AA:Coalition v2.8 - PbNation
Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

 
Archived Thread - Cannot Edit  
Old 03-13-2007, 05:21 PM #1
Sher-Wood
Front man at dinner time.
 
Sher-Wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
AA:Coalition v2.8

Alright, so today I decided to download the new America's Army. That's normal enough, right?

Well, I downloaded the full install version, as my old version was way outdated (v2.4, or something). I chose complete install, instead of custom. It installed the actual AA game, the server manager, the A-team videos, and the mission editor. Everything was going great. Well, I rebooted after my download (the T3 my parents paid for took about 20 minutes to download the entire game). After my quick reboot I tried to open the game, where it said "The official game of America's Army"............................................. .................then............................. ........................nothing.
I rebooted again and it did the same thing. Okay, well third time's the charm, correct? Wrong again. So, I know for a fact it's not the download, itself. It is the same site where I downloaded the game for my neighbor only hours earlier. His worked perfectly fine, too. I also know for a fact that it's not my system. I have a nice new Core 2 Extreme running at 3.23Ghz OC'ed, 4GB Corsair DDR2 800Mhz RAM, nVidia 7950 gfx card that is slightly OC'ed, water cooling, blah-blah-blah.

My question to you: What could be causing this endless black screen?
All of my drivers are up to date, my hardware is all properly functioning, my computer will run other tasks just fine.

It won't run on either monitor, either. I just checked to make sure.
Sher-Wood is offline  
Old Sponsored Links Remove Advertisement
Advertisement
Old 03-13-2007, 05:25 PM #2
I love Impulses
Brogrammer IV
 
I love Impulses's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Happy Hour
I love Impulses is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
It has been advised countless times to remove your previous install. You are having conflicting directory issues.
__________________
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Why We Drink

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
I love Impulses is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 05:33 PM #3
Sher-Wood
Front man at dinner time.
 
Sher-Wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by I love Impulses View Post
It has been advised countless times to remove your previous install. You are having conflicting directory issues.
I already did that. It showed a message saying you are advised to uninstall your previous AA installations. I checked the box that said to uninstall it, and it did just that.
Sher-Wood is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 08:06 PM #4
I love Impulses
Brogrammer IV
 
I love Impulses's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Happy Hour
I love Impulses is a Supporting Member
 has been a member for 10 years
Complete uninstall. Such that you go through explorer and search for anything with AA and delete it.
__________________
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Why We Drink

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
I love Impulses is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 09:25 PM #5
Sher-Wood
Front man at dinner time.
 
Sher-Wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by I love Impulses View Post
Complete uninstall. Such that you go through explorer and search for anything with AA and delete it.
And re-download it? I want to keep the game, but I don't want to sit here and wait for the download to finish.
Bah...it's worth a try...
Sher-Wood is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 09:30 PM #6
paintballonaim (Banned)
 
paintballonaim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Va
 has been a member for 10 years
paintballonaim is an NCPA player
paintballonaim plays in the APPA D5 division
How long did you wait? For some reason AA takes ~30 seconds to launch for me.
paintballonaim is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 09:39 PM #7
Sher-Wood
Front man at dinner time.
 
Sher-Wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by paintballonaim View Post
How long did you wait? For some reason AA takes ~30 seconds to launch for me.
About 3 minutes...the first time.
The second time I let it run for about 10 minutes.
The third time I went for a 2 hr jog to let it load.
Nothing.
Sher-Wood is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 09:43 PM #8
paintballonaim (Banned)
 
paintballonaim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Va
 has been a member for 10 years
paintballonaim is an NCPA player
paintballonaim plays in the APPA D5 division
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sher-Wood View Post
About 3 minutes...the first time.
The second time I let it run for about 10 minutes.
The third time I went for a 2 hr jog to let it load.
Nothing.
Then yea, I'd uninstall, delete everything, and re-download. Maybe the file was bad?
paintballonaim is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 10:52 PM #9
mattster
shoot fast, die young
 
mattster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Woodbury,MN
mattster is playing at Living Legends III
mattster owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
mattster supports Team VICIOUS
mattster plays in the APPA D5 division
there is a Americas Army therad

please post there
__________________
HOSTILE GROUND

Silver/Red Splash EGO 9

"Down the fairway of life one must stop and smell the roses. For you only can play one round." - Ben Hogan
mattster is offline  
Old 03-14-2007, 03:53 PM #10
Sher-Wood
Front man at dinner time.
 
Sher-Wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattster View Post
there is a Americas Army therad

please post there
The search won't work because there's more than 1500 people online. There always is.

Anyways, when you can point me to a non-dead AA thread, then I'll move it there.
Sher-Wood is offline  
 




Posting Rules
Forum Jump