Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Old 03-18-2008, 02:27 PM #1
Aleph

Eos Problem

Forgive my essay, just trying to give disclosure.

Picked up an Eos this past weekend with an empire reloader b. Shot some RPS premium through it after a blow test on the standard freak insert @ HP, and everything was working great. I only shot about 200 balls at a close target.

Testing it out today I noticed the pressure on the gun was @ 200psi. I didn't pay attention to this before so I assume it was like this from factory. Being I was at home and no crony in sight I turned up to about 250 to get at the bottom end of operational pressure with the standard insert.

So everything is factory except I tweaked the vertical regulator to increase velocity using the appropriate alan wrench and watching the pressure increase slowly. (all this was done with great care as I'm still learning.)

I noticed If I shot slow, I was fine, but if I started shooting quickly the gun would lose all pressure after about 4-5 shots. leaving it be a few seconds and it was fine again.

the pressure was set to 250psi on the gun and there was about 2500psi still on the tank while this was happening.

I had no idea what was happening so I did a cursory look inside after degassing. Took off the barrel and the bolt plug but did not remove the bolt or the volume insert, just looking for "something bad". everything looked legit, and I put it back together.

then I noticed the whole front max-flo vertical regulator assembly turned a bit in my hand as if it was 'loose'. There was no escaping air at any time that was discernible but clearly the vertical regulator should not turn like that. I turned it 'hand tight', and the gun seemed to lose the problem, but I guess I'm asking 2 things.

1. would a loose vertical reg that is not hissing at me cause the pressure loss problem? (maybe this is a duh! my bad?)

2. Do I need to take this thing down to tighten that and how tight should it be?