How to clean crankshaft position sensor? - PbNation
Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

 
Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 08-23-2007, 07:43 PM #1
Shhwing4 (Banned)
 
Shhwing4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
 has been a member for 10 years
How to clean crankshaft position sensor?

So my car has had some trouble starting lately and I read up about it online and asked my auto-tech teacher what the problem could be. Both said to try and clean the crankshaft position sensor.
How should i do that? With a toothbrush and some cleaner of some sort?
Shhwing4 is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 08-23-2007, 07:45 PM #2
Shocker-V-Sport
No. Just... No.
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cali
 has been a member for 10 years
Use seafoam, I stand by that stuff, it works wonders.
__________________
1998/89 FZR600RR: Yamaha SSR2 full exhaust, R6 Race Fairings, Dynojet Kit, K&N, Racetech Suspension, 4/6 frame/engine, race trim 330lbs.
1989 Nissan Hardbody: Dashmat, winter floormats, K&N.
Obviously my truck is faster.
This just in, now Shocker comes with additional XT600 Supermoto! All that great Shocker Taste with new supermoto flavor added.
Shocker-V-Sport is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 07:45 PM #3
Tudds
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Long Island/NYC
 has been a member for 10 years
I'm pretty sure its a sensor with a magnet in it not sure how you can clean it, maybe he said the Throttle position sensor..
Theres a little pintle that goes in and out, it gets gummed up
__________________
Ripper Convertible Cocker
Tudds is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 08:28 PM #4
The Executioner
Mehh
 
The Executioner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: F'ing Cleveland
 has been a member for 10 years
It should be on the side of the harmonic damper, just spray it with some carb cleaner or a quick evaporating solvent.
__________________
ST:A-Holes
If you can't fix it with a hammer, you've got yourself an electrical problem
The Executioner is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 07:31 AM #5
Mike Zup
 
 
Mike Zup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: mass
 has been a member for 10 years
It will be much more beneficial to just replace the sensor.
__________________
Feedback 11 Positive, 0 Negative
Mike Zup is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 08:06 AM #6
sublimize24
SUB-limize.
 
sublimize24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
sublimize24 helped look for balloons
sublimize24 supports Team VICIOUS
sublimize24 is an NCPA player
sublimize24 plays in the APPA beginner division
Just replace it. Let me guess, you drive a Jeep.
__________________
Buy my mint DM8!
I got a skyline, but I only have one pic since it took so long to get here. JK, I sold it. But I had it. Trust me. Now I have an even more JDM 300ZX. It cost $10,000, no, $30,000. /MadPSI
My Feedback
2004 Audi A4, USP MT6
www.allpaintballsupplies.com
sublimize24 is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 10:51 AM #7
Zmechanic
Wait, what?
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oklahoma
That's a crank trigger, and yes, it is magnetic. I don't know how that would relate to it starting worse. A bad/malfunctioning crank trigger will give you timing wander. Unless it's advancing the timing, I can't see how it'd be your problem... Cleaning it probably won't help alot, but if you think that's the problem, it's worth a shot. A $2 can of carburetor cleaner is definitely cheaper than a new one.
Zmechanic is offline  
 




Posting Rules
Forum Jump