Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Closed Thread

Old 01-12-2008, 11:05 AM #1
SplatzMaine

thinking of opening a new store or field?

There are a ton of people asking for basic information on how to open a field, or how they have a great idea about a new paintball business so I thought I would throw out a few thoughts and comments:

I've owned MANY paintball fields and stores, many other businesses and I work as a business broker so I have quite a bit of experience to draw from.

Think about this...rather than open a new paintball field/store how about buying an existing one?

In general, buying an existing business you benefit from:

1. existing cash flow
2. customer base
3. market share
4. operations and systems

and you automatically get rid of a market competitor.

Opening a new business, you

1. add to an already diluted market,
2. have to build up both customers and cash flow
3. make the beginning missteps that all new owners encounter

New paintball businesses(in general) try to capture market share and compete through price. That in turn depresses market pricing and price integrity and reduces margins for all operators.

Thus you could end up with two(or more) paintball businesses in the same market in a pricing death spiral, sharing the same customer base with even lower margins. that sounds like fun doesn't it? I see it ALL the time across all industries but even more so in paintball. Why? inexperienced operators, low cost of entry, low barriers to entry and lifestyle drivers.

Buying an existing business is much less risky than a new start up. period.

Look for a struggling business or a burnt out store owner. You may be able to buy a store A LOT less than the cost of starting up a new store and eliminate the risk of competition at the same time.