable (the kind you would use for your phone) that fits into the back of my xbox. Will that work, or does an ethernet cable different from a line you would use to connect your phone to the wall?

Sorry im asking such a dumb question
Phil98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 03-26-2008, 02:18 PM #2
paintball_KIA4
GO BIG BLUE!
 
paintball_KIA4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio
It's that cable your talking about. It's just slightly bigger than a phone cable right? If so, that's it. Plug that into your 360 and your modem/router and your good to go.

EDIT: The left one:
__________________
L I V E S T R O N G

madgoat: "holy crap that got confusing. I was all "wtf, no girl is cool enough to have kimjung is boss as their xbl tag". I was about to ask if you were a dike or born male raised female. Come to find out it was a simple misunderstanding."

XBL GT: KimJung Is BOSS
paintball_KIA4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 03:01 PM #3
Phil98
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
ok, thx for the info, turns out i had the wrong cable
Phil98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 03:09 PM #4
paintball_KIA4
GO BIG BLUE!
 
paintball_KIA4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio
You get it working now?
__________________
L I V E S T R O N G

madgoat: "holy crap that got confusing. I was all "wtf, no girl is cool enough to have kimjung is boss as their xbl tag". I was about to ask if you were a dike or born male raised female. Come to find out it was a simple misunderstanding."

XBL GT: KimJung Is BOSS
paintball_KIA4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 05:19 PM #5
timmyt (Banned)
relentless
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
cat-5 cable. usually blue or grey in color.
timmyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 05:31 PM #6
skiier08
IH
 
skiier08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 610/814
Go to radioshack...ask for an ethernet cable, they'll have whatever size you need. I bought a 50 footer, i think i paid like 19.99 for it?
__________________
ΣX



Old Feedback
New Feedback

Last edited by skiier08 : 03-29-2008 at 09:09 PM. Reason: typo
skiier08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 05:33 PM #7
brickwall329
i'm steve!
 
brickwall329's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: *672*
brickwall329 helped look for balloons
Quote:
Originally Posted by skiier08 View Post
Go to radioshack...ask for an ethernet cable, they'll have whatever size you need. I bought a 50 footer, i think i paid like 39.99 for it?
What the ****?!

You could have gotten that for $5.
brickwall329 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 06:11 PM #8
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickwall329 View Post
What the ****?!

You could have gotten that for $5.
.

Awhile ago I got my brother a 100' Cat6 for under $4 shipped, no dodge.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 06:16 PM #9
ntn
OSU Grad
 
ntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: C-bus
 has been a member for 10 years
I have a 1000' box of the stuff
ntn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 06:16 PM #10
SniperSlayer (Banned)
Robbin yo' pucks!
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
cat5 nigz

btw, if u have a steady hand and a pair of proper crimpers u can make pretty much any length u want for very cheap

sometimes its a huge pain in the *** though
SniperSlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 06:17 PM #11
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperSlayer View Post
cat5 nigz

btw, if u have a steady hand and a pair of proper crimpers u can make pretty much any length u want for very cheap

sometimes its a huge pain in the *** though
I can almost guarantee you that it can't beat $.03/foot.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 06:34 PM #12
Cmizzle
Full Time Tape Head
 
Cmizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by skiier08 View Post
Go to radioshack...ask for an ethernet cable, they'll have whatever size you need. I bought a 50 footer, i think i paid like 39.99 for it?
Congrats on getting ripped off!
Cmizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 06:47 PM #13
SniperSlayer (Banned)
Robbin yo' pucks!
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra_MKIII View Post
I can almost guarantee you that it can't beat $.03/foot.
maybe if buy like 4000 feet it will work out cheaper

also sometimes running it through your house u cant buy long enough, or it's just not feasable to run a cable with ends on it already
SniperSlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 09:55 AM #14
protopaintballer
.happy.
 
protopaintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Des Plaines, IL
protopaintballer is a Supporting Member
protopaintballer is a Paintball photographer
protopaintballer plays in the PSP
protopaintballer plays in the APPA D4 division
protopaintballer is Legendary
you use the ethernet to catch the ether bunnies.
__________________

D1 Distortion paintball.
Pandaramic Studio
protopaintballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 04:37 PM #15
doefromwherever
 
 
doefromwherever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Texas
dont you start to loose signal when the cable is so long?
doefromwherever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 04:43 PM #16
protopaintballer
.happy.
 
protopaintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Des Plaines, IL
protopaintballer is a Supporting Member
protopaintballer is a Paintball photographer
protopaintballer plays in the PSP
protopaintballer plays in the APPA D4 division
protopaintballer is Legendary
Quote:
Originally Posted by doefromwherever View Post
dont you start to loose signal when the cable is so long?
you dont lose signal really you only lose speed of connection. you want to avoid ethernet cable that are longer than 100 feet.they really do not work after that length all too well.
__________________

D1 Distortion paintball.
Pandaramic Studio
protopaintballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 05:51 PM #17
Supra_MKIII
Check your math.
 
Supra_MKIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not what you think
It's not a speed problem, it's something else. I don't remember, ask boomslang.
__________________
ST:Tech- We write Haikus. Also, THE PLAGUE

2001 Viggen // Stage 1 Oil Injection // Stage 3 Exhaust Leak // Wet Clutch Mod
Supra_MKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 06:05 PM #18
komodo_117
Plague Upon Your Hissing
 
komodo_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pennsylvania, The 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by protopaintballer View Post
you dont lose signal really you only lose speed of connection. you want to avoid ethernet cable that are longer than 100 feet.they really do not work after that length all too well.
100 meters. Not 100 feet.

It's around 300 feet where it starts to lose signal strength.
__________________
Jlausen: "Think of what 90% of people do on PCP.

They rip their skin off and rape anything in sight. Basically a Shel Silverstein poem."




XBL - xStonedCrow
komodo_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 07:28 PM #19
SniperSlayer (Banned)
Robbin yo' pucks!
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
i belive it's because the source signal wether it's coming out of a wall or a modem is not strong or constant enough to push through signal without somewhat fading on the way

the longest one in my house is 110 feet i think and it works perfect
SniperSlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 09:28 PM #20
Phil98
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
ok, it looks like I can use the same cable that came with my DSL modem.

thx for the help
Phil98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 10:19 PM #21
darx
:tup:
 
darx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by komodo_117 View Post
100 meters. Not 100 feet.

It's around 300 feet where it starts to lose signal strength.
I'm glad nobody has quoted you and said otherwise. That argument about this was ridiculously long last time.
__________________
Gamertag: ms13 cholo
darx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
Forum Jump